We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic evening”
Review of 't Klaverblad

't Klaverblad
Ranked #5 of 869 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Romantic evening”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We were in Ghent for an anniversary and saw this restaurant was highly thought of so we booked. What a welcome! We were offered a lovely table and the menu came only in Flemish but it was explained in detail and the staff could not have been more attentive. We chose the €49 all inclusive option and had an aperitif, a free starter, the starter advertised, main course and dessert with free flowing white and red wine!! Fabulous meal, nice ambience and great service along with value for money. Not on the beaten track, it looks like someone's front room but well worth looking for!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    134
    26
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real find!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We walked in off the street, were pleasantly welcomed and selected the house three course menu with accompanying wine. I am always a bit suspicious that the wine selections on these occasions will not be so great but here I was definitely wrong. Excellent wine and generously free flowing accompanied (or is it the other way round?) by a very good meal. A real find as far as we were concerned!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sunday Surprise”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Pleasant surprise for 8 of us turning up here after sampling some delightful Belgian beers. Without a reservation we were made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed an excellent meal. We got in just before the crowds.
Excellent highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColWil55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delight”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

This place was a little gem, we had no booking but it was a week night so took a punt to walk in and fortunately we were successful. We were easily convinced to get the three course meal at 29 euros, which seemed very reasonable. The fine print we later found illustrated all the meals we wanted and cheese dessert involved a surcharge. fortunately it was well worth it, the food lovely. Very friendly service and all explained in english. Not much of a wine course we were offered red or white but again fortunately both were loverly. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J0Main
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“OK but not as good as we expected”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

A nicely laid out restaurant in a charming old building. Warm welcoming hostess and open fire. The three course menu looked good and was certainly enthusiastically "pushed" by the hostess. As two of the four of us were celebrating a wedding anniversary we pushed the boat out a bit and had their top range of accompanying wines which included a sparkling cava to start. They offer two differently priced choices of flights of wines, a nice idea. Its just a shame that only one of them (the bordeaux) would I consider drinking again.

The amuse that came at the start of the meal were an interesting selection and the starters certainly lived up to their billing. The main courses though were a bit of a let down. Not bad but just didn't really impress. Three of us had venison which was nicely cooked and succulent enough. The sauce however was bland, the croquette potatoes looked just like those from a frozen packet, a spoon of mashed something which was equally bland, a few bits of decorative garnish and the whole meal hardly more than tepid. The fourth person had what was essentially a leg of roast chicken (which looked nicely done) with a small amount of some sort of mushroom puree/sauce. From where I sat it was just a roast leg in the middle of a large white plate- surely they could dress it up a bit better than that.

The desserts were just OK but my cheese wasn't much of a selection, all rather similar in type and texture. But I guess Belgium isn't known for its cheese and to be fair it was called a Belgian selection on the menu.

A total of 270 Euros including water a coffee for four seemed about 70 Euros too much for what what we had. Not really bad but I'll eat elsewhere next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 't Klaverblad also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to 't Klaverblad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing