We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Good hotel, very good location. Helpful staff at reception. The back entrance opens directly to the canal area and the old town. We used the restaurant, which has very nice seating right beside the canal, but it was let down by very undistinguished and expensive food and a waiting time of over an hour (it wasn't even busy!). It was so bad that we had to repair elsewhere for a drink to get over the experience. Service at the outside restaurant was lamentable to say the least. Breakfast, however, was excellent. There's on site parking, but you need to make a reservation. There is overnight underground parking nearby for the same price - about €10. Usual Marriott standards - very large room, which was spotless, with nice comfortable beds.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to face the same direction pretty much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trowsers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

922 - 928 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

A good hotel, with a good location. The breakfast was good. Helpful staff at reception, making a phone call on our behalf to see if the fine arts museum had luggage storage facilities. Room was quiet and bed was comfortable.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ooo-boogar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Beautifull location, can't get more central than this for dining, shopping and sight seeing.
Room was just ok, quite spacious and very comfy large bed. The bathroom however wasn't clean, dust on the mirror, a hair on the toilet seat.
The parking and breakfast are rather expensive but there are plenty of alternatives around if you wish.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Meenanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed in Marriott Ghent several times. It is good. Location is very nice. Surrounded by historical buildings, restaurants and beer places around. Very good kitchen, bar. friendly and helpful stuff.

WiFi is available :) Would recommend for a business traveller.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jivit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel was very good in every way. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the hotel atrium a lovely place for a drink. We were lucky enough to be there for Friday night happy hour and it was very enjoyable (although more staff would have improved it as it was very difficult to get a drink because of the numbers of people there). Staff were friendly and helpful. The only thing I would say is that the breakfast was extremely expensive at 24 euros. As a result we went out and found the most amazing alternative at Hema where you could get a set breakfast for 1 euro! It included a perfectly good cup of coffee or tea, a croissant and jam, and a bacon and egg baguette sandwich. Luxury it was not but perfectly adequate and tasty it was. If you wanted something other than the set menu such as a warm danish pastry they were also very reasonable. And everything was baked on the premises. Couldn't recommend it enough

Room Tip: We had a first floor room. It had no particular distinguishing features that we could tell but we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TyrelleTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

No discussion, the location is great end the view wonderfull but...it is has been like that since 400 years, so Marriott cannot take credit for that.
I am definitely a Marriott fan and for an anniversary I booked the "presidential suite" in the Marriott in my home-town Ghent. I was quite dissapointed when we finally entered the suite.
The (new) wooden floor was squeaking at every step. We did not manage to turn on certain lights in both rooms of the suite, while certain switches did not command anything..a bit strange.
Bathroom was a standard, small, nothing special, 15 towels on a rack do not change that. Mold in the shower. Temperature of the water in the shower was going up and down all the time.
Worst of all, the suite was not clean : bunch of hair on the armchair, chips under it, dust on the windowsills... reception appologised and offered the garage for free as compensation, but nothing was done about the room itself.
Check-in was only at 4PM - a bit late for a city-hotel.
Very friendly staff at reception, bar and room-service.
Not sure if I would recommend the hotel for the view only... we were dissapointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dierik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We received excellent service from the bellman and registration desk immediately. The bellman parked our car, brought our luggage to our room and also gave advice on restaurants and more. Lovely setting right in the heart of Ghent. (Gent) We'd return here in a heartbeat. This is the host hotel for the October Movie Festival!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
1,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 39 in Ghent
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £106 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghent Marriott Hotel sits on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent. We opened our doors March 20, 2007. Guests staying with us enjoy comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, and Brixx Cellar Lounge at our property along with Ghent Marriott Hotel restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. Ghent Marriott Hotel has long been considered at the top level of European hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing