We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exploring Gent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exploring Gent”
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Perfect location to explore Gent, right on the Korenlei/Graslei, the most beatiful spot in the old town. All major sites are in walking distance. The hotel is beautifully build, brilliantly preserving the unspoiled architectural ensemble.
Comfortable rooms, could be bigger (no extra bed for child) no great views though.
Nice lounge bar with live music on the weekend. We did not use the restaurant as there are just too many to try in the city.

  • Liked — Perfect location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RantourUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,200
    589
    94
    25
    21
See reviews for
366
879
66
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Just returned from a week in Belguim/France and we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.
We booked it direct to get our marriott points and got an advance rate of £60 a night!!!
The hotel is virtually faultless, its modern inside and all the corridoors look inside a huge lobby with flowers / candles etc.
Location is perfect as its on the" grasei" where all the boat tours go from and all the facades lit up at night. Its a small 3 min walk to all sight seeing venues.
We ate just outside in the "brick bar" several times and found it had great service etc and on the canal.
Our room was the usual marriott standard and very comfortable.
We had breakfast in bed on both days and it arrived on time, hot and was delicous.
We were a little bored in Ghent if we are honest ( 2 days is too long) and would have loved the hotel to have a swimming pool.
Our only fault with the hotel is are room was not cleaned until 5pm one day.
We found the most fantastic restaurant though please go!
we had a taster menu for 50 euros each with a bottle of lovely wine thrown in. The location was wonderfull and it had heaters,flares,candles,water features everywhere.We were told about it by a local so pass it on.Book ahead to get a canal side view. www.Korenleitwee.be TEL [--]. its on the bridge by the marriott hotel.
Have fun and stay here!

  • Liked — clean,comfortable,stylish,functional and great service
  • Disliked — no swimming pool
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank surreygang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2008

On previous visits to Ghent, we stayed at the Sofitel; as this had recently changed hands, and the Marriott offered rooms with a view of the immaculate Graslei, we decided to give it a try.

We were very glad we did. It has ample parking underneath, an excellent breakfast (which is pricey as a standalone but good value when included in the room price), friendly staff and an impressive design, using the facades of a number of buildings on the Korenlei to mask very comfortable and stylish rooms. The bed was particularly comfortable (my partner is very picky about such things, and even she was impressed). Even little details like the driving directions available on the website work very well.

There are two standout features – firstly, the location is a reason to book in itself. The Graslei is one of the great picture postcard views in Belgium, if not Europe overall, and you can see it at breakfast and stroll out to admire it at any time. The canal rooms are more expensive, but being able to watch the world go by and look at the extraordinary buildings was easily enough to justify the extra. Fine restaurants like the Belga Queen are on the doorstep, while the excellent Waterhuis en den Bierkant is minutes away – such proximity is especially good if you happen to overindulge on some of Belgium’s more robust beers.

The other great feature is the atrium – a hugely impressive and stylish space including a very comfortable bar. The cocktails are particularly good, and even the singer who appeared on occasions was remarkably un-cheesy.

The only quibble I could add is that the Hotel are annoyingly prim about the windows in the canal-side rooms. They can only be opened on request, and – it turns out - only after signing a disclaimer. The lad who came to open the windows informed us that once opened, they would have to stay like that until we left. We were understandably reluctant, so he waited while we took a picture and then he closed them again. The aircon was easily enough to keep the room cool, but it would have been nice to have the choice of opening the windows. I don’t really understand why they are so obsessive about it – even the staff seemed a bit embarrasssed by it all.

This one issue aside, I would have no hesitation in returning to and recommending the Marriott Ghent, and would definitely pay for a canal-side room again.

  • Liked — Lovely view
  • Disliked — Daft rule about the windows (but not a big problem)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank george_lazenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Malden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Central Hotel, bright and clean, good restaurant with fine breakfast. Buy the Museum Ticket which includes 3 days free tram travel (20€) and enjoy Ghent.

  • Liked — clean modern decor, all that a good hotel should be.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lithostone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

Just everything was great, the beds, the staff, the architecture, ...

  • Liked — the beds are fantastic
  • Disliked — the american style trough whole the hotel is maybe to cold sometimes
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank djazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

The hotel was really lovely. It is wonderfully situated with one entrance out onto the canal where the boat trips leave from. The room we had was very big with a good sturdy cot for our baby as we have requested. There was loads of storage room, and a big bathroom. Parking is tricky for high vehicles as there are only a few spaces that can be used, and when other drives park dreadfully it reduces the number even further...also if you arrive at the hotel going the wrong way along the road you end up the wrong side of the bollards and therefore can't get into the car park without a detour around the block! Oops. We didn't use the restaurant as there was so many others to choose from a stone's throw away. The room was a good temperature, clean and quite with good facilities – including a useful fridge.

  • Liked — Well appointed room
  • Disliked — Parking was expensive and difficult to get to
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Having sampled the delights of Bruges, our small travel group decided to venture over to Ghent.

The trip occurred between Tuesday 8th and Wedesday 9th July 2008.

Having used the Channel Tunnel between Folkstone and Calais it took a little over an hour and a half to reach Ghent.

The hotel was originally chosen because of comments found onTrip Advisor, plus the excellent web site maintained by the hotel itself.

As we arrived (in the rain!), we found that there is a huge underground car park below the hotel itself, which meant it was a simple matter of transferring our luggage from the cars straight to our rooms.

The first impression you get as you enter the hotel from the lift from the car park is one of of opulence. The design of the hotel is stunning. It is based upon a construction obviously filling a gap between two buildings, and the whole of one side is a gigantic atrium. It was only opened in 2007 and still smells new.

The rooms are set out with internal balconies which allow you to look down into the huge ground floor area which is used for meetings and reception. The rooms are spacious, quiet and well appointed. The ensuite barthroom is modern and well designed.We found the hotel spotless.

Breakfast is something else. There was a huge selection of foods both hot and cold. When seated at your table, the view is one of the canal and the old ornate buildings opposite. Absolutely stunning.

The staff were attentive and extremely polite.

The location of the hotel means you are right in the centre of the city and within walking distance of all the many attractions.The cars stayed in the car park throughout our visit, and the cost for parking is very reasonable.

I have stayed in many hotels. This one ranks high on the list for quality and excellent value for money. A return visit is anticipated.

  • Liked — clean, quiet, spacious
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cotehele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
951 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Property: Ghent Marriott Hotel
Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghent Marriott Hotel sits on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent. We opened our doors March 20, 2007. Guests staying with us enjoy comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, and Brixx Cellar Lounge at our property along with Ghent Marriott Hotel restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. Ghent Marriott Hotel has long been considered at the top level of European hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing