We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Ghent is perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Marriott Hotel in the central part of Ghent, Begium is awesome. It is directly in the town center and on the main canal. The rooms were big, clean and bright. The reception and concierge were friendly and informative. I would definately stay here again.
You will need to take a Taxi from the train station, but there is also an electric tram that goes from the train station into town, but I did not know that at the time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellidunayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,996)
There are newer reviews for Ghent Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

874 - 880 of 1,996 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. beautiful bedroom with great decor (the Marriott standard) and right in the middle of the historic centre. The staff were extremely helpful and the delicious breakfast over looking the canal was a real treat. We were there in the middle of the Ghent festival which was a perfect family event - thank you to Belgium!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Good hotel, very good location. Helpful staff at reception. The back entrance opens directly to the canal area and the old town. We used the restaurant, which has very nice seating right beside the canal, but it was let down by very undistinguished and expensive food and a waiting time of over an hour (it wasn't even busy!). It was so bad that we had to repair elsewhere for a drink to get over the experience. Service at the outside restaurant was lamentable to say the least. Breakfast, however, was excellent. There's on site parking, but you need to make a reservation. There is overnight underground parking nearby for the same price - about €10. Usual Marriott standards - very large room, which was spotless, with nice comfortable beds.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to face the same direction pretty much.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trowsers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A good hotel, with a good location. The breakfast was good. Helpful staff at reception, making a phone call on our behalf to see if the fine arts museum had luggage storage facilities. Room was quiet and bed was comfortable.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ooo-boogar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Beautifull location, can't get more central than this for dining, shopping and sight seeing.
Room was just ok, quite spacious and very comfy large bed. The bathroom however wasn't clean, dust on the mirror, a hair on the toilet seat.
The parking and breakfast are rather expensive but there are plenty of alternatives around if you wish.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Meenanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed in Marriott Ghent several times. It is good. Location is very nice. Surrounded by historical buildings, restaurants and beer places around. Very good kitchen, bar. friendly and helpful stuff.

WiFi is available :) Would recommend for a business traveller.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jivit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel was very good in every way. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the hotel atrium a lovely place for a drink. We were lucky enough to be there for Friday night happy hour and it was very enjoyable (although more staff would have improved it as it was very difficult to get a drink because of the numbers of people there). Staff were friendly and helpful. The only thing I would say is that the breakfast was extremely expensive at 24 euros. As a result we went out and found the most amazing alternative at Hema where you could get a set breakfast for 1 euro! It included a perfectly good cup of coffee or tea, a croissant and jam, and a bacon and egg baguette sandwich. Luxury it was not but perfectly adequate and tasty it was. If you wanted something other than the set menu such as a warm danish pastry they were also very reasonable. And everything was baked on the premises. Couldn't recommend it enough

Room Tip: We had a first floor room. It had no particular distinguishing features that we could tell but we w...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TyrelleTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
2,204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £113 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghent Marriott Hotel sits on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent. We opened our doors March 20, 2007. Guests staying with us enjoy comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, and Brixx Cellar Lounge at our property along with Ghent Marriott Hotel restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. Ghent Marriott Hotel has long been considered at the top level of European hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing