We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, affordable cafe”
Review of Grand cafe Godot

Grand cafe Godot
Ranked #218 of 859 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: US$22 - US$29
Cuisines: Italian, Belgian, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
254 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice, affordable cafe”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon this lunch option as our first choice was closed. They serve a variety of continental foods in a modern decor. The service was friendly and the prices reasonable. Portions were quite large- I could have shares the sandwich. The fries (with homemade mayonnaise) were delicious! I would save room for dessert but go to the waffle stand closer to the main plaza.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaraMHutchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    136
    45
    28
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This restaurant is located just off the main canal plaza in old town Ghent. We noticed quite a few people in the late afternoon drinking beer on the patio (they don't drink coffee in Belgium, they drink beer). We made a reservation for dinner and were not disappointed. Good food (linguini carbonara that was perfect). This restaurant seems to be a favorite of the 25 - 40 year old crowd. Prices were moderate and the quality was fairly surprising considering that the restaurant is located right in the middle of the tourist area. The carbonara was 9.50 Euros which was 5.00 Euros less than the awful carbonara at San Marino. I would recommend this restaurant with no hesitation.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
727 reviews
567 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Trendy Cafe Bar”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This is just a few paces away from the popular central river area. A good mixture of mainly locals with some tourists. The menu has the usual steaks and pastas and also a good variety of lighter options including salads and snacks. Free bread and olives is a good start and the food did not disappoint. There is a trendy interior and also an exterior terrace which is a pleasant spot for people watching on a sunny day. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank LauraDaveJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Restaurant was recommended by our hotel but I wouldn't come back. Linguine vongole was a huge disappointment with one large sticky ball of pasta with no sauce, oil or seasoning and vongole dropped on the top. When asked for feedback, it was clearly only wanted if positive and otherwise just annoying! Don't go for the pasta!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Trendy setting, but nothing special”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was a trendy restaurant/bar with a modern decor. Although the place was packed, we didn't think it was that special and it was really noisy (we almost had to shout to understand the person on the opposite side of the table). Food was average, nothing different for the other bistros that serve steak etc. Price was fair.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand cafe Godot also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Grand cafe Godot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing