We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent long weekend in Ghent and as we wanted central location Marriott was the best option. It's right by the canal in Korenlei. Perfect location and very pretty. The hotel itself was ok, but not the best Marriott I stayed in. Breakfast average for Marriott standards. Room spacious but bit tired. I love the Marriott beds and pillows - very comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabi_Klazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,179
    574
    91
    24
    20
See reviews for
357
860
64
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

I can't imagine staying anywhere else. Try to get one of the few rooms facing the canal. The rental bikes were great. Friendly staff. Easy parking downstairs. This is now one of my favorite cities in Europe and the Marriott is ideal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed in one of the front rooms during the festival. This was facing the main stage of the Festival which had music and DJ's playing till 4 in the morning. Ok was a bit noisy....in fact very noisy but we had come for the Festival so we knew what we were in for. Staff were accommodating and understanding but no rooms available that did not face the canal. Highly recommend going to Ghent at Festival time and this hotel is right in the thick of it. One night when we were in bed and could not sleep the solution was if you can not beat them join them so we went out and got amongst it again.

Room Tip: Don't get a canal view room during the festival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank podtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Extremely well laid out and spacious room in a modern hotel with an old facade. Right in the middle of the action during the Ghent festival - great location but still quiet in our room. Nice welcome with lots of information volunteered. Very generous buffet breakfast with many choices. Took the tram from the train station and found the hotel easily after a short walk. This is a great choice to stay in Ghent - excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on business in August 2013.

The customer service at checkin was fantastic - perfect process, friendly staff, excellently trained. But the hotel peaked there...

A drink in the bar was soulless, especially when knowing there were some great bars very close by.

Dinner was good although expensive and breakfast the next morning was adequate.

I'd always choose a smaller hotel, especially in such a lovely city as Gent...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
212 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

When checking in, I was told that this was my 16th stay and each one of them was just excellent. I love this hotel ! The way it is integrated in the old city of Gent is truly remarkeble. I always take a room in the front and these rooms are so lovely : all modern comfort in a traditional architecture with a stunning view. I just wish I could open the window which is not the case.

Check in and Check out is very efficient and also the breakfast is a true delight in het Korenhuis restaurant.

Quality stayed constant over the years and also the service. You will continue to have me as a very loyal customer !

Anything to improve ? Maybe the gym...

Room Tip: The rooms in the front with view of the Leie are stunning and worth the (extra) money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tk100964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was an excellent hotel and I really enjoyed my stay there.

The main entrance is a typical hotel entrance down a side-street. Once through the door, you're in a huge open-plan area with reception, the bar, some comfy sofas and 2 glass sided lifts. Walk through the communal area and down a narrow brick tunnel, out through the door and you are suddenly in bright sunshine (hopefully) on the canal bank on Korenlai, surrounded by ancient buildings.

It's a couple of minutes' walk from St Michael's bridge, about 5 from Gravensteen and probably 10 from St Bavo's Cathedral. There's a good walk round the town that you can get from Tourist Information which is next to Gravensteen.

My room was absolutely huge for what I considered a really cheap rate via Travelrepublic. It was on the top floor with views over the city roofs. There was a bathroom with bath as well as shower, minibar, safe and everything you'd expect from a 4 star hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable and I slept like a log :)

Breakfast was a good-sized buffet with tables available in several little rooms which, in the evening, became a restaurant. It was inclusive in my room price - not sure I would have paid extra for it. I didn't eat in the restaurant, but had a couple of meals in the bar which were cooked in the restaurant kitchens and they were excellent. On Friday evening there was a Happy Hour (or 2 hours) where all drinks were half price, hot nibbles were brought round and there was a pianist/singer. I think many locals were there and the waiters seemed to be serving endless glasses of Prosecco. I personally went for the cocktails even if it was only 5pm.

The reception staff were extremely helpful - in fact all the staff I came into contact with were pleasant and could speak English. Wifi was free all over the hotel although it looks as though you're paying when you log in but, as was explained when I checked in, it's definitely free.

You can catch a tram from the station for a 20 minute/half hour journey and then it's about a 5 minute walk from Korenmarkt to Drabstraat. I bought a CityCard which covered all tram journeys and nearly all of the major museums etc. Tram 1 will take you to nearly all the major tourist spots. There's a small cabin outside the station to buy it but, beware, they close for lunch.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Property: Ghent Marriott Hotel
Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent, opened its doors March 20, 2007. The hotel has 150 comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, Brixx Cellar Lounge and Ghent Marriott restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. The hotel has long been considered the top of European in the field of hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing