We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Gem !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trelawne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trelawne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little Gem !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent a couple of nights here last weekend after reading some excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. They were all absolutely correct: this place is a little Gem. Spotlessly clean, comfortable rooms. A wonderful nights sleep, followed by a tasty home cooked Breakfast. Staff were efficient and courteous. Nothing was too much trouble for the team here.The Evening Meal was also first class with a varied and interesting selection on offer. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dencmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    57
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
50
203
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just returned (12/04/14) from 7 days at this gem of a Hotel. We couldn't fault it, spotlessly clean, well appointed, exceptionally considerate staff and a real Dining experience. Go there but leave room for us to go again and again!!

Room Tip: A superior room with a Sea View enabled us to see Dawn Break. Not that we did that too often!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11TERRY70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Takes a lot of beating for a comfortable, restful break.We love the food and
skillful service. this part of Cornwall is good for unchallenging walks. We just hope
that the recent storms have not had too adverse effect on the coastal path.Excellent
beaches nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I had stayed at this Hotel 18 months ago and was delighted with everything about it. So, I have just returned for another three day break in February when they offered a special deal (their 40th anniversary) and I was not disappointed again. A friendly reception - very nicely situated just to the west of Maenporth Beach (Falmouth) looking directly across Falmouth bay and all the local shipping activity. A most comfortable bedroom with all appropriate facilities looking across the bay and an attractive restaurant (The Hutches) named after the adjacent cliffs and beach, again with panoramic views across the bay to St Anthonys lighthouse. The food was impeccable and the staff themselves the most friendly I have come across in hotels of late. We stayed at The Royal Duchy a few months ago and whilst the hotel was up to Brend Hotel standards and the staff reasonable, we found their catering most disappointing. The Trelawne Hotel we would recommend to everyone. Well done you.
Barry Jeffs

Room Tip: Ask for sea View - across the lawns to the rear and across Falmouth Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have recently stayed two nights in this hotel. I can say the staff were very welcoming and helpful. I had a very nice room with a sea view. Bed comfortable and room very clean. Breakfast was also good. The restaurant was not open at this time of the season which was a disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie_clarke61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Difficult to comment on perfection! Everything was so delightful: food; decor; menus; wine list (no extreme mark up!); warm welcome; staff for whom nothing was too much trouble; comfortable bed; sea view as promised; location as advertised; only a mile's walk to an atmospheric old pub; heartily recommended for those who want to escape life's tribulations!
We shall return!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

An absolute gem of a hotel found in the delightful village of Mawnan Smith. The Trelawne is a family run hotel set within beautiful gardens and grounds, we found the staff extremely pleasant and helpful on our stay. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the dining room had a lovely atmosphere, with windows over looking the gardens. Overall an extremely clean and well presented hotel with charming staff and rooms. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawnan Smith
1.8 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
2.2 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meudon Hotel
Meudon Hotel
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawne Hotel

Property: Trelawne Hotel
Address: Maenporth Road, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Mawnan Smith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Trelawne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelawne, a unique country house hotel, enjoys an unrivaled position with panoramic views of Falmouth Bay over to Rosemullion Headland. The Trelawne offers rooms with fabulous sea views and crisp white linen. Fresh seasonal locally sourced produce is served in our restaurant, which too has fantastic panoramic views. Experience for yourself the peace and tranquility of this unspoilt part of Cornwall, where you can relax, unwind and enjoy the abundance of walks from the hotel and surrounding area. Owned and managed by the Gibbons family for 43 years, we pride ourselves on our friendly service and excellent food. Some of Cornwall's most famous gardens are close by, along with sailing, golf and horse riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Trelawne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelawne Hotel Falmouth
Trelawne Hotel Mawnan Smith, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing