We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Modern Hotel behind an old facade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2009

The Marriott Ghent, is in a envaible location looking towards the main canal.
We only had time to stay one night, but it really wasn't enough to give this town the time to fully explore all it had to offer.
The front of the hotel is very traditional, but behind in the main part of the hotel it's a different story, very bright and modern. We were also staying in this part of the hotel. The room was big and comfortable, lovely big bed. Breakfast was good as well. Only one very small gripe, that the shower curtain could do with a change, part from that top marks!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs-Moondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,995)
There are newer reviews for Ghent Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,287 - 1,293 of 1,996 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2009

One of the best Marriotts I stayed in Europe. The hotel decor is contemporary and the bed is super comfy. The hotel staff were very friendly and responsive.
The location is best, just by the river with beautiful well-preserved ancient buildings along the banks.
The food and beer in local restaurant are awesome, it's such a joy walking in this old town.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
Thank YI_IVY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, as it is right in the middle of the old town. The food was absolutely delicious as well! The rooms are big, the only incovenient is that it is impossible to open the windows, which I find really annoying! Another annoying modern fact was that there is no staircase, so even just to go down one set of stairs you have to use the elevator....
I was there as part of a congress and their congress facilities are good as well! Again the food they serve during the coffee breaks is lovely and there is plenty!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Stayed here for the weekend. Easy drive from England. Glad to have sat nav for the last bit though, parking space under the hotel.

The hotel is perfectly located on a canal and very central and walkable to anything. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.

Had a breakfast inclusive deal and it was fine .

The room was great with the bed being the best part. Enough space and bathroom good too.

Could do with another lift though. Waits could be long at busy times.

Most rooms will not have a canal view as the hotel is side on behind the old brick front to the canal.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We spent the weekend in Ghent. The hotel is in a perfect location. The interior is very modern and hitech. The exterior is charming, along the river. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. We did get bumped up to a junior suite for some reason. The package we booked was not cheap but the quality received was high. They have a good breakfast and the restaurant was good. There are plenty of other restaurants nearby, however, many of them did not have English menus, and they did not have French or German! Flemish is a bit of an odd language. I could have probably navigated any menu but Flemish.

The windows can probably be opened but we stuck with the AC. Sound insulation was very good. Also, the lobby bar area has these really neat lights that gradually change from red to greed. According to one person, they can be programmed for any color.

Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francissp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Situated near the center of Ghent, this hotel is a must. Everything is in walking distance. The staff is very friendly, speaks English (or French) fluently and is very helpfull.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBB051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Great hotel right in the heart of Gent Old Town (2 mins walk)
The hotel was new, very clean and rooms were good size and well appointed. Our room had a rubbish view of blank brick court yard although there are rooms with great views of the river/old town, probably at a cost!

We only had breakfast there but it was great with plenty to eat and good choice and quality.
There is a car park but 18€/day, the car park is below the hotel.
Good service and very helpful staff.
Highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bestservedchilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
2,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £114 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghent Marriott Hotel sits on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent. We opened our doors March 20, 2007. Guests staying with us enjoy comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, and Brixx Cellar Lounge at our property along with Ghent Marriott Hotel restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. Ghent Marriott Hotel has long been considered at the top level of European hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing