We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2013

It’s all about location.. and this place is perfect. It’s right where you want to be when visiting Ghent. The rooms are clean and comfortable and meet the standard of any hotel I have stayed in by Marriott. The bed does differ a bit from those cozy soft pillow beds you can sometimes find in other Marriotts but the bed here is still nice and comfy. Free wifi thru out the hotel makes it nice to keep in touch. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a small parking below the hotel that is limited so check in earlier at peak times.
Once again.. its all about the area… perfect place , do not hesitate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B787skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 2,014 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

This modern Marriott Hotel in Ghent is very centrally located. One can walk to almost all places in Ghent. It was very nice that it's back door was right there in one of the central channels where it seems that all the young people of Ghent gather to enjoy the sun and something to drink. We only stayed one night. the service was okay, did not have breakfast there as it was very expensive. Room very clean, nice size. If we were to come back to Ghent for more days we would certainly stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lourdes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

The staff here is excellent......The location is perfect.......Steps from the main centrum but just far enough from the busy area......Clean and comfortable. Surprisingly quiet given the open concept.........

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The Marriott is perfectly located - you fall out of the hotel door directly in the beautiful city of Ghent. Having a quite classic front the interior is rather modern. The rooms are classical Marriott rooms as you can find them in every Marriott around the world - but the bed was very comfortable. The Service is soso - I would have at least expected a small bottle of water at the room, the garage was full so we had to park elsewhere and checking out took me 15min. The breakfast was good but be there early because refill of the buffet takes a while. Overall okay but I would not stay there privately.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the outside and not to the inner court
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susi_0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with our 19 month daughter. We had a junior suite with canal view, the room was amazing...spacious, contemporary decor and with lots of character (beautiful beamed ceiling). It was fairly costly, especially considering that breakfast wasn't included, but for a special occasion (our anniversary) it's well worth it as it really made our stay memorable and left us wanting to return.
Our daughter loved the room as lots of space to run around. The only thing I would say if you were staying in this room with a young child is that there were couple of steps down as you entered in to the room and I'd be a little nervous with a child at the crawling stage. It was a nice little touch with the Marriott Ghent rubber duck in the cot, my daughter loves it!

We were unsure whether to stay in Ghent on our mini road trip around Belgium but so glad we did. In the short time we were there, we found it had very relaxed feel with a nice buzz along the canal in the evening and much less touristy than Bruges. You could hear some noise (drinking & laughing) going on along the canal whilst in our room but not enough to bother us, we probably noticed it more as we were tucked up in bed early, the joys of travelling with a toddler!

We ate in the Marriott's restaurant in the evening. I thought the food was ok, not amazing (perhaps I chose wrong?) It did have a nice view over the canal though, I'd recommend booking a table by the window.
Breakfast was ok, not sure if worth the money.

Overall I'd definitely return to Ghent, maybe more so than Bruges and would HAVE to stay in the same room again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendySurrey_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Located in the very center of the city along the canal makes this hotel perfect to discover the city. Room is clean and staff is friendly and helpful. Take public parking at Sint Michiels which is a few hunderd meters away from the hotel. It is also surrounded by a lot of cafes and restaurants. Don't feel like having breakfast at the hotels, some little breakfast places are also in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambonesegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Locationwise it definetely doesn't get much better in Ghent, walk out the "back-door" and you're right in the center of Ghent, right on one of the canal, with restaurant right and left of you, and a perfect view of the old houses along the Canal, and try also to go behind the houses of the canal, and remember to bring a camera with plente of space on the memorycard.
Marriott Ghent Hotel, is pretty much a standard Marriott Hotel, upper 4 star quality, nice beds, good size rooms and bathrooms, I did however miss a seperate shower, so you would not have to stand in the bathtub to have a shower.
Breakfast was OK but nothing special.
This hotel is all about the location and that is perfect.
would definetely go here again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mortennielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 38 in Ghent
2,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 38 in Ghent
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 38 in Ghent
1,011 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 38 in Ghent
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £102 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghent Marriott Hotel sits on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent. We opened our doors March 20, 2007. Guests staying with us enjoy comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, and Brixx Cellar Lounge at our property along with Ghent Marriott Hotel restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. Ghent Marriott Hotel has long been considered at the top level of European hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing