We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attentive, Delightful, a real gem!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Allegro Moderato

Allegro Moderato
Ranked #11 of 851 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Attentive, Delightful, a real gem!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

My colleague and I were in Gent to collaborate with some academic colleagues. Because most of our evenings were to ourselves, and both of us are adventurous foodies, we decided to explore local favorite restaurants. We knew to stay away from the bars and bistros at the main squares, but were open to all possibilities. After noting that the House of Elliot was closed on Tuesdays and Wednesday, as are many local favorites, the recommendation of the hotel clerk (Hotel Gravensteen, Excellent!) was to try Allegro Moderato, a restaurant about a block from the hotel. What an amazing treat! We are both vegetarian and the wait staff took great care to ensure that our dishes were prepared to veggie friendly standards. The food was delightfully presented, each dish unique. Paired with our Clivus Pinot Grigio, from appetizer to dessert the food was excellent, well worth it. Our wait staff were so attentive, gregarious and knowledgeable,-a first rate crew. Wish I lived in Gent so that I could dine at this restaurant often.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    121
    44
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Visited this restaurant as part of a group of 25 following the recommendation of colleagues. The experience was a big disappointment. Food was edible but not to the standard we were expecting. Presentation was poor with the whole group receiving the same food but presented very differently from plate to plate. We had duck and the conclusion from most was that the chef had failed in most to make the skin crispy; a novices mistake. Service was very, very, very slow and rude. This could have easily been so much better. If you are in a group chose an alternative. Lucky to get one star.

Helpful?
Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Solihull
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“exquisitely alluring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Have eaten at this restaurant twice now and the menu always looks appealing. The wine list is also quite broad and tailored to the food.

The staff are well versed on the menu and always on hand/attentative. Never had a bad experience and would highly recommend this restaurant.

The decor is lush and quite a refreshing experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DC_Solihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service very bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We spent an evening at this restaurant. We arrived at 8. Our main course was served at 10.40! Even though the food was certainly good, the restaurant cannot deliver the type of service that you expect from a restaurant with prices that suggest it is a high end restaurant. Too bad.

Helpful?
4 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Eel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I thought I was sacrificing quality for the excellent location of this restaurant right on the canal. I was mistaken as the food and service were really excellent. I ordered a traditional Belgian Eel dish which came from the mother of the head chef. The eel was served in a cast iron pot in a wonderful green sauce which easily fell off the bone. Another highlight was the Amuse Bouche which including a small stuffed red pepper.

The restaurant was about 5-10 degrees to warm but luckily they seated us close to the door where a nice breeze kept us cool enough. If it wasn't so warm, I probably would have given them 5 stars.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clubcoco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Allegro Moderato also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Allegro Moderato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing