We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You cannot eat 'fashion'” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mineral - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mineral
Restaurant details
Hamme, Belgium
Level Contributor
248 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“You cannot eat 'fashion'”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

This restaurant tries to attract those who live from hype to hype. It is, or perhaps already was, THE place to be in Ghent. If you like to watch the local trendy wannabee scene, you will enjoy yourself. The food is less enjoyable and I really don't like the uncomfortable benches.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geert-Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gent
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Skip this restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

I made reservation on beforehand, a dinner at 6 pm. When I arrived the restaurant was closed. After ringing the doorbell the guy opening the door said he only opened at 6.30 pm. He told my name was 'not in the books'.

After letting me in, we had a dinner with four. Very pricy and very poor food. I took 'pork cheeks' as a main dish : absolutely not eatable with overwhelming herbs. My wife took the fish : about 50 grams of tasteless fish.

And oh yes : please do not take the 'fitting wines' with the menu. The lady served me the bottom of a first bottle of wine, the rest of the glass she filled with a second bottle.

1 good thing : nice exterior. Please keep out of there....

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank xaviergoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“ONE OF MY BEST MEALS EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

In MINERAL I had one of the best meals I have had anywhere.

The place itself has a nice atmosphere, formal without being cold or snooty. The main room was dominated by a white porcelain tiled fireplace.

I had the "special" of the night: fresh pasta with a black truffle sauce. Every other time i've had it the "truffles" were specks that looked kind of like black pepper in the sauce. But this dish had huge shavings the size of silver dollars. They also served some incredible fresh and creamy cheese, mozzarella but a special kind unlike any other I've had. I was told it was unique to one region in Italy and was wonderful.

I would go back again in a second (and in fact they said they were building out the back of their building into a pizza restaurant and I am dying to try it). 

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jim10013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice interior”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

Nice food, friendly staff, but the ravioli swordfish is really horrible.

Helpful?
1 Thank UitOostende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, though a bit...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Good food, though a bit pricy for what you get.

Helpful?
Thank tderoeck
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Mineral also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing