We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic and creative”
Review of The House of Eliott - CLOSED

The House of Eliott
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$37 - US$146
Cuisines: French, Belgian, Seafood, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic and creative”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The food was exquisite, perfectly cooked, and the service was outstanding.
Fresh ingredients, good balance of spices, very cold wine and friendly owner

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CasR476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    100
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“extraordinary!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The food is excellent, the best I ever had. It's an amazing expierence. the interior is very special. the waiters are very friendly. If you are in Ghent you should definitely try it, but you have to like lobster.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwenevuire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldegem, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The place to be for great lobster-dishes ...”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Last year we where a little disappointed after our visit to this restaurant (please see my earlier posts) but this time we hit the jackpot. Our visit to the House of Eliott was fantastic. It already started with a very good mousse of smoked eel. After that we had the menu with 3 half lobsters : lobster Belle-vue, lobster with sundried tomatoes and a grilled lobster. Three good dishes with plenty of lobster. I also want to emphasize the great service we had ... The House of Eliott-team did a great job !! Of course I also want to mention the unique setting & interior !!!
Advice : The House of Eliott does not accept reservations for outside-tables. Just arrive early if you want to enjoy your meal outside.
We will be back next year !!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rik0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What an experience”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing Unusual and totally different. Front of house service fantastic we were made to feel very welcome The restaurant is like sitting in a 1920s front parlour weird but comfortingly wonderful.
I had lobster done 6 ways it was beautiful my friends had different meals of fish and steak which they thoroughly enjoyed.
Gent is also a beautiful friendly city and well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Absolutely wonderful restaurant in a lovely city.
Top rate food especially the lobster. Decor very different and beautifully done
Shame overrated restaurants like St Helenas in Elstow can't learn to treat their customers and serve good food like this.
The House of Eliot fully deserve their place as best restaurant in the city and will definitely be going again

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nahguav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The House of Eliott also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing