We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year in Ghent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
E.Sussex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“New Year in Ghent”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We booked as two couples at the Marriott for 3 nights over New Year 2012/13.

Access to the Hotel from the train station was straight forward on the tram. We were pleased to see that the hotel was in a central location by the canal with many interesting bars, eateries and coffee shops in the immediate location.

Check in was efficient and friendly and one of the two rooms were available before check in time which was nice.

The room which was off a Central Atrium was big with two Queen sized beds and had all that you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The bathroom was a little less spectacular but sufficed with an excellent shower. Shame it was a shower curtain but it worked well. Room temperature control was very good and a safe and plenty of room in the mini bar was handy.

The room was quiet and the beds were the most comfortable that I have ever slept in. Being of a certain age, I usually sleep about 7hrs per night but 10hrs were the norm whilst at the hotel.

At busy times the two lifts were not enough and the staircase did not access the ground floor as far as we could tell bnut that was a minor irritation.

Breakfast was way too expensive and we chose to have it at a local cafe 5 mins walk away for 10euros .

There was plenty to do and see for the time that we were there, 3 days. We did think that we would perhaps have to go to Brugges for a day to kill some time but that was not necessary.

Our trip was booked through Eurostar and as usual was excellent value and relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,179
    574
    91
    24
    20
See reviews for
357
860
64
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wivenhoe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed Here on a weekend break. Great price. Location perfect, right in the heart of everything, on the river. Ultra modern interior with historic facade, comfy business style rooms. Parking expensive around €23 per day but right underneath the hotel, a massive bonus in the pedestrianised centre of Gent. City itself was fabulous, scrolling around the historic centre was a pleasure, even in the snow. Would stay here next time without a shadow of a doubt.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank whymemate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

With a little extra charge, you can get a room overlooking the river. It's worth it. Beautiful view over the old town. The hotel's location is just perfect. Shops, cafes, restaurants, sight seeing, boat tours are all steps away around the hotel. The hotel staff, especially at the reception desk, were extremely friendly and helpful. No issues with the parking. Definitely, it's where I'll stay on my next trip to Ghent, even consider a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LONGYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

What a surprise this place was! Great location on the edge of Old Town and all the sites. I came for the Christmas market and my only complaint was that there was no snow! The hotel had surprisingly large rooms for Europe, which was very nice. I also liked the breakfast, which was both Continental and America (eggs, bacon, etc.). Although I had a special where the breakfast came with my room rate.

If I go back to Ghent, this will be my first choice for lodging.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Magnificent location in charming Ghent. You can be at the heart of one of the coziest cities in Belgium. The service is outstanding and nothing is issue. We all know that find bad cuisine in Belgium is difficult, but the chef in this Marriott has not only solid basics, he has fantasy. We had a company meeting with over hundred participants. It was not only 4 days meeting, but also big gala dinner... and .... just NO PROBLEM.

Room Tip: Recommend to choose higher floor if you want more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frozdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Nice hotel, situated in the centre of Ghent. Spaceous, clean rooms. Temperature in the room was difficult to control. Breakfast was very good. Restaurant "Korenhuis" was average (used to be better). Parking space at the hotel was very limited (in number as in parking space) en quit expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean and very reasonably priced hotel (mind u it is January). Perfect location for sightseeing and great restaurants. I read all previous reviews and decided i was happy to give tjus a go - now really glad we did. staff v helpful too. Would def stay again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Property: Ghent Marriott Hotel
Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent, opened its doors March 20, 2007. The hotel has 150 comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, Brixx Cellar Lounge and Ghent Marriott restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. The hotel has long been considered the top of European in the field of hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing