We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blown away”
Review of Cochon de Luxe

Cochon de Luxe
Ranked #41 of 1,018 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$57 - US$97
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 August 2018

We heard about this restaurant through friends who were raving about it. After only the apetizers we texted the friends that we understood what they were raving about. The setting is an old building, freshly renovated, with eye for detail and a lot of feeling for space and light. The Lady Of The House is lovely: present when needed and with an eye for what was going on, but not too present or intrusive. The food can be described in 3 words: Oh My God. Both presentation and taste were spot on, great with a little wink; exactly what the cryptic messages on the menu were hinting at.

I can see only one small minor detail: as they for sure will get a star in the very near future, we won't be able to find a free table soon...

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kathleen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2017

We were there on last sunday with friends.
In one worth : marvellous. We went for the full menu (6 courses) with wine.
I must say, not ony the presentation of the dishes is "art" but there were really "flavor bombs" and humour is never far away on the menu.
Furthermore wine choice was excellent and service was very friendly.
In my opinion this restaurant deserves much more as 13/20 in the Gault/Millau. It is much better as several 1 Michelin star restaurants.
Please do continue in the same way.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 9000Gent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Went here 6 times already, and keep being surprised by the innovative and fun menu as well as the top quality of the food. Top spot!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank TomVBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

For enthusiasm both the kitchen and the service get a ten .
The food and presentation is playful. The chef presents light interpretation of some local dishes . The wine paring was good and the waiter was more than generous .
Definitely a place to go back to .

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Filip O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

I was in a Business dinner in this restaurant and we had the degustation menu with marriage of wines. The food was very original and nice to see. The taste no so good. The value quality/price was worse than expected. Service was ok, but they did not like the fact that we ate lot of bread. When we asked more bread, the waiter told us that it was the last bread piece they had in a quite disgusting way.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Plisti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cochon de Luxe also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Cochon de Luxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing