We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Spa Day”
Review of Budock Vean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budock Vean Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I booked a spa day with two treatments for myself and my husband on a holiday in cornwall, and from booking to the day it was faultless. We had a lovely lunch which was included in the package, and opted to spend a little more on wine to make the most of the day. I opted for the natural health spa salad which was perfect, light but a large portion, and my husband a sandwich with chips. The treatments were great, with both ladies very professional yet friendly, offering local knowledge and making us feel at home and welcome to use the facilities for the day. Definitely worthwhile if in the area, and the heated outdoor hot tub is a must in any weather!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your Spa Day. We are delighted you enjoyed your day and I have passed your kind comments through to the Spa team.

Please come back and visit us again soon! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

We had a lovely room looking out onto the golf course. The staff were without exception courteous, helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. The weather was awful but we have come home having thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food was the high point of this fab value winter offer. Four courses included and everything we chose was beautifully presented and scrumptious. The afternoon cream teas blew the diet straight out of the window! Breakfast was delicious and kept us going until tea. Just working out how we might return shortly!
Having read some of the previous reviews i think i would say that the hotel is gradually being refreshed and updated. We thought that the sitting and dining rooms/ bar were very comfortable and welcoming. Our room had a good view down to the estuary, was light and spacious. The bathroom all worked well. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well as lovely and quiet. Some of the furnishings show signs of wear however nothing that would stop us wanting to go back!

Room Tip: Oops, i didnt use fitness centre but cant undo the rating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Budock Vean. We are delighted you enjoyed your break.

Thank you also for your kind comments with regards to the newly refurbished lounges and cocktail bar we are really pleased with the way they are looking.

Please do come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had a lovely clean room and bathroom overlooking the golf course. We were spoilt. What a welcome. All the staff without exception were helpful and courteous. The meals were excellent and the best, in our opinion, was the buffet lunch on Christmas Day; the chefs are to be congratulated. If this hotel is buried in the past as one reviewer has said then please keep it buried!

Room Tip: We were in the bedrooms only "new" wing overlooking the golf course. Peaceful and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for spending Christmas with us and thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your festive break with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I don't know where the previous reviewer stayed. The room (49) was fantastic. We had a Christmas dinner on the Saturday night, and as a group we decided that it was the best Christmas party we have had in a long time.
The food was excellent, plates were piping hot. The dining room is well decorated. The "fake beams" are probably there from a refurbishment of thirty or forty years ago, but we still were wondering whether they were real or not. The prints certainly were not out of place. What does the previous reviewer want, Constables?
The dress code might be slightly old-fashioned, but I have no problems with it, as it lends a certain air of refinement.
The hotel is superb. The location is excellent, and how anyone can criticise the service, food or the ambience is strange.
We had great fun in the outdoor hot tub in the rain, wind and dark.
The golf course was very good (according to my colleagues). All in all the consensus is that all twenty of us want to return next year.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of the Budock Vean. We are delighted you enjoyed your party night and hope you will visit us again soon!

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Currently this hotel is still receiving very good reviews, principally due to the fact that most clients are past middle age. This also includes the writer but today most people expect better standards.

Their superior rooms are distinctly tired, not very clean, not good quality towels and shower curtains (ugh) in the baths.

The dress code, strictly enforced and not apologetically, of tie and jacket in the dining room in the evening makes no sense in today's world and especially in a tired Cornish hotel. In the Ritz one expects to dress so, but not in this very ordinary dining room comprising Artex, plastic lookalike timber beams and disgusting cheap prints of well known Cornish individuals, not to mention the well worn out cereal/fruit bowls used for breakfast.

To the owners I would say that all those persons, and there are many as I understand it from your staff, who are put out by your dress code rules are your clients of tomorrow. Upset them today and they will not return and" tomorrow" you will need them. Take note!

I see you have "contemporised" one little-used public room. It looks good but remember your clients, whilst in your hotel, probably spend 65% of their time in the bedroom, 25% in your dining room and the rest in other public areas.I suggest your priorities might need looking at again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank peterthelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Budock Vean and we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.
We are extremely concerned that you mentioned your room was not clean. This is an area in which we normally score most highly so we would welcome an opportunity to talk with you directly to understand how we failed on this occasion so this can be addressed. It would be extremely useful if you could drop me an email on management@budockvean.co.uk so we can communicate direct.
We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with our jacket and tie policy. Your feedback is extremely important to us. We do ask guests to complete a questionnaire regarding their stay and whether there is anything we can do better. In the past 12 months 89% of people have answered to say they do like our jacket and tie policy. Of course, if this result changes we will respond accordingly.

We have now completed refurbishment of all three lounges. Work will commence in the Cocktail bar in January. Some of our bedrooms are more traditional than others. We do hope you will give us another try and allow us an opportunity to show you rooms that may suit your personal taste better.

The lounges are only the start of a three year program of refurbishment including all our bedrooms and bathrooms.

Kind regards

Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have just returned from our annual friends and family get together at this wonderful hotel. As always, the staff were a joy; and nothing seems to be too much for them when it comes to ensuring that their guests enjoy their stay.
Martin Barlow (the owner) heads a most amazing team and is always on hand to help. His commitment to his hotel, his staff, and his clients is second to none.
The worst part of visiting the Budock Vean is having to leave.
Next year cannot come quick enough!!!

Room Tip: Ask Stuart (reception manager), but it will be hard to find a "bad" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Wow! We could not wish for a better review. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spent 5 nights here and couldn't have been happier. The service was fantastic and the food in the restaurant superb. The pre meal drink and nibbles were delightful and the breakfasts were first class with plenty of choice and cooked to perfection. The care everyone took with my elderly parents was wonderful and they were able to enjoy the peace and tranquillity of this delightful hotel to the full. I made use of the pool, sauna and jacuzzi and also had a couple of sessions in the Spa which was very relaxing. I had to bring the dog with me and she had a great time in the woodland area and was well looked after by the staff upstairs. They even gave me a dog mat and bowl. The rooms were very comfortable and the whole atmosphere was relaxing. I thoroughly recommend this hotel for its old fashioned attention to detail, its superb food and the quality of its service. The hotel was almost fully booked when we arrived and by the time we left it was fully booked - being fully booked mid November speaks volumes about the popularity of this hotel. We certainly met some very nice people while we were there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCheriton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are delighted you all had a wonderful time! We hope you will come back to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawnan Smith
4.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,180 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
207 reviews
8.3 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,118 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meudon Hotel
Meudon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Falmouth
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budock Vean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budock Vean Hotel

Address: Helford Passage, Mawnan Smith, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Mawnan Smith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Price Range: £115 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Budock Vean Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet bend of the tranquil Helford River nestles the award-winning 4 star Budock Vean Hotel. This family owned and run hotel is set in 65 acres of glorious gardens, woodlands and its own golf course - The Budock Vean is a sanctuary for rest and relaxation. With an AA Rosette restaurant renowned for amazing food, relaxing treatments in the Natural Health Spa, luxury self catering holiday homes, dog friendly cottages, tennis courts, kayaking and boat trips along the river, you can be as active or as relaxed as you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Budock Vean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budock Vean Falmouth
Budock Vean Hotel Mawnan Smith, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing