We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friends relaxing swim/hot tub!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Budock Vean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budock Vean Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“friends relaxing swim/hot tub!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very dissappointing. We went for a relaxing swim/ hot tub/ sauna/ lunch as a group of friends. I couldnt believe my eyes when I began to swim. There were clumps of mould floating in the pool. Surely this is a health risk??. None of us could bear to stay in the pool. It was disgusting. Lunch was ok but rather a long wait, with soup cold by the time it arrived and no condiments brought to the table. At least the restaurant staff had the grace and manners to appologise and offer compensation, which is more than could be said for the cleaner or reception staff. When we informed them about the mould in the pool they got on the phone to someone else but did not appologise and nothing was done about the mould. Lets hope it wasnt legionairs!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swampdog_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your day with us.

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed. We have investigated your issues fully.

Unfortunately, during the morning of your visit we had some routine work carried out by an electrician which meant some lights were removed. As the lights were removed some mess was created. This is what you refer to as 'mould' but I can confirm this is not the case. This mess was cleared from the pool as soon as it was brought to our attention. Our pool cleanliness standards are of top most importance. The pool is kept clean and checked at regular intervals as well as chlorine level checks which are logged. I can assure you there was no health risk as the pool would have been closed immediately.

We are very sorry if this distracted from the enjoyment of your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    148
    43
    13
    8
See reviews for
112
345
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Relaxing friendly hotel with lovely food and very attentive staff, good 9 hole golf course and walks to the Helford river. Weather wasn't good but still didn't find time for the pool or outdoor hot hub etc (also, very nice to see that the winelist caters for all budgets and doesn't START at a high price)

Room Tip: We didnt find time to use the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190802Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed a relaxing break at the Budock Vean Hotel. Thank you for writing us such a kind review.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

My sister-in-law and I enjoyed a wonderful, relaxing Pamper Day at your hotel yesterday. The staff were friendly but professional and the light lunch was wonderful. The only problem we encountered was that the only changing area for the day was the very small toilet in the pool area which was very hot and cramped when we had to share with another couple of ladies and offered us no privacy whatsoever. It would have been nice to have had a small but private cubicle for our personal use for the day. Maybe the hotel could give this some thought.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandSam544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Many thanks for reviewing your Pamper Day. The changing rooms are within our refurbishment plans for the near future.

We do hope you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backwell Bristol
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have just visited this Hotel. This was our first visit and our only regrets were that the stay should have been longer and, sadly, we were not blessed with good weather. However, these factors did not detract from our enjoyment. We had a very spacious room with lovely views over the Hotel's own golf course, which a number of other guests told me was very good. We were allocated our own table in the very pleasant restaurant for our stay, which we thought was a nice touch and the quality and choice of food both at breakfast and dinner were outstanding, as was the cooking. The level and speed of service provided in the restaurant were also excellent. We also much enjoyed the high quality of the music provided by a classical guitarist on the first night and a pianist on second one.

Despite the indifferent weather, we much enjoyed our afternoon stroll through the lovely gardens of the Hotel down to its own summerhouse by the Helford River.This was a delightful spot.

We certainly have every intention of repeating our visit in the very near future.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Those rooms looking over the golf course like ours. We only had a standard room, which was perfectly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiffyBackwellBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you! What a glowing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wembury
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I would have rated this hotel "excellent" but for two reasons (1) the stairs to the bedrooms. There was a lift but to use it still necessitated negotiating a short staircase (2) the bedroom was dated. There was no safe and the shower was in the bath which I consider to be hazardous. I like a separate cubicle.

The dress code actually states jacket or tie although most men wore both. I don't mind a jacket but do not wear a tie on holiday. One of the men managed to look very scruffy despite complying with the code and there were two ladies who were badly dressed.

I would stay again for the location, the food, the service and the ambience but would want a room on the ground floor which would rule out having a superior room.

Unfortunately I did not have time to use the spa. The swimming pool was excellent.

Room Tip: Ou room on the top floor are a problem due to the steep staircases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seascape20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your break.

Unfortunately, we do not have any ground floor bedrooms. However, the lift can be accessed from the ground floor entrance situated near our disabled parking space. While the majority of our rooms do have a shower fitted over a bath we do have a standard room with a separate shower cubicle and a superior room with a bathroom adapted for guests with mobility problems which includes a walk-in/roll-in shower.

We do hope you will stay with us again and our Reception team will be happy to recommend a bedroom to suit your individual needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed for a week. The service was excellent and the place was spotless. I am surprised by previous reviewers not liking the décor in the rooms. Our rooms were well decorated and spacious. The food was excellent. A real effort had been made to cater for veggies. I did get bored with the veggie options after about 5 days but the chef then cooked me veggie specials instead. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It was excellent value for money. And my breakfast was very hot so I don't understand the comment of a previous reviewer. Kayaking was on offer as was tennis coaching, both of which were excellent. The kayaking was the best way of seeing the local scenery. I learnt an enormous amount in one hour's worth of tennis coaching. The staff were helpful and polite but not over-familiar. I will stay here again. I would have preferred no children in the spa because I prefer adult environments. Also, those children which were in the pool were not guests at the hotel which made their presence more irritating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TotallyMadH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Budock Vean Hotel. We couldn't ask for a better review!

We do hope you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wonderful bridemaids booked this as a surprise and it was amazing! The Spa was so relaxing, food was amazing and everyone was so friendly. My treatment was amazing and the day was very reasonably priced. There is alot of space to lounge around and enjoy the beautiful views. The only small criticism was the children who were running around and being very ill behaved. This is more down to their parents, although I did see a sign saying children weren't allowed in there between the hours of 10-3 but no one was around to enfoce this. Overall an excellant time thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for reviewing your hen party pamper in the Natural Health Spa. I will ensure the Spa team are passed your very kind comments.

We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with young children in the swimming pool.

As you say, we do have restricted swimming times (for children under the age of 11) but children of any age are welcome to swim between the hours of 10am and 5pm with parental supervision.

We do hope you will come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawnan Smith
4.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budock Vean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budock Vean Hotel

Property: Budock Vean Hotel
Address: Budock Vean Lane | near Helford Passage, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5LG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Mawnan Smith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Budock Vean Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet bend of the tranquil Helford River nestles the award-winning 4 star Budock Vean Hotel. This family owned and run hotel is set in 65 acres of glorious gardens, woodlands and its own golf course - The Budock Vean is a sanctuary for rest and relaxation. With an AA Rosette restaurant renowned for amazing food, relaxing treatments in the Natural Health Spa, luxury self catering holiday homes, dog friendly cottages, tennis courts, kayaking and boat trips along the river, you can be as active or as relaxed as you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Budock Vean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budock Vean Falmouth
Budock Vean Hotel Mawnan Smith, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing