We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you to all at this treasure in Cornwall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budock Vean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Budock Vean Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thank you to all at this treasure in Cornwall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We booked the superior suite in this hotel for a relaxing break and this was exactly our experience. Wonderful food, cosy environment, faultless facilities and friendly efficient staff. Not to mention endless hot water, unbelievably superior spa treatments, and swimming pool with an open fire burning. Listening to the birds singing, sat in the hot tub , in the rain , perfect.

Just thsnk you

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodieofbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    146
    43
    13
    8
See reviews for
111
340
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful night away at Budock Vean.What a treat.All aspects of our stay were faultless, from the friendly and efficient check in, to the fabulous food.The pool was lovely, and the outdoor hot tub first thing in the morning whilst the rain hammered down was superb.
All staff were well mannered, and attentive without being "in your face".
The Champagne , flowers and chocolates package was the icing on the cake.
Will we be back?You bet!!!

Room Tip: Room 1 with the four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piri-Piri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

I recently went to budock vein for a dinner and dance evening and was pleasantly surprised! The food was exceptional for a function and I was amazed that we had a choice of menu for the number of people! The staff were very friendly and attentive! Would like to say a big thank you to Sam who was extremely helpful and professional! Look forward to visiting the hotel again soon!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Julesmw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landrake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Have been to this Hotel a number of times and find it to be consistently of a high standard. This last trip was for a Christmas Party Night and can only say that the attention to detail and quality was again maintained. We met for Canapes at 7pm and sat in the Conservatory enjoying drinks whilst our Dinner order was taken. The Restaurant was beautifully and seasonally decorated with each table having two Helium balloons attached, Crackers, Balloons in situ. The meal was of its usual high quality, with a wide choice ie not a fixed menu for the night, this despite slighly larger numbers being catered for. The Waiting Staff were polite and attentive, the service was excellent. The evenings entertainment that followed was by Disco-in truth I would have much preferred a small Dance Band to practice my "Strictly" skills-but do appreciate that that would probably have added to the cost which was extremely reasonable. Another "Well Done" to the Budock Vean.

Room Tip: I'm keeping that one secret! Suffice to say that owing to it's picturesque location any of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Had looked at the ads for this hotel for many years and had been put off by the photo (seemed to be very small!)

However we tried the hotel for a one week summer holiday this year and wow, what a surprise!

Approached this hotel from Helston by the creek road (via Port Navas) and thoroughly enjoyed the picturesque vistas of the Helford Estuary!

Came upon the hotel almost accidentally in a very quiet, peaceful and remote setting on the hill above the Estuary with its own extensive gardens leading to the water, a jetty and a well equipped summer house.

What presented was an absolute gem of a hotel, in an attractive rural isolated setting (owls at night!)

The hotel was equipped with, what appeared to be, an impressive golf course, although you would not be aware of this most of the time, when resident.

The bedrooms were elegant and comfortable, and the lounges likewise.

The bar and restaurant were most pleasant and run by attentive caring and friendly staff, with piano accompaniment for every meal by a different pianist each night.

The cuisine was of a high standard, and enjoyable.

The spa was tranquil, elegant and run very professionally, and is highly recommended. (Tip: if having a whole body massage, don't forget to specify head massage).

The pool was ideal for children, (being at a constant depth) and was located in a cavernous impressive elegant themed building with a log fire in winter!

The jacuzzi was outdoors and in summer was a very pleasant experience!

A great place to stay and base a holiday!

The surrounding and neighbourhood areas (Falmouth to Penzance) are a treasure trove of holiday attractions.

Try the:

Helford Estuary by creek road and also water. (Helford, Frenchmans Creek).

For the kids: The fast jet viewing area at RAF Culdrose (should keep them happy!) and the seal sanctuary at Gweek.

Follow the coast round and sample (where palm trees grow and rents are low!):

St Michael's Mount.

Be enchanted by the tiny streets of Mousehole.

The one tonne beach pebbles of Lamorna Cove and the power of the sea.

The semi tropical stream valleys.

The Minack Cliff Theatre (If you book well in advance you can catch a matinee or evening performance!).

Sandy beaches every where. (Surf's up!)

The Telegraph museum at Porthcurno.

Lands End and Sennen Cove.

Tin Mines (Geevor (working engines), South Crofty (now due to re-open as the price of metals has soared!).

(Catch a tin paperweight (twice the density of steel!))

And much more!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

My wife and I have just enjoyed a second stay - this year - at this excellent hotel.
Having enjoyed a Valentine's break earlier in 2012, we found our pre Christmas break simply first class. The staff at Budock Vean are truly an exceptional team of professionals who really care about making their guests welcome.
Sitting outside in the hot tub, with rain pouring and light fading, is the place to forget any worries.
Try this hotel - it is unique and deserves its continued success.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank portloepirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
209 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We have just returned from a lovely gourmet weekend at Budock Vean. We booked a year ago for this weekend, it is an annual event for us, but there are 3 weekends of this type every year at the hotel. The deal is B&B with a gourmet dinner with a different wine with each course on a Friday and Saturday night.
The food was delicious, the wine matches interesting! We stayed in room 39, our usual room, a lovely big room with views over the golf course and indoor swimming pool.
We were welcomed like old friends and were very happy to be able to check in a couple of hours early so we could have a swim, sauna and hot tub before dinner.
This hotel is probably not to everyones taste - men must wear a jacket and tie for dinner every night. We noticed that the numbers for this gourmet weekend were lower than previous years, one table for 8 was left empty and there were big spaces between the tables, often we are packed into the dining room.
The one thing we missed was the pianist who plays during cocktail and canape time as well as through dinner. We were told he had not been booked because the wine speakers interupted his playing. Too bad, we like the tinkling of the ivories, even if he does have to break off mid tune at times for the wine chat.
All in all a lovely break and the superb weather meant we could have a fabulous walk from the hotel to the Roseland peninsula, on to Maenporth beach and back via some very muddy footpaths.

Room Tip: Room 39 is nice and big, with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrispyPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawnan Smith
4.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
4.0 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budock Vean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budock Vean Hotel

Property: Budock Vean Hotel
Address: Budock Vean Lane | near Helford Passage, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5LG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Mawnan Smith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Budock Vean Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet bend of the tranquil Helford River nestles the award-winning 4 star Budock Vean Hotel. This family owned and run hotel is set in 65 acres of glorious gardens, woodlands and its own golf course - The Budock Vean is a sanctuary for rest and relaxation. With an AA Rosette restaurant renowned for amazing food, relaxing treatments in the Natural Health Spa, luxury self catering holiday homes, dog friendly cottages, tennis courts, kayaking and boat trips along the river, you can be as active or as relaxed as you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Budock Vean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budock Vean Falmouth
Budock Vean Hotel Mawnan Smith, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing