We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic (as usual)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Giuseppe's - CLOSED

Giuseppe's
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic (as usual)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

I was born in Durgan and brought up in Mawnan Smith before there was a Restaurant there!
I have a long association with Guiseppe, his Wife and their family.

I have never yet been disappointed on the numerous occasions that I have visited the restaurant.
Tonight was no exeption!
From the personal welcome when we turn up - to paying the bill as we leave is, as always, a very pleasant experience.

The service was pleasant, efficient and, above all, not rushed.
The food was, as always, excellent. Cooked to our liking. The Crab Soup is 'to die for'! ;-)

I was reading a previous reviewer's comments on the actual establishment. I realise it's not a 'character', 'themed' dining room, but the overall atmosphere, friendly service and definitely the excellent food more than makes up for that (in my opinion) :-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    6
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Giuseppe's has a very good reputation locally, so I was glad that he has recently started to serve Sunday lunches, particularly as it coincided with my Mum's 90th birthday!
The choice was wonderful, but we decided to go for the two courses as we thought three would just be a bit too much! Just as well, as the helpings were very generous. The slow-roasted pork melted in your mouth, and the crackling was amazing! Served with beautiful vegetables and followed by a lovely Tiramsu, coffee and ameretto biscuit! Divine!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lulubellcornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gastronomic highpoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Local friends recommended we should visit Guiseppes during our weekend break in Cornwall – we’re so pleased they did. We had been told, “Go for the fish” and a result we enjoyed a really first class dinner of the freshest sea bass grilled to perfection, sweet and moist, accompanied by an excellent selection of vegetables and the entire meal sourced locally - I know, because I asked Guiseppe! And the puds? Simply brilliant. All supported by a extensive and not expensive, wine list
Friendly and efficient service, the empty plates were not allowed to linger and something I value highly – large white linen table napkins! No nasty, mean, paper squares. The atmosphere was Italian and the eclectic art on display (supporting local artists) tempts one to get up and have a closer look – happily we were almost the last to leave and could wander freely. A delightful experience and a totally unexpected find in little Mawnan Smith in rural Cornwall. We have only one regret – our Sunday was spoken for otherwise I’m sure we would have been back for his Sunday lunch and thus completing a gastronomic weekend of the highest quality. All in all, Guiseppe’s sets a standard of food and service by which others should be judged.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Randsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner love eating out we found this place by chance and absolutely loved it from our first visit I love going here you get a lovely warm welcoming atmosphere, the food is gorgeous I definitely recommend the tiramisu I get it everytime I go its like nothing iv had before, everything is home cooked and you can really tell can't wait for my next visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nads90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

I am not sure why the 5 other reviews are giving praise to this awful restaurant, its still in a time warp...... there is no atmosphere in the place,the decor is tired, and the food served up is like school dinners, and the art work on the walls, looks as thought it should be in primery school room its awful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I hate giving negative reviews but this place deserves one,also beware there is limited parking, if you ever wanted to try this place, my apologies to the owner, but you need to geta grip, and stay in the kitchen,

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jack1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giuseppe's also viewed

Mawnan Smith, Falmouth
Mawnan Smith, Falmouth
 
Mawnan Smith, Falmouth
Mawnan Smith, Falmouth
 
Mawnan Smith, Falmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing