We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre food and arrogant service”
Review of De Superette

De Superette
Ranked #249 of 1,019 Restaurants in Ghent
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

I had very high expectations for this place but left highly disappointed. The food was simply bland - my sister had a pizza which was just dunked in grease and I had the fish with a very unexciting sauce and not enough seasoning, our potato side was equally bland and disappointing. They also don't like their veg here!! So sad as we had really been looking forward to our visit here - definitely not worth the money! Service is cold but wine was good.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

The ambiance was very good. Very busy and lively but the food we had somehow missed out in our view unless you wanted pizza cooked in their wood oven which looked very good. For 16 euros per head there was a selection of small dishes which included steak tartare and goats cheese which we didn’t fancy. For mains there was a choice of chicken or fish but the fish was finished at 8.30pm. It was basically half a very small roast chicken cut into pieces with pickled cabbage and celery at 19 euros. A tiny portion of potato wedges and a small bowl of tomato salad were 6 euros each. The choice of white wine was limited to a Chardonnay or Riesling costing 32 euros plus a bottle. The dessert was raw sliced apple on ice cream sprinkled with hazelnut crumbs at 7 euros.
We came away feeling rather cheated and not very full.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I ate at De Superette last night for our final night in Ghent. It’s in a quiet part of town near the university and we worried that because it was a Sunday night (and a bank holiday weekend) it might be a little lacking in atmosphere but we couldn’t have been more wrong. It was fully booked with a great vibe. We had the set menu with 3 cold starters, 3 hot starters, a wood fired pizza and salad to share (we went for Spicy Njudja Sausage) and then puddings. It was all so delicious and at €38.50 per person, super reasonable. The music was fab, the service was great and the drinks were tasty too. My husband enjoyed the local Jungle Joy beer and I loved the Kiss My Rhubarb cocktail. Would recommend!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank TaraPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We went on a friday evening for dinner with reservation( necessary) for 4 persons .We ordered 2 special beers , 2 juices and the Supra dinner (38.5euro)which consisted of 3 small plates for the first course and 3 small plates for the second course all to share.It included a very tasty oyster,some shells,some slices of veal,nice bread.The main course was a special pizza with spicy nduja sausages and tasted very good,the accompanying salad was disappointing.Also the dessert was not very special,sabayon and a cookie.The staff were very friendly.Service was quick and fluent.To conclude,a nice evening but a little pricey(173 euro for 4 persons).

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Luc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Having visited on a couple of occasions, I've always appreciated the food and drinks on offer but was less impressed by the service and price for what is offered.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank ChurchOfNoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Superette also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to De Superette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing