We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice business hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice business hotel with great location”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Upon entering from the reception side it seems like just a nice business class hotel - nothing particularly special. My room was clean and comfortable with a view of mostly modern buildings. But, as you exit the other side of the hotel towards the city you'll see the canal with a magnificent view of the old gabled architecture. It's just a short walk to the major sights and you can even board a canal tour right outside the doors.

Our tour guide told us the building used to house at various points at brewery and a brothel, as indicated by the swans on the facade.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFotog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    572
    91
    24
    20
See reviews for
357
858
64
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This is a small Marriott without the typical Concierge floor lounge and other accoutrements. Despite this, the hotel makes up for it by offering a good breakfast in the restaurant, and by being located on a picturesque canal along which is great dining and shopping. The train station is a bit of a hike, so a taxi is recommended. Trains to Brugge and Antwerp, Rotterdam and Brussels, and French destinations are available for visits if Ghent is the central location.

Staff is very friendly and more than willing to assist the traveler. Access is a little difficult as the hotel is located on a narrow street... but, you are in a medieval city with all the charm that offers. Even a castle within a short block's walk.

No reservations in my recommendation. Just remember that you are there for the ambiance of the locale, not for a mega business hotel, and you will enjoy your stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fbrooksr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
704 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Retro decor on the inside whilst keeping the quaint architecture intact.

Clean, very clean, close proximity to the canal, in the center where it feels like 1700's, spacious rooms, friendly and pleasant staffs.

Waoh! When i open the window the view is majestic.

I am looking forward to summer 2014

Room Tip: Corner room on the top floor with view to the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We organized a 4 day meeting for 40 people. Delegates came from all parts of the world. Hotel staff were all very caring and went the extra mile to ensure our stay was great. Location on a canal in center of Ghent is fabulous, just a few minute walk to lots of great restaurants and bars. Food in hotel was very good and better than we have had in similar level hotels in the region. Guest rooms on the canal have a wonderful view. Only “negative” was getting to hotel by car was a bit tricky as really in the center and road works created diversions. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms with canal view are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A great place to stay. The hotel is very impressive. In Ghent, like many of the middle age cities, they build new behind the old exteriors. The hotel is bright and airy. A nice bar, good food in the restaurant with many windows. Rooms were very nice. Great staff and the best location! Easy walks to fantastic food, bars, activities. You are in the heart of the old town!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobby k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I just stayed here for a short business trip. Its located right on the canal and very close to restaurants and pubs. The tram stop is within walking distance. A better than average breakfast when compared to other European hotels. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a canal view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbogler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loppem, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had booked a second weekend this year in the Marriott Gent but with my remarks from in May the hotel has done nothing. We did become the same room with the same (or even worse) mattrass. Just a pity that I had never believed to hotel would do nothing about it and I have not checked the mattrass before my nightsleep. I had to put in the middle of the night a pillow under the mattrass to get a better sleep and less back pain. This mattrass you can find in a 1 star hotel but not in a 4 star, a shame for Marriott.
Breakfast was much better than last time. Product were of higher quality. But just as last time, they were several times short of glasses and dishes. How is this possible for a Marriott hotel?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Property: Ghent Marriott Hotel
Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent, opened its doors March 20, 2007. The hotel has 150 comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, Brixx Cellar Lounge and Ghent Marriott restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. The hotel has long been considered the top of European in the field of hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing