We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just gets better”
Review of Budock Vean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Budock Vean Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It just gets better”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have just returned from our annual friends and family get together at this wonderful hotel. As always, the staff were a joy; and nothing seems to be too much for them when it comes to ensuring that their guests enjoy their stay.
Martin Barlow (the owner) heads a most amazing team and is always on hand to help. His commitment to his hotel, his staff, and his clients is second to none.
The worst part of visiting the Budock Vean is having to leave.
Next year cannot come quick enough!!!

Room Tip: Ask Stuart (reception manager), but it will be hard to find a "bad" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Wow! We could not wish for a better review. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    152
    43
    14
    8
See reviews for
114
358
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Templecombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spent 5 nights here and couldn't have been happier. The service was fantastic and the food in the restaurant superb. The pre meal drink and nibbles were delightful and the breakfasts were first class with plenty of choice and cooked to perfection. The care everyone took with my elderly parents was wonderful and they were able to enjoy the peace and tranquillity of this delightful hotel to the full. I made use of the pool, sauna and jacuzzi and also had a couple of sessions in the Spa which was very relaxing. I had to bring the dog with me and she had a great time in the woodland area and was well looked after by the staff upstairs. They even gave me a dog mat and bowl. The rooms were very comfortable and the whole atmosphere was relaxing. I thoroughly recommend this hotel for its old fashioned attention to detail, its superb food and the quality of its service. The hotel was almost fully booked when we arrived and by the time we left it was fully booked - being fully booked mid November speaks volumes about the popularity of this hotel. We certainly met some very nice people while we were there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCheriton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are delighted you all had a wonderful time! We hope you will come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We don't travel light, so when we booked a 4 night stay, we had a car full of luggage. One of the tedious aspects of this is the possible long haul with your cases from the car park to your room. While checking in, we were introduced to James who politely instructed us to leave all of our bags in his care and that he would take them to our room for us. He escorted us to our room, explaining many of the Hotel's facilities en route. Having delivered us to our room, he set the WiFi on our iPads. Within what seemed seconds, James reappeared with our cases.

The room itself was large by hotel room standards and had three large windows with a lovely view down to the Helford River.It was well appointed and the bathroom was a good size, warm and the shower worked extremely well. The bed was enormous and very comfortable.

As for rest and tranquility, it didn't get much better. The only sound at night was that of Tawny Owls and in addition to that, due to the lack of light pollution, the night sky was amazing.

The restaurant deserves its AA Rosettes as every evening the menu was a culinary delight. As total 'Foodies', we enjoyed wonderful dishes every evening. The 'Boss' or Mo and her team really looked after us, making us feel thoroughly spoilt and cared for. Little touches such as the hot canapés served with pre-dinner drinks just made everything so special. The Pianist on three nights and the guitarist on another night, added even more value to the dining experience

The breakfasts were first class and cooked to perfection. Its so nice not to be rushed while on holiday and having enjoyed a superb 'Full English', you felt set up for the day.

The swimming pool was the perfect place for a little exercise. The pool was warm and had a log fire within the building adding additional warmth.

When we left we felt that this short break had been one of the best ever and the hotel did everything to make our stay enjoyable. We discounted the previous comments about areas being a little dated because in the general scheme of things, it mattered not one bit.

One final point. The lift must have been a grumpy old woman in a former life showing tendencies of obstinacy and unpredictability. After 2 days we learned to love these characteristics and a grudging relationship was formed.

Room Tip: Our room was number 41 on the top floor and has fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review.

We understand your comments regarding the lift. She is due a refurbishment over the next 12 months so will be less of a grumpy old woman very soon!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We returned again after 18 months and found pretty much what we expected. The setting is ideal with so much available on the doorstep. Food and service were excellent. Dinner provided us with a varied Menu, and at Breakfast there was a choice between Continental and/or cooked to order. Our room was well appointed, but the decor was a little tired and the bathroom adequate. The room was situated at the back of the premises and we were wakened by early morning ( approx 4 a.m. ) collections or deliveries? At the height of the Summer the room would have benefitted from air conditioning. This is a country hotel, not a modern high rise and the furnishings in the public areas reflect this. The 9 hole Golf Course is well maintained and the are excellent swimming pool, sauna, and spa facilities.

Room Tip: The superior rooms would appear to be more modern, and it would be wise to avoid the back of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 613DP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Budock Vean. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

We were made aware of early deliveries waking guests back in October. Feedback like this is extremely useful so we are able to make changes to ensure guest's stays are not compromised. As soon as this was brought to our attention early deliveries were stopped. We communicated personally with guests who had mentioned this to us, and the delivery company also contacted them directly with an apology.

We hope you will come back and stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just back from a two-day spa break at this wonderful location on the Helford River. We booked last minute and prices for the Runaway Retreat were so reasonable we expected something quite average saved by the scenery. We found instead a gem of a hotel with helpful and friendly staff, excellent food and spa therapists who really knew what they were doing. Certainly among the best treatments we've ever had - and we're experts! Yes, the atmosphere is a little old fashioned = certainly a perfect setting for an Agatha Christie - but we enjoyed dressing up for dinner after a coast walk, a good swim in the pool which looks out over the gardens and golf course, and a steam in the sauna and outdoor hot tub. The four course dinner was light enough for us to do it justice and our rooms were spotless, well decorated, spacious and very well serviced. We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. I will make sure the Spa team receive your glowing comments.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

If, sadly, you have never read of the exploits of Bertie Wooster and his gentleman's personal gentleman Jeeves written by the sublime P G Wodehouse then this will mean nothing to you.

Madam and I were in need of a break so a little rootling around unearthed a hotel in Cornwall on the River Helford with a swimming pool. A telephone call to the helpful Reception people secured a three day break with dinner, bed and breakfast and I was just about to pledge quantities of the green stuff when a respectful johnnie at the other said "You are required to wear a jacket and tie at dinner, sir". I don't mind telling you I was thrown for a moment. I mean to say one expects to dress for dinner in the home counties and Gloucestershire but in the Celtic fringe?
So I did what any red-blooded Englishman would do in the circs - I rang Jeeves. Of course he is no longer my man, having retired to a cottage in Tunbridge Wells but I still consult him on sartorial matters, what the well-dressed man about town is wearing etc.

" I hope I am not disturbing you, Jeeves" I said brightly. "Not at all,sir. It is my custom to read Wittgenstein's Tractatus Logico-Philosophicus at this time of the fore-noon but if I may be of assistance I will happily put that engaging work aside." I explained the posish and craved advice and volunteered that I had planned to wear a purple sweater and corduroy slacks. "The purple sweater would be ill-advised, sir" "But the lads in the Drones Club have asked me where I bought it, Jeeves" "Possibly so that they could avoid the emporium in question at all costs, sir" "Well I have a rather cheerful bright green bow tie" The shudder in Jeeves voice was almost palpable. "A conventional tie,sir, avoiding a Windsor knot, of a quiet shade, with a blazer or a heather mixture jacket would be acceptable should more formal attire not be required" "With the Old Etonian socks I bought a while ago, Jeeves?" "Most decidedly not,sir. You may recall that I gave them to the porter at the flats in 1970 just before your marriage to Mrs Wooster. Will that be all, sir?" "That will be all, thank you Jeeves. Most grateful and all that rot" "One endeavours to give satisfaction,sir"

Somewhat chastened I packed quantities of ties and subfusc and we tootled down to Cornwall in the four-seater. The hotel lay down a longish drive with hydrangeas still in bloom. Everything from then on was absolutely ooh jah cum spliff. Helpful johnnies positively clustered around whisking the baggages up to a very decent Room 51 which looked out over gardens of which Aunts Agatha at her most critical would approve. The staff all reminded me of good old Jeeves in a way which almost brought tears to my eyes. They were all so jolly helpful and unobtrusive and materialised at just the right moment.

Whilst madam took herself for a swim at the spa, which she pronounced very adequate, I donned waterproofs and boots and pottered down to the river which contained a good selection of local boats bobbing away: not anything the size of Aunt Dahlia's yacht, you understand, but jolly picturesque.

Then the sluicing and browsing commenced with a cream tea which set us up to mangle an excellent four course dinner. Waiters and waitresses all buzzed around jolly effectively and we were surprised to find that they were not from Eastern Europe working over here to get enough money to study for their second or third degree or what not but good sturdy locals. All the excellent fodder was also local. We were delighted to find that our fellow diners were of, shall we say mature years. The eighteen year granddaughter of some coves on a nearby table walked in and lowered the average age by decades and raised the average ladies' skirt height by several feet.

Gosh, nearly forgot to say that they have this thing called WiFi here. In the old days Jeeves would simply shimmer in with the odd telegram on a silver salver. So all jolly well up to date. In fact the whole experience was the cat's pyjamas.

Room Tip: The corner new block rooms are good as they have windows on two corners overlooking the gardens. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohanSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Budock Vean. We hope you will visit us again.

With very best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for a 2 night much needed break. We were upgraded to a superior room on arrival which was a pleasant surprise. However this was short lived when we found our room to be greeted with a very tired decor, a bathroom that provided a bath which should have been replaced a long time ago along with the sink due to damage to the enamel. The heated towel rail did not work, and the toilet did not flush adequately.
The bathroom had hairs on the floor from previous guests and the bedroom was quite dusty with the odd peanut thrown in for good measure under the dressing table!
The towels were far from a what you would expect for a 4 star hotel.
On the plus side the food at this hotel was excellent, although we found that the courses were delivered too quickly, we had 3 courses and on both evenings these were served and consumed within 45 minutes. The staff seemed to be intent on getting you in and out of the dining room as quickly as possible and the same was experienced at breakfast time.
We were very disappointed with this hotel as we have stayed at the sister hotel Treglos near Padstow and had a wonderful experience there and cannot wait to revist . Maybe the management should pay a visit to the Treglos Hotel to see how to get it right.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenfields_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Budock Vean and we are extremely disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We are particularly concerned that areas of bedroom cleanliness were not up to our usual standard. I would welcome the opportunity to talk with you direct to gain a better understanding of how we failed on this occasion. If you are willing to do this please drop me an email at management@budockvean.co.uk.

We are pleased you enjoyed the food and I will pass on your kind comments to the kitchen team.

We are also delighted that you enjoy staying at our sister hotel. We have just completed refurbishment of all three of our lounges. The lounges are only the start of a three year program of refurbishment including all our bedrooms and bathrooms.


We do hope you will consider paying us another visit, perhaps to one of our more modern bedrooms, to allow us an opportunity to provide you with a more positive experience at Budock Vean.

Kind regards

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawnan Smith
4.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,082 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
166 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.7 mi away
Meudon Hotel
Meudon Hotel
#10 of 23 in Falmouth
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budock Vean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budock Vean Hotel

Property: Budock Vean Hotel
Address: Budock Vean Lane | near Helford Passage, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Mawnan Smith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Budock Vean Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet bend of the tranquil Helford River nestles the award-winning 4 star Budock Vean Hotel. This family owned and run hotel is set in 65 acres of glorious gardens, woodlands and its own golf course - The Budock Vean is a sanctuary for rest and relaxation. With an AA Rosette restaurant renowned for amazing food, relaxing treatments in the Natural Health Spa, luxury self catering holiday homes, dog friendly cottages, tennis courts, kayaking and boat trips along the river, you can be as active or as relaxed as you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Budock Vean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budock Vean Falmouth
Budock Vean Hotel Mawnan Smith, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing