We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,112)
Filter reviews
2,112 results
Traveller rating
1,328
630
105
28
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,328
630
105
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationlobby barcanal view roommain canalold townbeautiful citycar parkwonderful hoteltrain stationthe heart of the cityroom was largebars and restaurantsper dayexcellent breakfastcroissantsfacadeatrium
Filter
Updating list...
818 - 823 of 2,112 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lovely place, amazing location - had a really lovely time, the hotel was everything we wanted, they upgraded us and delivered the pre-arranged breakfast in bed as required on his birthday and didn't let the cat out of the bag and spoil the surprise.

Gave excellent recommendations in terms of bars, restaurants and chocolate shops - we loved it and if we go back to ghent will definitely stay there again.

Thanks Marriott team we had a lovely special break x

Stayed: May 2014
Thank holidaymakerxxx999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Spectacular location in old Ghent, walking distance to everywhere. Actually on the canal, just outside the hotel are all the hip restaurants. A couple of the restaurants directly across the canal are good. Easy walk to all the museums. We drove there from Bruges, maks sure you have GPS, a bit hard to drive to.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hurler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel has all to be awarded the highest marks but my experience was less good so i rated it down. We stayed here for two nights because we wanted to celebrate our wedding anniversary a weekend in Ghent. We asked for a Deluxe room with a Kingsize bed.
Upon arrival it turned out they did not have any kingsize bed rooms anymore and we got a room with two queen size beds. Not something you expected. Altough everything else in the hotel was very good, and the room we got was spacious en well equipped, it left us with a sour taste that lasted all weekend long. On top of that there was an issue with the late cleaning of our room but that was delt with immediatly and with style, part of the excellent and friendly staff.
I just wonder when hotels start to deliver what people order, now it just felt that depending on the time and the person you arrive to at check in can decide the success of your stay. This time it failed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WimLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent Marriott H, Front Office Supervisor at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Mr. WimLeuven,

First of all I would like to thank you again for your stay at the Ghent Marriott.

We really appreciate you took the time to write us this review.

I want to thank you for the nice words you wrote about us. Unfortunately not everything went completely how you expected it would go.

Your feedback is important to us, and we will discuss this issue in our daily meetings.

I hope we may welcome you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Fédéric
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

It truly was a" WOW" experience for us to be in the contemporary beautiful Marriott and then go out the back entrance to view the canal and "old town Ghent". Excellent location, close to sites and restaurants. The staff was excellent and extremely helpful besides being cheery and so kind. The rooms were clean and roomy,comfortable bed and pillows, beautifully appointed and up to Marriott's standards. Breakfast buffet was excellent and dining area with windows viewing canal great. Only a ten to fifteen min. taxi ride from train station. It was a fantastic three night stay.

Room Tip: Might ask for room with a view of canal but could be noisier?
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

It is not very often that while on vacation you find a hotel that meets all of the basic criteria to a tee: clean, updated rooms, exceptional service, affordability and perfect location. The Marriott Gent meets all of those aspects! I vacationed here back in March for two days before heading to Brussels and I wish I had stayed longer. This hotel was charming and such a nice surprise, especially for a chain. Traveling through Europe sometimes means embracing quaint accommodations; this hotel was a welcome change to that mindset. The room was spacious with an updated bathroom, had comfortable beds and was very clean. Nothing can prepare you for that first step you take out of the hotel and see the canal in the historic district of Gent. It was a beautiful sight! The hotel was in the best location. Gent’s historic district was walkable and the public tram was easy to use. There were lots of cafes, restaurants and shopping all within walking distance from the hotel. If you find that you decide to opt out of the hotel breakfast, there was a great bakery about a 5 minute walk away, just past the Starbucks. It was the best way to start the day, with a local pastry and a walk along the canal.

The staff at this hotel, although young, I mean they make a 30 year old look like a grandma, was professional, friendly and extremely helpful! It didn’t matter who we came in contact with, from the front desk to the cleaning staff, everyone was nice! My mom and I took a day trip to Bruges, and the front desk provided us with tram tickets to get us to the train station, a map of Bruges, along with walking directions to the main square. My only regret was leaving Gent to travel to Brussels for two days. My recommendation, stay at this hotel in Gent instead and take day trips to Bruges and Brussels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelgirlPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews