We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Budock Vean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Budock Vean Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Amazing hotel and would highly recommend!! We unpacked on arrival, took a stroll down to the river, had a drink sat outside in the amazing terrace area then sat in the hot tup and caught the suns rays. The hot tub and pool area is tranquil, peaceful and so romantic. The bedrooms are not up to modern standard but the hotel itself and food more than make up for it. We are going back again in September this year and will return next May for our wedding anniversary.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ogwell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you so much for recommending us. We look forward to seeing you again in September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    152
    43
    13
    8
See reviews for
114
357
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

A very good hotel with impeccable service and staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent. Our room was very large but a tiny bit dated. The only downsides are the number of steps which is unavoidable in an older building but makes it hard for those who cannot manage stairs easily and the fact that Wi-fi is only accessible in certain lounges. The gardens are lovely and there are others nearby. The boat trip was run by a most entertaining skipper. We certainly hope to return. The fact that it was full with many people returning for years speaks for itself

Room Tip: Must have a superior room with a view down the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Two nights of luxury with wonderful meals, wines & scenery.
The Budock Vean never disappoints whatever the weather. We managed to play nine holes of golf, swimming in the indoor pool, outdoor hot tub and after dinner snooker. We walked through the beautiful kept gardens full of bluebells down to the river and decided they were as good as Trebah and included in the price of the hotel!
This hotel is so centrally placed to visit both the south and north Cornish coasts and if the weather is poor on one coast you only have to travel a short distance to the other coast to find the sun as we did at St Ives. Take the park and ride from Lelant by train to St Ives for the most spectacular views of Carbis Bay takes away all the stress of trying to park the car.
Very good value deals at the Hotel dinner, bed & wonderful breakfast including all other facilities.

Room Tip: Perhaps check if the lift is working - it wasn't when we visited and we were on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This was my second stay at Budock Vean and I was so pleased that it was every bit as good as I remember from the first time. My first experience was one of their gourmet weekends some years ago and they are incredibly good value with all the food and wine. This time we had booked for their "Titanic" weekend with a murder mystery on the Saturday evening.

Firstly, I have always found the rooms at Budock Vean to be comfortable, with everything you would expect. They may not be the height of modernity in decor, but they are clean and I like the homely feel you get from the drapes and the paintings. The fact it's not ultra modern suits it and makes for a far more relaxed atmosphere I feel.

Secondly, the food is excellent - really delicious, excellent choices and local too. With a four course meal each night and breakfast the next morning there's almost no need for lunch or the afternoon tea they also serve! My husband and I play both golf and tennis so we can certainly make the most of the onsite facilities - free to guests. The golf course isn't the most challenging as it's only 9 hole, but it's enjoyable enough for a quick round which is all we were looking for.

The spa and swimming pool (with outdoor jacuzzi now) are both also lovely although I feel that the health and safety executive have ruined the pool somewhat with the "deep" end at only 1.3m - it used to be a proper pool! Spa treatments are with Elemis products and the massage I had was to die for.

I would recommend taking some time to visit the nearby gardens of Trebah and Glendurgan. Trebah used to be free for National Trust members (it's not National Trust) but no longer. It is the more impressive of the two however. Both are within walking distance (if you are OK with hills). I would also almost insist that you stopped off at the Ferry Boat Inn, Helford - the food here is amazing and the location on the Helford River a perfect spot to while away the afternoon. We were there as a gig race was being held so it was packed with rowers and supporters - fantastic atmosphere!

I left wanting to come back again - which is really something for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We enjoyed staying here for a week in Nov 2011 and thought it was good value as a 4 star hotel, and better than some 5 stars. It was highly recommended by a travel agent who'd stayed at Budock Vean. We both chose 'superior rooms' which turned out to be enormous. The food was very good and the atmosphere was friendly and homely.The staff were excellent. We loved all the little extras like the live music (tinkling piano, guitarist) every night and the nibbles we had with our cocktails in the conservatory were delicious. It was very busy, even in November, which is a good indicator. It just felt as though they went that extra mile which makes all the difference. The owner was also very much 'hands on' and introduced himself to guests when we were having dinner. The gardens were wonderful and I should I imagine be fantastic in Spring and Summer. The Trebah suntropical gardens are close by and well worth a visit. The river flows at the bottom of the garden and it was so peaceful there. I'd quite happily return for another stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brumas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We spent a short winter break at Budock Vean Hotel and enjoyed the whole experience. The room was a good size and spotless. We enjoyed the large indoor pool and booked a massage at the health spa. The highlight of the break was the restaurant. With jacket and tie mandatory for gentlemen and live background music, the atmosphere was great and the service and food fantastic. Although we didn't use it, many rooms look out over the golf course nd the beautiful Helford River is a short walk away. In summer the hotel is understandably expensive but we felt that the winter break offer was good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
What a fantastic review. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the Budock Vean again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Good food, excellent staff but this Hotel could do with a bit of updating.

The swimming pool, hot tub, and sauna are great. The pool is not like a pond, it is a good size, and the changing rooms are small and need some money spent on them.

Like the food, the staff and ambience of the place are first class.

What is exceptional about this Hotel is the staff, they try and make everyone feel welcome and combine rolls if required. The Assistant Restaurant Manager, Charles was helping clean the rooms as housekeeping staff were off sick.

The lounge with the log fire in it, for me was a bit too dark for reading in, I thought extra lighting may improve this room, but you have the lovely conservatory.

One of the square drinking glasses on the restaurant table one had lipstick on, I removed it. All in all a good Hotel. We were upgraded to a superior room, this is a lovely gesture by the Hotel, but the telephone table had a chip out of it and the shower curtain in the en-suite is very out of date. These are minor criticisms in a good, well run Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LazyLumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawnan Smith
4.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,081 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
165 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.7 mi away
Meudon Hotel
Meudon Hotel
#10 of 23 in Falmouth
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budock Vean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budock Vean Hotel

Property: Budock Vean Hotel
Address: Budock Vean Lane | near Helford Passage, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Mawnan Smith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Budock Vean Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet bend of the tranquil Helford River nestles the award-winning 4 star Budock Vean Hotel. This family owned and run hotel is set in 65 acres of glorious gardens, woodlands and its own golf course - The Budock Vean is a sanctuary for rest and relaxation. With an AA Rosette restaurant renowned for amazing food, relaxing treatments in the Natural Health Spa, luxury self catering holiday homes, dog friendly cottages, tennis courts, kayaking and boat trips along the river, you can be as active or as relaxed as you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Budock Vean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budock Vean Falmouth
Budock Vean Hotel Mawnan Smith, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing