We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break at the Budock Vean Hotel, Helford”
Review of Budock Vean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budock Vean Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 July 2014

If you are looking for total relaxation and sheer luxury in lovely surroundings then this is the hotel for you. We had a suite overlooking the valley and golf course and access to all the amenities on offer. Expensive but worth every penny - and you cant often say that!
Criticism? Only very slight. Asked for poached eggs for breakfast one morning and received one solitary egg on a tiny square of toast. Waitress argued that I should have specified how many I wanted, instead of apologising and putting right!!!! But that was the only (tiny) flaw in what was otherwise a superb fine dining experience overall.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Budock Vean Hotel and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We are disappointed to hear breakfast may not have been up to our usual high quality of customer service on one occasion and for this we apologise. We have discussed this further with the team and will ensure this is addressed.

Thank you so much for the five star rating. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
There are newer reviews for Budock Vean Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Extremely comfortable hotel in beautiful surroundings, superbly run by the Barlow family. Excellent food, helpful staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. We visit whenever we can and are pleased to recommend the hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: We have stayed in many different rooms, all of them highly satisfactory.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

What a fabulous review! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. I will make sure your kind comments are passed on to the whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is our second stay with Budock Vean and apart from a couple of issues, this has got to be one of the best places we have stayed. We were due to stay in Badgers Cottage (again) but people asked to extend their stay (who were already in Badgers) and we got a very nice phone call from Stuart who explained that we would be upgraded to three bedroom cottage of Beavers Lodge. One we were happy to take as had previously asked for the 3 bedroom and got told that it was fully booked at that time. On entering Beavers Lodge you are hit by the spacious rooms and overall space of the cottage (wonderful), however, what we did not expect was the noise from the neighbouring cottage (Beavers Dam)or should I say the people who were staying there, me & my husband were woken the first morning at 6.00am by the tv of next door and not only that they didn't just talk at each other they thought it necessary to shout at each other!(we were in the back bedroom & largest) not a good start BUT they seemed to have left that morning- hoorah - not for long, a family were in next with we don't know how many kids, but they were noisier! We went on the 12th July and the reason for this is to avoid "kiddies" but to no avail, will put a complaint in next time if it gets unbearable.
Also, as we arrived it was sweltering ( about 30 degrees) and for some reason the heating was on in the cottage so you can imagine the heat was ridiculous! Thank goodness my husband was able to turn the heating off!
The other issue is the room our daughter stayed in had very noisy pipes that continually banged, so beware.
On the good side the staff, the food (we sent for room service a few times) and the amenities at this place are superb, so apart from noisy people we have booked again for next year and chose a different cottage, hence for us this year not quite 5 stars - last years was a 5 star stay and we are hoping next year to be a 5 star stay :-)
We always bring my mum and our little dog - and again our daughter, who really enjoy their stay here.
We did mention above to the reception and they were very nice about it.
Last words.....we do really luv it here.

Room Tip: Just be aware if you are staying in Beavers Lodge or Beavers Dam, noise travels through the walls a...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anglosaxeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Beavers Lodge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the upgrade but so sorry to hear you were disturbed by guests in the neighbouring cottage during your stay.

We are also sorry to hear the heating was on. This most certainly should not have happened and we have put strict procedures in place to double check the heating has not been tampered with before a guest checks in.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is our third visit and another thoroughly enjoyable one, we have already booked our fourth visit. Budock Vean Hotel is set in a fabulous location and in idyllic grounds with easy access to the lovely coast path which takes you to Maenporth and Falmouth. All staff are polite, friendly and helpful - nothing being too much trouble. Pre-dinner drinks and canapés are a welcome start to the evening and the restaurant is a particular joy with either a pianist or classical guitarist playing each evening while guests enjoy their meals. The dress code in the restaurant, might to some seem excessive, smart wearing jacket and tie. However it is essential that this dress code be maintained, to relax this rule would encourage those who prefer to adopt the jeans and T shirt dress code, to lower standards to an unacceptable level. Another plus is the health spa with good variety of treatments and helpful staff. The only negative comments would be that the rooms while comfortable are in need of updating as is the jacuzzi, lounger cushions and some aspects of the pool area. All in all a lovely hotel and holiday location.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the newer wing in preference for the older rooms
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you so much for coming back and staying with us at the Budock Vean Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed most aspects of your stay.

We have started refurbishing bedrooms which may be better suited to you for future stays.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Worth pointing out up front that we didn't book this hotel ourselves - we were appearing in a TV programme and it was booked by the film crew. However, we extended our visit either side of the shooting schedule. The location is amazing, with mature gardens heading down to the creek. The grounds of the hotel were spectacular, with a very manicured golf course (we don't play golf) flowing through the trees. We heard the spa/pool were nice although we didn't have time to experience them ourselves. Staff were generally lovely, especially at reception and behind the bar. Now on to the issues .... Our room was a good size but pretty tired. Comfortable bed but old fixtures and fittings, especially in the bathroom. Corridors were a bit grim, with loud carpets, Artex walls and fairly naff prints all along them. The jacket or tie evening dress code was pretty archaic, especially as there wasn't a more relaxed area for more casual dining or even having a quiet drink. The clientele were generally of a certain age, who fitted nicely into this atmosphere in their blazers and slacks, but it alienated younger or more casual guests. Our first breakfast didn't start off very well - there was a mix up over our table (yes, you get allocated tables like an old fashioned B&B!) and rather than just seat us and sort the problem out later, they made us wait until the formidable supervisor could be found and permission to sit at a different table sought. On our penultimate breakfast, they completely missed off my order amongst the 5 at our table and as we had to head off at a certain time, I had to make do with cold toast! On another later breakfast, they began clearing up around us, which made us feel very unwelcome. They were selling plants from their nursery and it took us 3 or 4 goes to get someone to sort them out for us. Overall it felt that the place was being run to a very rigid routine and heaven help the guest who get in the way. It has the potential to be an amazing and unique hotel but it will need investment and a sharp improvement in customer service. Otherwise, it will gently fade away ......

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We do appreciate constructive feedback and react wherever possible.
We have now completed refurbishment of all three public lounges, cocktail bar, conservatory and a number of bedrooms. Some of our bedrooms are more traditional than others so it would have been nice to have had an opportunity to show you one of the recently refurbished bedrooms during your stay. Corridors are also on the refurbishment list for the future.

We are also sorry to hear you were unhappy with our jacket or tie policy. Guest feedback is extremely important to us. We do ask guests to complete a questionnaire regarding their stay and whether there is anything we can do better. In the past 12 months 93% of people have answered to say they do like our jacket or tie policy and, in fact, this has been relaxed slightly in the past 6 months (previously a jacket and tie was required). Of course, if feedback changes we will respond accordingly.

We were aware of the problems during breakfast service and we can only apologise again. Customer Service is usually an area we score most highly so it is very disappointing to hear we fell short on this occasion.

We do hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This Hotel must be in one of the most beautiful parts of the country with lovely gardens leading down to its own beach on the Helford River. The Hotel is looking a little tired and there is obviously a plan of refurbishment as we discovered by the noise in the adjacent room. The hotel was not fully booked so I was surprised that they chose to give us the room they did. The food was excellent and the staff were all keen to please.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room away from building work
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Planetfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are terribly sorry to hear you were disturbed by noise from our bedroom refurbishment in the next room.
We do avoid placing guests in rooms which may be disturbed by noise, but, without knowing exactly when you stayed it is difficult to comment on this precisely. I would be grateful if you would email me on management@budockvean.co.uk so we can talk directly and I can try and understand how we failed on this occasion.

Kind regards

Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

A wonderful setting, a splendid room, outstanding food.
Only a few snags: meal times are a bit too strict - on July 14th 2014 we were denied an afternoon tea because we were six minutes late, after 10 am in the morning you may feel being rushed out of the breakfast room. There is not much choice for breakfast. Also, the elevator in the 'new' wing is rather an instrument to test your endurance and patience than a tool to bring you to a different floor.
But all these items are meaningless, because the hotel is very very comfortable, well run and prices are a bargain.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dermatologist55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudockVeanHotel, Manager at Budock Vean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Budock Vean Hotel. We do appreciate constructive feedback and react wherever possible.
We are extremely disappointed to hear you were denied Afternoon tea only 6 minutes past the serving time. This is not acceptable and we would like to reassure you we have investigated this further and will ensure this is not repeated. Likewise, sorry to hear you felt rushed during breakfast. Again, we have discussed this further as team and will ensure this is addressed.
The lift has been booked in for a refurbishment so we do hope this will be resolved by your next stay.

Overall, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed most elements of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawnan Smith
4.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,162 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
1,113 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
602 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,580 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meudon Hotel
Meudon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Falmouth
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budock Vean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budock Vean Hotel

Address: Helford Passage, Mawnan Smith, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Mawnan Smith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Price Range: £123 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Budock Vean Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet bend of the tranquil Helford River nestles the award-winning 4 star Budock Vean Hotel. This family owned and run hotel is set in 65 acres of glorious gardens, woodlands and its own golf course - The Budock Vean is a sanctuary for rest and relaxation. With an AA Rosette restaurant renowned for amazing food, relaxing treatments in the Natural Health Spa, luxury self catering holiday homes, dog friendly cottages, tennis courts, kayaking and boat trips along the river, you can be as active or as relaxed as you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Budock Vean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budock Vean Falmouth
Budock Vean Hotel Mawnan Smith, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing