We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location, location, STAFF”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

What a joy it was to stay here. First the location could not have been better. The room was well appointed and very Clean.. The beds were extremely comfortable but the best thing about this hotel was the STAFF.. So helpful polite and spoke perfect English. They made our stay a highlight in Ghent especially Davey. This is by far the best Marriott I have ever stayed at! I can't recommend this hotel enough.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jersygirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    572
    91
    24
    20
See reviews for
357
858
64
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was my first visit to this hotel. Very modern with good sized rooms. What made this hotel exceptional in my opinion was its location. The Marriott is located in the historic centre of Ghent - immediately adjacent to the central plaza and canals. There are plenty of restaurants, cafes and bars within a few hundred metres - and the pancakes are to die for !!! If you are self-driving then the hotel has its own underground car par, but do not use the Garmin or TomTom Satnav location default address - this directs you through a pedestrian precinct with restricted vehicle access and you could get fined. Navigate to the end of Drabstraat instead. The car park entrance will be on your right. Whether on business or pleasure I'd definitely endorse consideration of the Ghent Marriott.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the canal end of the hotel have great views on to the old town and local water ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spmmik53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

First time to Ghent- chose the hotel was we could get 2 adults and 2 children in one room. Lovely facade to the hotel - easy parking and perfect location. The staff were excellent and the hotel was clean, comfortable and just what we needed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quen7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bicester
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel is really well placed, and is very attractive inside and out. The rooms are well appointed, clean, and the bed and bedding are top quality and really comfortable.
However, there was one disappointing element which would have prevented me booking this particular hotel had I known in advance - the Poppy Bar in the reception / lounge was not open, and in fact the whole area had been taken over for a TV recording which was to happen the following evening, so there was nowhere to sit and relax apart from in the hotel room. The whole area had been taken over by the film crew and there were lights, cables and screens everywhere. So all you had, basically, was your room. In the room the mini bar was empty, not even any milk for tea, and really strangely, only one bathrobe was provided in a double room. I asked about this and was told that is what they do! We could have had a great stay, but they just got things a bit wrong. Breakfast is too expensive at 24 euros per person too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent Marriott H, Front Office Manager at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Good afternoon Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Ghent Marriott Hotel.
It is nice to see your rated us between 4/5 and 5/5 for room overall and location.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced during your last stay.
We had indeed a special event during your stay which took place in our hotelbar Poppi. In the meantime we opened our Brixx Cellar Lounge as our hotelbar. My apologies if this was not communicated correctly.
Since 2 months we opened our M-shop where you can find a variety of drinks and snacks to take away at moderated prices. Due to this change we emptied our minibars.
Upon request we are more than happy to offer an extra bathrobe, slippers or milk in the room.
We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Kindest regards,
Valerie Vanderstraeten, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location not far from the main square, by the water, very pretty setting,

We had a junior suite, while very nice not sure if worth the extra money. Breakfast not included in rate but had it anyway and is top notch.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-Moondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

can't get a better location and you have everything a marriott provides. Space, good service (check in was excellent). We borrowed bikes and they were a reall addition. Unfortunatley room was in need of attention. Blinds broken, etc. And one elevator was out meaning all guest traipsing through restaurant. Unavoidable individual problems, but lots ot them so maybe starting to take for granted.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent Marriott H, Front Office Manager at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Good afternoon madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Ghent Marriott Hotel.
It is nice to see your rated us between 4/5 and 5/5 for room overall and location.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced during your last stay.
We had indeed a special event during your stay which took place in our hotelbar Poppi. In the meantime we opened our Brixx Cellar Lounge as our hotelbar. My apologies if this was not communicated correctly.
Since 2 months we opened our M-shop where you can find a variety of drinks and snacks to take away at moderated prices. Due to this change we emptied our minibars.
Upon request we are more than happy to offer an extra bathrobe, slippers or milk in the room.
We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Kindest regards,
Valerie Vanderstraeten, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one overnight and had one of the most comfortable stays ever. Decent sized and well lit rooms, comfortable bed with lots of pillows and fast wifi made for an enjoyable stay. Only gripes are that they shower was not a power shower and that access to the upper floors was via an inadequate lift, with the stairs being tucked away at one end of the hotel. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was good, with an excellent selection of warm and cold things to eat and the staff were more than happy to bring me a cappuccino rather than the standard coffee. The hotel is in the town centre, making it very convenient to the beautiful sights in the old town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Property: Ghent Marriott Hotel
Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent, opened its doors March 20, 2007. The hotel has 150 comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, Brixx Cellar Lounge and Ghent Marriott restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. The hotel has long been considered the top of European in the field of hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing