We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our experience staying at the Ghent Marriott Hotel for 4 nights was a super. It has a better than great location. The hotel is close to sites, restaurants and the canal that runs along side the hotel is a bonus. Walk out of the hotel (back I think) and there is the canal. Lots of activity around the hotel on the canal side too - but inside your room it's quiet. Our bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. The public/lounge area is very modern and attractive. But better than all of that is the staff. Very very helpful and professional staff. Great at offering directions, good dining recommendation and help with reservations, train schedules and everything they do is with a big smile and great attitude. They were actually fun to be around. From the front desk staff to the bartender to the housekeeping staff - all were so nice. We loved our stay and the Marriott is one reason we loved Ghent!

Room Tip: We didn't get a canal side room but I would if I had to do it over. The view from that side of t...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXtravelers1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,996)
There are newer reviews for Ghent Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 1,996 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were warmly welcomed into this beautiful hotel set behind the facades of 12th century buildings on the canal in Ghent. I’d asked in my booking that they make sure we had a cool room with working aircon and we got it, it was practically frigid and very much welcome on this very hot day. The room was large and spotless, the bathroom well appointed, large bedside tables and a desk. The bed was 2x2metres, super comfy and there was plenty of room for our adult son on a rollaway. The room at 109 euros was incredibly good value. The only bad point was the fellow who made the coffee in the morning at the bar was a dill, but it was soon put right by the manager and we were on our way after a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Marriott Ghent is ideally situated in the heart of Ghent, at the "Korenlei". Marriott Ghent is an exquisite hotel with large glass parties in the hall, welcoming you with lots of light. In the evening, there are constantly changing small led lights, providing a cosy atmosphere. If you have a business event and your company logo is, say, orange, then the management can fix the lights to one color, orange. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The hotel itself has a very good restaurant with only the best and fresh products. But if you get out of the hotel, there are plenty of other small and good restaurants (restaurant Godot, which is nearby, is best price/quality). You'll feel like a royal staying here: comfort, plenty of activity and yet quiet (since this is a no-car zone). You can visit the whole of Ghent from here, on foot.
REMARK: I don't recommend this hotel during the "Gentse Feesten, every year in Mid-July" if you would like to sleep a bit: the party is going on just outside the hotel, so unless you're a party animal, don't go here.

REMARK2: Are you coming by car? Don't forget to reserve a parking spot if you want to be in the underground parking of the hotel, since that one is very small. There are other underground parkings nearby though (at walking distance).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bepdwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I went on a stag weekend a couple of months ago and there was a few of us that stayed in this hotel. We were very pleased as the location was right on the waters edge, great service and clean, spacious rooms. Breakfast was excellent, especially the waffle machine. Wouldn't say great for a stag weekend, but perfect for couples.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Hayabusaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

a 4 star Hotel that treats you with 5 star service. Spotless everywhere, everyone so helpful and friendly and the food outstanding. Everyone tries to make your stay a very rememberable time. We will return. The location in old town is great, one can have a short walk everywhere. I can't say enough of the good time we had here.

Room Tip: I believe any room will be a good room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flightmedicine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The building is properly blend into the architecture of the street, and a contender in the challenge with Renaissance Amsterdam in this regard,

A spacious atrium houses a bar and a restaurant, with further dining options in the basement, and lots of them outside.

Located right in the centre of the spectacular city of Ghent, with top-notch service and immaculate room.

My only grievance here would be complete lack of efficiency in the taxi service to the extent of after waiing 20 min for it beyond time of pre-order, I had to discard the whole idea and use a tram, instead. Though it's probably not a hotel's fault, a special arrangement with a taxi service to ensure the punctuality of it could be welcome. Or, maybe, it was just a Sunday's irregularity.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kostiantyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel is located on the Korenlei, one of the most attractive places in Ghent, not far from the Gravensteen, the old castle in the middle of the town of Ghent and the market place.
It is strange to have such a modern inner part combined with the old facade (and small intrance) on the Korenlei (it may even be a little difficult to find the entrance on the Korenlei) - the other main entrance and entrance to the car park are located in the Drabstraat
The hotel has thus its own car park which is however rather expensive, but the advantage is of course that it makes it very easy to handle your luggage.
The room was spacious, ours had a window which offered us a look into the reception, bar, ... (atrium)
However no noise did reach us!
The breakfast is served in the restaurant "Korenhuis", reachable from inside the hotel. The breakfast is very very good with a lot of choice.
We really enjoyed our (short) stay!
Just one remark: the entrance on the Korenlei was closed when we came back (very late or better very early) after a wedding party, we had to use the entrance in the Drabstraat (despite the CCTV which must have noticed us)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
2,204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £113 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghent Marriott Hotel sits on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent. We opened our doors March 20, 2007. Guests staying with us enjoy comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, and Brixx Cellar Lounge at our property along with Ghent Marriott Hotel restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. Ghent Marriott Hotel has long been considered at the top level of European hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing