We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb! ”
Review of Budock Vean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budock Vean Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Superb food, fantastic location and a great find! Love the little touches, thank you very much for our Wedding Anniversary card. A must see hotel! Tranquil, (again) superb food, friendly and very reasonably priced. See you again next year!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ogwell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We are so glad you celebrated your special occasion with us. Congratulations again and a big thank you for this kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just had a fantastic hot stone massage. It was wonderful.This week I have had two other treatments both of which were very good.

I have been on a well organised Golf and Bridge break.It included both couples and friends.The food was excellent particularly the fish. The room was large with excellent with wifi hence the review.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I will pass your comments on to the Spa team.

I hope you will visit us again soon? Perhaps the next Bridge and Golf week in October?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Have just returned from a three day break at Budock Vean. The stars of the show are definitely the staff who were unfailingly helpful, friendly and anticipated your every need. The food was excellent at dinner with well cooked good quality local ingredients. The breakfasts were generally fine although warm croissants would have been appreciated and better quality toast. The fruit juices were definitely not freshly squeezed.
The bedrooms and bathrooms definitely could do with updating and had a tired look.Would have appreciated a fridge with fresh milk rather than UHT and better quality towels. Overall a very pleasant stay in a gorgeous location. We took full advantage of the local walks and proximity to the Helford River. Our friends enjoyed the swimming pool and hot tub. We usually stay in Wolsey Lodges which have more characterful rooms, better eqipped bedrooms and bathrooms and cost about the same so we felt the hotel lacked individuality and needed updating.

Room Tip: Superior rooms overloook the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ca922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

First and foremost I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. I will make sure the team are made aware of your very kind review.

I hope you have seen the recent photos we have posted which show the bedroom refurbishments. We do hope this will entice you to come back for another visit.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was just what we needed. My wife and I had both, ironically, spent some time in hospital two weeks before, and had already booked a break, with my elderly mother, at Budock Vean. I noticed some of the poor reviews, and the majority of good reviews. We were actually attracted by the hotels policy towards children in having separate dining times (we have four lovely grandchildren but wanted to just relax in adult company). It was also nice to have the opportunity to dine with jacket and tie along with others, ok, maybe in this day and age a bit outdated but something we valued and matched the high standard of the dining experience. There were a lot of staff and ALL very helpful. Are the rooms a bit tired?. Well they weren't ultra modern but that added to the ambience I felt. We were upgraded to the superior rooms overlooking the gardens, sure, the shower could have been a bit more modern but it provided hot water and was adequate. The rest of the room was very comfortable and, in fact, felt in tune with the age of the hotel in a positive way. I believe some of the rooms will be upgraded this year and I hope it is done tastefully and does not adversely affect the ambience of the hotel. Only slight down side was that the eco friendly nature of the hotel included a woodchip burning furnace which did blow smoke over the patio area if the wind was in the wrong direction. Oh, the dog was also welcomed (obviously not in the public areas!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dween0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your super review. We do hope you will come and see us for another relaxing break soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I spent 2 nights and I was lucky enough to be upgraded from a standard single to what I think must have been a superior room with a huge bed that was very comfortable. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and dinner on both nights was delicious. I will definitely be going back, if only to have the cream tea again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you so much for writing us such a lovely review. We do hope you will be back to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have just returned from a really relaxing weekend with friends. My husband and I gave the weekend to each other as a birthday treat and having stayed previously, some years ago, we weren't sure if our visit would live up to our memories of the place. It did - lovely accommodation, delicious food and extremely pleasant staff. The only thing to complain about was the weather, but the hotel could hardly intervene on that score!

It is a very long journey from the Midlands, but would that put us off? No, we'll just take a longer break next time.

Room Tip: The superior rooms have better views of the golf course and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We do hope you will be back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very dissappointing. We went for a relaxing swim/ hot tub/ sauna/ lunch as a group of friends. I couldnt believe my eyes when I began to swim. There were clumps of mould floating in the pool. Surely this is a health risk??. None of us could bear to stay in the pool. It was disgusting. Lunch was ok but rather a long wait, with soup cold by the time it arrived and no condiments brought to the table. At least the restaurant staff had the grace and manners to appologise and offer compensation, which is more than could be said for the cleaner or reception staff. When we informed them about the mould in the pool they got on the phone to someone else but did not appologise and nothing was done about the mould. Lets hope it wasnt legionairs!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swampdog_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your day with us.

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed. We have investigated your issues fully.

Unfortunately, during the morning of your visit we had some routine work carried out by an electrician which meant some lights were removed. As the lights were removed some mess was created. This is what you refer to as 'mould' but I can confirm this is not the case. This mess was cleared from the pool as soon as it was brought to our attention. Our pool cleanliness standards are of top most importance. The pool is kept clean and checked at regular intervals as well as chlorine level checks which are logged. I can assure you there was no health risk as the pool would have been closed immediately.

We are very sorry if this distracted from the enjoyment of your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawnan Smith
4.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,206 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,132 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
650 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meudon Hotel
Meudon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Falmouth
249 reviews
3.5 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budock Vean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budock Vean Hotel

Address: Helford Passage, Mawnan Smith | Helford Passage, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Mawnan Smith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Price Range: £113 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Budock Vean Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet bend of the tranquil Helford River nestles the award-winning 4 star Budock Vean Hotel. This family owned and run hotel is set in 65 acres of glorious gardens, woodlands and its own golf course - The Budock Vean is a sanctuary for rest and relaxation. With an AA Rosette restaurant renowned for amazing food, relaxing treatments in the Natural Health Spa, luxury self catering holiday homes, dog friendly cottages, tennis courts, kayaking and boat trips along the river, you can be as active or as relaxed as you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Budock Vean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budock Vean Falmouth
Budock Vean Hotel Mawnan Smith, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing