We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel in a wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

Rode the motorbike over there in May for a long weekend. Once in Ghent the traffic was horrendous and so pleased I was on 2 wheels so i could squeeze by where possible. The hotel has a secure underground car park which was ideal for the bike and then a lift up to reception. It is a crisp clean and modern hotel and situated in a prime spot on the canal with all the lovely bars and restaurants right outside. This will definitely become a regular spot for a long weekend. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,169
    562
    88
    24
    20
See reviews for
354
846
64
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel at the end of May, we are a couple in our early forties and travelled with our teenage daughter, we travel worldwide and always choose big chain hotels like the marriott.
we were very impressed with the marriott ghent it was everything we look for in a hotel the room was very clean above average size and much better than some five star hotels we have stayed in!!
The staff were very helpful and polite throughout the hotel and nothing was to much trouble they even booked a table for us at another restaurant with no fuss.
The food and drink was reasonably priced for a four star hotel and the service was excellent!
The breakfasts are fantastic and cooked to order with everything you could possibly want!
We will definatly be back very soon thankyou marriott for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charzmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALEXICO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

Nothing bad to say about hotel except that we booked with Priceline.
On check in we were not told there would be an additional 5 euro a day charged for city tax.
Priceline said the practice of such charges is up to the hotel. My response to Priceline was they shoudnt charge for taxes on there site.

There is alot of consruction going on and also effects how close you can get on a tram.
I would not try to take a tram into the stop closes to the hotel cause it is quite a walk.

No free breakast on weekends for Priceline reservations. I wish you could bid for hotels including breakfast on Priceline but thats not available. We did fine with instant oatmeal we brought to our room. Room has a refrigerator.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LAZER73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
212 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

I am a regular guest in the Marriott in Ghent and every time I am impressed by the perfect service and the great rooms. I usually take a room at the front side. Pricey, but worth the money : what a view ! Also these front rooms are much more spacious and are very nicely furnished.

Food is also great and having a drink in the Poppi bar is very nice.

Only minus points :
Small flat screen television which is very far from the bed. This means not possible to watch TV from your bed.
No wireless internet in the room
The gym is in the cellar and most of the stuff is not connected. Just standing there.
No exec lounge (though as a platinum member, you receive vouchers).

Though, these minor irritations are more than compensated by the magic of the place.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tk100964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
176 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

Perfect location, nice rooms, and friendly staff. We used Marriott Rewards points so not sure the cost, but it was a wonderful place we'd return to in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

Marriott hotel Gent is in a prime location and close to everything. Rooms are comforable and we had a room with a view, overlooking the river, opposite the Guildhouses. Lobby is spacious and modern and the buffet breakfast is also very good.
Excellent small Italian trattoria, 'Il Folletto' just across from the main entrance.
Will certainly stay here on our next visit to Gent.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kiwi4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

The location of this hotel is very good, as it's in the centre of the tourist area. The rooms are very well equipped and are modern and clean. The communal facilities are very pleasant and the bar/cafe has a good range of drinks and good opening hours. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was parking underneath the hotel, although there was a 19 Euro per day charge. The only thing against this hotel is that our particular room (on the first floor) was a bit noisy, as it overlooked a small alley. We were woken up early one morning by a rubbish truck and could hear noise from the street. Insist on a room higher up in the hotel if you can.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Property: Ghent Marriott Hotel
Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent, opened its doors March 20, 2007. The hotel has 150 comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, Brixx Cellar Lounge and Ghent Marriott restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. The hotel has long been considered the top of European in the field of hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing