We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay”
Review of Trelawne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trelawne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have recently stayed two nights in this hotel. I can say the staff were very welcoming and helpful. I had a very nice room with a sea view. Bed comfortable and room very clean. Breakfast was also good. The restaurant was not open at this time of the season which was a disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie_clarke61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    61
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
53
222
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ledbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Difficult to comment on perfection! Everything was so delightful: food; decor; menus; wine list (no extreme mark up!); warm welcome; staff for whom nothing was too much trouble; comfortable bed; sea view as promised; location as advertised; only a mile's walk to an atmospheric old pub; heartily recommended for those who want to escape life's tribulations!
We shall return!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

An absolute gem of a hotel found in the delightful village of Mawnan Smith. The Trelawne is a family run hotel set within beautiful gardens and grounds, we found the staff extremely pleasant and helpful on our stay. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the dining room had a lovely atmosphere, with windows over looking the gardens. Overall an extremely clean and well presented hotel with charming staff and rooms. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was our first visit but certainly won't be our last. It came highly recommended and didn't disappoint. The hotel has a lovely peaceful, relaxing atmoshphere and our well appointed, comfortable room had lovely views from both windows. We were so well looked after by the owners, who are welcoming,friendly and very efficient. Nothing was too much trouble and our odd dietary needs were well catered for with no problem. They are to be congratulated on providing such a delightful,enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: There is a choice of sea view or country view rooms - so the choice is yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

After a good day with some friends,we decided to stay a night at Trelawne,we had already booked a Xmas break with them. The bedroom was lovely, the view superb.The evening meal so good ,plenty of fresh veg, The lounge is so warm and cosy,in fact we think we have found a perfect place to enjoy our visit in December.Many thanks to you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury-st-Edmunds England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

After some redecorating this family run hotel continues to appeal as a restfull break with excellent food and great views.The hotel has a feeling of peace and tranquility no doubt helped by the personal attention guests receive from the owners.I would recommend this hotel to any one.We will return again early next year for our dose of their hospitally and cornish charm.

Room Tip: Book early for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I enjoyed my first stay at this hotel last year, so decided to return again this year.
I find this hotel very well run with friendly staff and a welcoming atmosphere.
The accomodation is comfortable and the meals are excellent and varied.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Niall M

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niall m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawnan Smith
1.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
685 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meudon Hotel
Meudon Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
350 reviews
1.3 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
243 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawne Hotel

Property: Trelawne Hotel
Address: Maenporth Road, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Mawnan Smith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Trelawne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelawne, a unique country house hotel, enjoys an unrivaled position with panoramic views of Falmouth Bay over to Rosemullion Headland. The Trelawne offers rooms with fabulous sea views and crisp white linen. Fresh seasonal locally sourced produce is served in our restaurant, which too has fantastic panoramic views. Experience for yourself the peace and tranquility of this unspoilt part of Cornwall, where you can relax, unwind and enjoy the abundance of walks from the hotel and surrounding area. Owned and managed by the Gibbons family for 43 years, we pride ourselves on our friendly service and excellent food. Some of Cornwall's most famous gardens are close by, along with sailing, golf and horse riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Trelawne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelawne Hotel Falmouth
Trelawne Hotel Mawnan Smith, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing