We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect family holiday with new baby and dog”
Review of Trelawne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trelawne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect family holiday with new baby and dog”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We found the Trelawne hotel through Trip advisor and were not disappointed. We went with our Son and Daughter-in-law, their new baby 4 weeks old and a lively Labrador retriever. Had four wonderful days and nights at the Hotel. we had dinner there every night which was delicious and there was a change in menu every night. On the night of our arrival the baby had troubles settling room service was provided. There was a full English breakfast included with our rooms. The service was excellent the owner even walked with the baby so my daughter in law could eat her dinner. It was close to the Cornish coastal trail, we were able to take the dog on long walks by the sea. We visited some wonderful gardens close by.
In conclusion I would heartily recommend this very comfortable family hotel.

Room Tip: Sea side rooms are definitely worth the extra cost, however my husband and I had the country view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    61
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
53
220
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Trelawne before and it never disappoints. Friendly helpful staff where nothing is too much trouble. Emily ,Paul and their staff made sure our stay was as comfortable and enjoyable as always. The cleanliness of this hotel is amazing considering dogs are allow. (we have a boxer who loves his holiday here). They welcome him as they do us. The restaurant is lovely well organised and you keep the same table for your stay so no musical tables at breakfast. The quality of the food is excellent along with the choice as menus change daily, breakfast is excellent also with a wide selection and homemade marmalade (yum). Keep up the good work Trelawne - in all a lovely allround experience - some obviously don't know a good thing when they experience it. We will be back again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlettseorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We picked this hotel because we were told it is a dog friendly hotel. Ours is a small dog (the sort you can carry), and we paid an additional £7 per night (exclusive of food - as stated in the booking!). We were, therefore, surprised to arrive and read instructions in the room that said dogs were not allowed in public rooms, nor should they be left alone in the room. Which begs the question - how does one get to eat breakfast?! Apparently, you put them in your car! I think that speaks volumes for how 'dog friendly' the hotel really is.
Dogs must be kept on a lead - perfectly reasonable - unless its one of the owner's dogs, which run freely in the garden and disturb you (and your dog, on a lead) while trying to relax looking at the distant sea view.
There is a comfort menu for those not wishing to eat in the restaurant. We were told it is available every evening. Interestingly, our friends who were staying were told "Not tonight as I'm on my own". So again, quite how you're supposed to eat if you have a dog, is anyone's guess (we had to take shifts at breakfast!).
Talking of breakfast, I enjoyed mine. Though I am still waiting for the HP sauce I requested - twice - and didn't especially enjoy being moved from the table I sat down at because, apparently, tables are pre-allocated by room number and there is no choice where you sit. If someone had greeted me when I arrived in the dining room and explained, we could have avoided a rather unpleasant ticking off!
I have seen some of the owner's responses to previous reviews. For the record, the decor is dated and the beds are not firm. I don't buy that it is a country house decor - it is more like a local authority nursing home circa 1987. Our bathroom had pink bath and toilet / sink - I've never stayed in a country house which boasted such decor! And the pillows defied any attempt to plump them up - thin and cheap.
We paid £55 per person per night for three nights, plus an additional £7 per night for the dog. We will be returning to Cornwall, but sadly not to this hotel. It's too much like staying at Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liberaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trelawne, Owner at Trelawne Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We have so many lovely people and dogs who return several times a year without an issue.
Dogs would not be allowed in any hotel to bark or damage the bedroom. I do not know of any hotel where dogs are allowed in the restaurant. There is a sun-lounge area where dogs are allowed. The bar lounge area is where we serve the comfort menu so we believe for the comfort of everyone dogs should not be permitted. This is usually respected by our lovely responsible dog owners. Finally we have not served anyone breakfast in 'shifts' or refused the comfort menu which is available each night. We believe that reviews should remain factual and not vindictive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We chose this hotel as we thought it would be ideal; unfortunately it was disappointing. Our bed was well past it - lumpy with gapping hollows left us with bad back aches. The noise of ball games and children running above us every evening was distracting and annoying. The sea view at a distance was lovely. Getting to a beach meant going onto a road with no space for pedestrians - unsafe for children or pets. The breakfast was very good indeed, however the evening meal was poor: rubbery steak and soggy mash wasn't really good value for money. Tea, biscuits were not replaced by the cleaner.
On our first morning the waitress told us that guests normally keep dogs in their cars during breakfast - as they charged for his stay we found this nonsense especially with a quiet pet. We stay at hotels often in UK and abroad. My Fiance also travels on business often. As seasoned holiday makers we had a wonderful time in Cornwall. However we like to feel welcome and comfortable so for this reason we wouldn't recommend this hotel. Winner Family

Room Tip: Check the bed first to avoid a bad back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Winner736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trelawne, Owner at Trelawne Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. We are very dog friendly here at Trelawne, however you dog was left unattended in your room, to be left barking profusely, howling and scratching at the door. This sort of behaviour would not be accepted in any hotel. Despite being assured that your dog was 'quiet' and fine alone we received complaints from guests trying to relax to the sound of your distressed dog. It is our policy here that dogs are not left alone to bark and disturb other paying guests, as all our other families with dogs fully respect and understand. We were quite gob-smacked by your attitude to other guests comfort and disregard for the room itself. We have lot's of dogs staying with us and never have an issue.
The bed in your room was in fact purchased last year and is an orthopaedic mattress, especially requested by guests with back problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed at the hotel for six nights four in a sea view room and two in the country view. First impression was very good the smell of fresh flowers and very clean everywhere. We were met at the door by Emily and checked in and shown to our room by Mr Gibbons the owner who showed us where everything was and how it worked. The sea view room was excellent huge bed and a great bathroom which looked like it had not long been refurbished, yes the decor is dated but its in keeping with the country house hotel look.The country room was smaller with a standard double bed, an over the bath shower and a view of the car park. So I would recommend the sea view if you can get one. The only improvement that ccould be made is to renew the kettles, both rooms the kettle had yellowed and didn't look very appealing, also the hairdriers are not up to the job just small travel ones so ladies bring your own. The hairdrier in our room was broken but to the hotels credit it was replaced that day with a new one.
We only ate in the restaurant for one night and the food and service was excellent but a little pricey. The breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice and all freshly cooked. Not the hotels fault but some guests were using their laptops on the breakfast table with the various noises that a laptopst make try the mute button and be more considerate to other guests.
There is wifi available at the hotel but only in the public areas and not in the rooms, but this is stated on the web site maybe it could be provided in the bedrooms in future as mobile reception is not the best as in a rural setting.
The hotel is in a lovely setting very peaceful with lovely views from the lounge and dining room. There is a lovely country inn a few minutes drive away in mawnan smith named The Red Lion well worth a visit, but watch you head if your tall low beams. Falmouth only a ten minute drive away and a lovely beach two minutes away at maenporth, three pounds to park all day at the beach but turn up at late afternoon and its still three pounds bit of a rip off!!!
All in all a lovely hotel and would recommend it highly, would use again if staying in the Falmouth area.
M & J Jenkins

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollgrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

It can be a bit tricky to find, if you're not from around and mind the narrow roads when you drive in, specially at night when there's no lights on some parts of the road! We where very well received when we checked in. The receptionist was expecting us and took us to a lovely room with a somewhat dated décor but perfectly functional. The room was very clean and tidy with lots of space and had great views of the sea! The bed was huge, although the mattress was a bit too soft for me. Nice shower, hot and powerful as I like it. TV set was a smaller than average plasma.

At night we had dinner in the dining room which has beautiful views over the sea. The food was great but both me and my partner found it was a bit on the expensive side. Oddly enough, you have a fix numbered table, depending on your room, i.e. if you're unlucky enough to land on a bad table you'll ever get the best sea views.

Back to our room, we noticed none of our devices could even "see" the Wi-Fi network let alone use it, and just before sleep we realized how thin the walls must be as we could easily ear other people talking, but we were tired from the journey so eventually we fell asleep.

The next morning we also noticed there were no blinds just plain curtains so if the sun light awakes you, go prepared! We got up and had breakfast and it was very good. The variety ranges from a selection of continental options to a la carte English breakfast - we always had the latter.

All in all a great place, and a good experience but there's some room for improvement if the place is to reap its full potential.

In summary, the goods:

- Great views
- Very tidy and clean
- Friendly staff and excellent service
- Good food

Not so goods:

- Fix tables depending on your room number
- Thin bedroom walls / sound isolation
- No blinds
- Dinner could reach a better value for money ratio
- Poor Wi-Fi coverage

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with sea view and ensure they correspond to a good dinner table - see review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCrespo7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Went for a couple of nights for our 20th anniversary, couldn't, have chosen anywhere better. Our room was very comfy, very clean and had the most spectacular view of the sea.The food was excellent, we dined in the restaurant the two nights, different menu each night, it was cooked to perfection and service was second to none.Would we recommend this hotel, oh yes, I defy you to find better for the price! C & B Laws.

Room Tip: Only had experience of sea view double room, but well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawnan Smith
3.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,113 reviews
2.2 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
347 reviews
1.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meudon Hotel
Meudon Hotel
#11 of 23 in Falmouth
232 reviews
1.3 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 23 in Falmouth
243 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawne Hotel

Property: Trelawne Hotel
Address: Maenporth Road, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Mawnan Smith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Trelawne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelawne, a unique country house hotel, enjoys an unrivaled position with panoramic views of Falmouth Bay over to Rosemullion Headland. The Trelawne offers rooms with fabulous sea views and crisp white linen. Fresh seasonal locally sourced produce is served in our restaurant, which too has fantastic panoramic views. Experience for yourself the peace and tranquility of this unspoilt part of Cornwall, where you can relax, unwind and enjoy the abundance of walks from the hotel and surrounding area. Owned and managed by the Gibbons family for 43 years, we pride ourselves on our friendly service and excellent food. Some of Cornwall's most famous gardens are close by, along with sailing, golf and horse riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Trelawne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelawne Hotel Falmouth
Trelawne Hotel Mawnan Smith, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing