We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sitting among the smokers!”
Review of Du Progres

Du Progres
Ranked #6 of 857 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$29
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse, Belgian, Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Sitting among the smokers!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had not booked a table so the only options on a night of looking for a good restaurant was to wait for and take an outside table among the smokers. We have not noticed smoking as a problem in Ghent, but Du Progress seemed to have attracted all the smokers to its outside tables. Oh well, we wanted to eat and the restaurant certainly had rated high on Trip Adviser.

We both opted for a meal of steak with salad and a bottle of wine. We had a fillet and tornedos respectively with different sauces. The locals seem to lvd sauces on their meats and their chips. Chips were served separately and were well prepared - great with the steaks and sauces. To accompany the meal we had an Italian Barberra which was very well priced and great to drink. Service was quick and good and despite the smokers we had a delightful evening at Du Progress. Be aware though, this was Saturday night and we have not seen the restaurant open since and its now Monday night.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenR285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    517
    88
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, decent food”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Went to Du Progres based on numerous positive reviews on tripadvisor, and wasn't disappointed.
As it is located on the main square and It was lovely sunny midsummer's evening when I went, the outside area was very busy and made for a great setting.

Considering how busy it was, service was not too slow, and the staff were pleasant enough.
The food was decent, portion sizes were very reasonable, and prices seemed in line with other similar venues in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZimHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
143 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful - Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Four of us went here for lunch during the Ghent Music Festival. No reservations, but we were able to get a nice table inside. The service was wonderful. Friendly welcoming staff who paid attention to our needs and provided great service. We all had the Flemish Stew with a combo of beer and wine for drinks. The house wine was pretty good. The Flemish Stew was incredible. Also has a starter of flemish carpaccio - very good, even though I wasn't sure what to expect. At the time of this posting, Du Progres was rated as #4 in Ghent. Well deserved ranking and could go higher, but haven't been to #1-#3 yet! Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odder, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Location, Great Staff”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were two couples, went there for dinner (booked in advance, which is recommended). Some earlier reviews have mentioned poor service - we experienced nothing of that kind, rather the opposite: friendly and helpful. Servings are generous and the meat is well-cooked. Can fully recommend this restaurant. Total bill for 4 (main courses, desserts and drinks) around EUR 150 - considered reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PalleFrandsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good steak, great sauce.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I've been to Du Progres a couple of times. Their steak "James Bond" is lean, well-prepared beef accompanied by a complex, flavorful sauce - cream, tarragon, peppercorns, and more. Superb. Their croquettes are very good, too.

Helpful?
1 Thank PeglegEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Du Progres also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Du Progres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing