We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, great location”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baeten Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #83 of 113 Ghent B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value for money, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Quite a lot of fun entering a retro furniture/antiques shop, and finding out your room is in the back of the store. The store is your frontdoor.
The room (2) was spacious, a little dark though, and the beds are good. Unfortunaly my friend had a cold shower after 2 mins, I don't know if that was bad luck, or a permanent problem.
Breakfast was in the room and nice, with bread, cereals, fruits, yoghurt, an egg, cheeses, jams, ham etc.
We haven't seen much of the owners - Stefan and Hedwige. But all the contact through email and while there was very friendly.
The location is superb, in the Brugstraat, the Gravensteen Castle is almost your neighbour. Everything is literally around the corner. Ghent is lovely!
Whilst there - have a fresh waffle at 3,14. Next to Himschoot Bakery on the Groentenmarkt.

Room Tip: Room 2 is in the back of the building and very quiet. It has two single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Nederland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed there the past two nights (room 1). Pictures on the internet looked promising. What a disapointment ! Besides the fact that we didn't receive a proper welcome from the actual landlord (we only talked to her 10 min before leaving the premises), what really made this a frustrating experience was the general dirtiness of the room. Mold against the walls and in the bathroom, dust and spider webs on all walls, mosquitoes flying all night (in Oct !!!), bed mattress should be trown away and replaced by a proper one, the dust under the bed was a real disgrace What a shame !!!! The room has such a potential ... Nicely furnished, quiet, generous size. Managing a B&B is a serious business ... I hope the owner of this place will read this review and make some effort to provide a much cleaner room to future guests. The minimum one would expect when paying 95 euros per night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 885Gregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Southport
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Great B&B in central but quiet location, enourmous breakfasts, pretty large room with doors leading out on to patio area. The owners are lovely people and very, very helpful.

Gent is a fascinating place with easy access to Bruge and Brussels. Lots of medieval stuff and art nouveau architecture. Fantastic galleries and great mueums. Belgium is not an area you would think of visiting if your mum wasn't from Brussels but it really is worth having a look.

Room Tip: The three person room has a patioed area so when the rain stops it is great for sitting out enjoying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spannerSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We didn't actually make it to the Baeten B&B because of flight cancellations due to the French airstrike but i wanted to post anyway to say how kind and understanding they were given that I cancelled a 4 night stay at very short notice. If I can rearrange my trip I will definately rebook with Baeten.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Germainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

My first time in a B&B was great here for convenience, location, service, and added to this special city. Recommend using the plug-in mosquito repellant!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eabergman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

We stayed there during Christmas. It was cold and snowing. But the beautiful city Ghent, made it right. The owners were nice, although we didn't talk alot, they do have to run their business. The room was clean, nice and warm! Breakfast was amazing! Just for that I want to go back. It was such a nice trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Car0lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

We enjoyed our stay in this B&B. We had a good, quiet sleep in a good bed, there was a good breakfast, the rooms are decorated in a stylish vintage design (which is quite normal because they have a shop in vintage furniture). The location is really great, you're in the middle of the city centre. The owners are friendly people, they don't disturb you much, but we liked that. It's nog a really special address, but it's a decent place for a short stay, not too expensive. We liked our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Flandre
Hotel de Flandre
#22 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#11 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gravensteen
Hotel Gravensteen
#15 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Ganda Rooms & Suites
Ganda Rooms & Suites
#1 of 113 in Ghent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drabstraat 2
Drabstraat 2
#12 of 33 in Ghent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baeten Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baeten Bed & Breakfast

Property: Baeten Bed & Breakfast
Address: Burgstraat 11, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Baeten Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing