We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Lovely hotel, very modern and spacious.

Checked in and was told that the hotel had overbooked on our second night, so they had booked us into the Riverhotel. They were very apologetic and gave us free drinks, upgraded our room, offered a late checkout and offered to pay for a taxi to transfer us to the other hotel.

Luckily they had a cancellation so we never had to move. The views from the hotel were excellent, as was the bar! Especially the cocktail selection.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank CaerdyddCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,024 - 1,030 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2012

I have to say this hotel was excellent and it is rare for me to say this. We only stayed for 1 night but it was so well positioned and the rooms were excellent and spacious.
I don't think you can go wrong here. Well staffed, food good, location excellent and cleanliness could not fault.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I stayed here for a night on a business trip. The hotel is right at the core of the city with direct access to the canal and walking distance to many sightseeing points. The room is quite large for European standard, but the bathroom is a bit small. The front desk are very helpful on parking and check-in. Parking garage underground is convenience but with limited spaces. We were lucky to get the last spot when we arrived!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naughtyryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I have stayed at this Marriott a number of times, and always have had a nice experience. The hotel is centrally located which puts you within walking distance from most of the attractions, and great restaurants. The rooms are fairly large and comfortable, and the front desk service has gone above and beyond to help me on several occasions. Nice restaurant for breakfast.

My only complaint is the parking garage can be extremely tight and is sometimes full, but this is often the case in this part of Europe.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0ngIsland_familyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed for 5 nights. The hotel is well -located and the staff are friendly and helpful. Its probably the best place to stay in Ghent as all the attractions in the old town are within walking distance!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yashkapadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Stayed for 4 nights recently. Rooms are reasonable sized and the beds are excellent. Location is the best in Ghent, right on a canal in old town. Television has some English channels and the wifi is fast and reasonably priced if not part of the room (12 euros per 24 hrs). The breakfast buffet is good with meats, cheese, breads, juice, etc. The food at the hotel bar is ok and the drinks are a bit pricey but a good place for a nightcap. lots of good cafes and restaurants a short walk form the hotel. Car park below hotel is nice but expensive and sometimes gets full (had to part elsewhere on Saturday night due to that) but St Michael public park is only a couple blocks away and much cheaper. Best hotel in old town Ghent due to good service and rooms. Only problem is they rarely have enough people at the front counter for check in and questions. I often had to wait 5 or 10 minutes for the one or two people at the desk when more than one person in line.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Berry_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights - the hotel was in a great location - straight out of the rear door and onto the canal front.
The staff were very friendly and helpful - the room was spacious and the bed was really comfortable - (great mattress topper!)
The hotel car park was handy although at 23 Euros per day it soon added up.
Nothing negative to say about the hotel - would definately stay there again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheekymonkey1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 38 in Ghent
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 38 in Ghent
1,011 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 38 in Ghent
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £104 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghent Marriott Hotel sits on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent. We opened our doors March 20, 2007. Guests staying with us enjoy comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, and Brixx Cellar Lounge at our property along with Ghent Marriott Hotel restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. Ghent Marriott Hotel has long been considered at the top level of European hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing