We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa Needs Pampering!”
Review of Budock Vean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Budock Vean Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spa Needs Pampering!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Came today for a pamper day for my partners' birthday. The facilities were really disappointing given the price and blurb on the website. Tiny changing room with no shower other than the poolside one, rather nasty plastic hot tub, great pool but badly needed a clean and scruffy all round. Lunch was tiny and mean - Detox lunch doesn't really translate as a Ham Sandwich and most places let you have herbal tea all day, not a scruffy laminated voucher for "one cup of tea". Spa also covered in bossy notices "don't do this, don't do that" - "don't take drinks in the hot tub" - at The Scarlett they'll bring you a glass of champagne in it! After lunch however the day was saved with one of the best massages and facials I have ever had. Real care taken to check out our needs and preferences and for once, they could cope with my super sensitive skin. Please please smarten up the pool area and build some better changing facilities. Take down the notices and we'd be there all the time!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shedly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Natural Health Spa and hotel. We do appreciate constructive criticism and will respond and react wherever possible.
After receiving your review a large majority of the signs you refer to have been removed.
Unfortunately, we cannot allow drinks in the hot tub or swimming pool due to health and safety regulations. Broken glass in either would pose a health risk to our guests and may result in the pool having to be closed.
Our pamper day menu is not intended as a detox lunch but we do offer a good variety of choice, for example, The Natural Health Spa salad for those looking for a healthy choice or the Twice-baked cheese soufflé for an indulgent treat.
We are however delighted you enjoyed your treatment in the Natural Health Spa and do hope you will be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    152
    43
    14
    8
See reviews for
114
358
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We planned a two night stay at the Budock Vean hotel as we know the area well and wanted to have a long weekend over Aug bank holiday. We were amazed by the lovely long drive and pretty exterior but thats where our excitement ended. We were very confused and mistaken by the room rates as we were quoted the price over the phone when we booked and it turned out that the price was per night and not for the whole weekend. So our trip turned into a much more expensive weekend. We were very disappointed with our room, it was very outdated and was very basic for the money. When my husband phoned down for an ironing board he was sent down to a communal ironing room which was very humiliating. We often stay at four and five star hotels and would not put this hotel in the same class. The food served in the dinning room was the only saving grace but we were told that we would have to be seated at the edge as my husband wasn't wearing a dinner suit as he was wearing a shirt, jacket and smart jeans with smart shoes that wasn't the appropriate dress code for the restaurant. We often dine out at award winning restaurants and smart jeans are always acceptable at them.
In summary we will not be returning and the hotel is more suited to the retired cliental.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the Budock Vean Hotel.

Further to our recent correspondence I can confirm that our prices are quoted per person and the total cost of your stay was clearly illustrated in the booking confirmation letter which was posted to you at the time of booking and a copy of which was provided again.

Our dresscode policy is also clearly outlined at the time of booking, on the hotel’s website and in the booking confirmation. Feedback from our guests tells us that the majority of guests do like our dresscode.

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here in July, my second visit and my daughter's first. The weather was perfect so we were able to make use of the hot tub as well as the indoor pool.
It was only a one-night stay but we made use of the facilities during this time. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful without being 'in your face'. The owner introduced himself at dinner, which was a nice touch.
It does have a traditional feel at Budock Vean, as does Treglos it's 'sister' hotel. I like that. I am considerably younger than the majority of returning guests, and it is true to say most are over retirement age.
When we stayed there were many families with children with it being around the school summer holidays. Some parents did not seem to have much control over their children, to the point where I am not even sure where the parents were! My daughter commented on this as there were some 'rowdy' children in the pool (running and jumping in and not being very considerate to others in the pool at the time) who had no parent supervising them. This is however the fault of the parents and not the hotel.
My teenage daughter loved the hot tub and pool, and we had a lovely walk through the grounds.
During the height of summer the rooms do seem to suffer with the heat but we asked for a fan and were provided with one strait away.
My only criticism would be the cost, and perhaps why most of the returning guests do seem to be wealthy retired people, lucky them! As a treat once in a while though this hotel is definitely worth experiencing, if only to see what good old fashioned customer service should be. Something many modern hotels could learn from. We will be back again one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesster70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a positive review. We do hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I spent a long weekend at this long established very English hotel set in natural garden surroundings and a short stroll to the river.
I found the hotel rather stuffy and inflexible with dress rules for dinner and timings for meals etc.
The staff generally were less than customer friendly perhaps only hired for the season.
The room was spacious and well appointed but a bit old fashioned and over furnished.
Breakfast was excellent but dinner disappointing giving the impression that the large menu was too much to handle.my complaint about one dish was poorly handled.
On the plus side the environment is most relaxing .The guest are generally older - as indeed I am !
Overall my package was good value ( except I had to pay for dinner the night I ate elsewhere !) although on checking out I got the impression that they couldn't care less if I had stayed there or not!

Room Tip: First floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are very sorry to hear your negative comments regarding the service from our team. Customer service is usually an area in which we score most highly and I am sorry hear if this is not what you experienced. We do not employ temporary staff and in fact many have worked with us for a large number of years.

Likewise, we are sorry your dining experience was not up to standard. Again, an area we usually score most highly.

We certainly do hope you will visit the Budock Vean Hotel again and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your review directly if you would contact us on reception@budockvean.co.uk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The Budock Vean is set in a very quiet location in beautifully maintained grounds with a path running down to the Helford River. My partner and I have stayed at sister hotel, the Treglos, twice previously, and possibly because of this we were upgraded to a superior room. The room and bathroom were spacious, very clean, and we had a lovely view overlooking the very attractive golf course. The decor, however, was rather bland, and the room and bathroom are probably in need of updating. There were lots of lovely Elemis products in the bathroom for our use and the shower was excellent. The only real downside was the rather thin dividing wall between our room and the next. Our neighbour could snore for England!
The cooked breakfasts were excellent but we felt that the buffet was just not quite up to the standard of the Treglos, e.g there was only one bowl of fruit yoghurt rather than a selection of individual cartons of different flavours. The dinner menu is not extensive but there is a good, varied choice. The food was well presented and invariably delicious. Wines were also good, with average hotel prices. For us, the tie or jacket requirement for gentlemen makes for a 'civilised' dining experience! Unfortunately we didn't like the tea or coffee, but that's down to personal taste.
All staff were brilliant: cheerful, efficient, very hardworking and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble. Congratulations, management!
The swimming pool is larger than most small hotel pools: towels, robes and slippers were provided. I had a lovely pedicure and manicure in the spa - only one small chip after six days! Thank you, Sam. Although we are not golfers, we did purchase some clothing from the golf shop. Prices are not cheap but the range and quality of merchandise is excellent - almost made us want to take up golf!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosaindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Many thanks for reviewing the Budock Vean Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments regarding the team!

We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Booked for business as we needed somewhere close to Falmouth & Helston. Before booking checked out the website which looked fantastic, however unfortunately the hotel didn't quite match up as the interiors were rather dated.
Do not want to offend however I believe the hotel is set up for the older generation and couldn't imagine taking children ( jacket & ties for dinner!). Saying this the staff could not be more helpful and genuinely seemed to enjoy working there!
Breakfast was rather formal however fantastic!
In summary rather 'old school' country hotel...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Budock Vean Hotel. We have recently completed refurbishment of one of the hotel's lounges with more work planned for the coming months.

We do hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I booked this hotel solely for its convenient location for attending a friend's birthday party but it turned out to be somewhere I'd definitely like to stay at again - save for one small detail - which may not trouble, and may please, other readers - so do read on. I was upgraded free to an enormous, extremely comfortable double room overlooking the golf course. The grounds are extensive and truly beautiful, and lead down to the river - a really tranquil place for a short break. Glendurgan and Trebah are practically on the doorstep - walking distance if you don't mind a short road walk. Breakfast was good and I had a delicious beef sandwich via room service (delivered promptly too). The restaurant menu looked promising although I didn't eat dinner. The wine list looked perfectly acceptable and with a good range of prices. The downside of the restaurant (unfortunately a deal breaker for my husband so I won't be going back with him) was the insistence on a jacket or tie at dinner. Why do country hotels do this? We wear suits all week and don't want to wear them at weekends. The pool was larger than most hotel pools although it did not open until 8am and the shower facilities were rather limited - the river did not look appealing for bathing. The Budock Vean did not come across as family-friendly though (again - a good thing for some visitors), with restrictions on children using the pool/restaurant - suggest checking before you book.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room overlooking the golf course next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Budock Vean Hotel and we are delighted you enjoyed the majority of your stay.

We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with our jacket and tie policy. Your feedback is extremely important to us. We do ask guests to complete a questionnaire regarding their stay and whether there is anything we can do better. In the past 12 months 89% of people have answered to say they do like our jacket and tie policy. Of course, if this result changes we will respond accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawnan Smith
4.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,085 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,046 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.7 mi away
Meudon Hotel
Meudon Hotel
#9 of 23 in Falmouth
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budock Vean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budock Vean Hotel

Property: Budock Vean Hotel
Address: Budock Vean Lane | near Helford Passage, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Mawnan Smith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Budock Vean Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet bend of the tranquil Helford River nestles the award-winning 4 star Budock Vean Hotel. This family owned and run hotel is set in 65 acres of glorious gardens, woodlands and its own golf course - The Budock Vean is a sanctuary for rest and relaxation. With an AA Rosette restaurant renowned for amazing food, relaxing treatments in the Natural Health Spa, luxury self catering holiday homes, dog friendly cottages, tennis courts, kayaking and boat trips along the river, you can be as active or as relaxed as you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Budock Vean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budock Vean Falmouth
Budock Vean Hotel Mawnan Smith, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing