We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, excellent beds !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013

A great choice for a hotel when in Ghent, right in the middle of old city, but peaceful. Spacy rooms with excellent beds and big flat screen TV (poor selection of channels) in room, live music in the lobby (may disturb if you want peace during Friday afternoon). Free WiFi. Breakfast quite expensive.
Some problems with the heating in bathroom and the shower water temperature varied from cold to warm. But all in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reissu-erkki01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,039 - 1,045 of 2,050 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

This was easily the best chain-hotel I've stayed in. Excellent, central location. Great rooms with excellent facilities and cleanliness. Staff were very friendly and efficient. We had a late check-out for no extra fee; also free WIFI. Would stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0nd0nUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Entering the Lobby is a great experience! The smell is wonderful, the ceiling is extra high with led lights to illuminate the iron structure. The xmas tree made out of gift boxes and for a charity is great. Check in was spotty, Sonia did not know many things about special rates for Marriott associates. She helped and went beyond though. Check out was great! The boy (sorry for not remembering his name) was professional, accurate and full of smiles. Keep him! Breakfast was great with great variety. Parking was too expensive. Housekeeping needs revamping as I found hairs in my bathroom.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Diegodom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

the perfect hotel when in Ghent, right in the middle of everything!!
big nice rooms, a stunning lobby and very friendly and attentive staff
flat screen tv,s, happy hour with snacks and live music in the lobby on fridays!!
highly reccomend this property to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hans t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Somehow, Marriott was able to build a modern hotel in downtown Ghent. Fortunately they kept the old brick facades of the neighboring buildings and it blends in seamlessly and has an enviable location (hard to beat.)

At the end of the day, though, a Marriott is a Marriott and lacks the charm you want in a town this beautiful.

Nice staff, comfortable room, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSF3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times in the past, and we have always enjoyed it. However on arrival tonight, I was asked to sign for the stay with my credit card, no problem, but they also asked me to sign for 50€ in case I would spend this during our stay! I explained that we will not spend this, as breakfast is included with the room. But this is now the procedure as they have people who leave without paying they say. This will be returned to my my credit card in the morning, if I don't spend it in the hotel.
I think this is treating me as a thief and I will not be staying here again ever.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanne37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The approach to the "front" of the Marriott is an unremarkable back street in the center of Ghent. But once you check in and begin to explore, you will soon realize that the "back" door sets you right out into the middle of a postcard! One could not ask for a better location. The hotel itself is clean, friendly and efficient. The lobby has a nice combined function of gathering place and bar/lounge. The restaurant is very good. Underground parking is very expensive but probably worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorsalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,297 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 39 in Ghent
1,042 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £98 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghent Marriott Hotel sits on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent. We opened our doors March 20, 2007. Guests staying with us enjoy comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, and Brixx Cellar Lounge at our property along with Ghent Marriott Hotel restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. Ghent Marriott Hotel has long been considered at the top level of European hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing