We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not allowed!”
Review of Trelawne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trelawne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stopped off at this hotel after a day of walking - hoping to have a good meal and a refreshing drink. It was not to be. Despite the sign at the entrance to the Hotel saying that non residence are welcome, we clearly were not. Could it be that we were carrying rucksacks and the manager felt we might lower the tone of the place? We went to another hotel and were greeted with warmth and friendliness and we had an excellent three course meal.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank marleyboo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trelawne, Owner at Trelawne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for review.

We would just like to clarify that everyone is welcome to dine with us for evening meals. The couple whom have posted this review called at lunch time and unfortunately we do not have a lunch menu.They were however most courteously recommended the other neighbouring establishments that do serve lunch. Should we have served lunch they would have been most welcome. We are a small country hotel and our restaurant is only open in the evenings where everyone is most welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We chose this hotel because the reviews were so good, and we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly, our room was large and always well cleaned, the bed was comfortable, the views over Falmouth bay were great, the food was excellent, and there is plenty of interest to go and see or do locally. I can understand why so many people go back to Trelawne again and again. We stayed for a week and wished it could have been longer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A super hotel. Bedroom and public rooms spotlessly clean and spacious. Staff were warm and friendly but efficient and courteous at all times. Food was beautifully prepared and served, with a good choice for both breakfast and dinner. We felt that our bathroom needed a little updating as shower over bath in a room with a steeply slanted roof proved to be a bit of a challenge for my 6 foot husband....but, that aside, we would definitely go back again and recommend the hotel unreservedly to anyone who appreciates quality!

Room Tip: We chose a "superior sea view twin/double"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lovely views, quiet location, staff that care and listen and very good food - what more could you want? A small family run hotel. Ideal location for walking, driving to many delightful local locations, or just taking it easy. If you have your own transport, then give it a try.

Room Tip: There are ground and first floor rooms ( no lift ), sea views and country views, ample parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent a couple of nights here last weekend after reading some excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. They were all absolutely correct: this place is a little Gem. Spotlessly clean, comfortable rooms. A wonderful nights sleep, followed by a tasty home cooked Breakfast. Staff were efficient and courteous. Nothing was too much trouble for the team here.The Evening Meal was also first class with a varied and interesting selection on offer. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dencmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just returned (12/04/14) from 7 days at this gem of a Hotel. We couldn't fault it, spotlessly clean, well appointed, exceptionally considerate staff and a real Dining experience. Go there but leave room for us to go again and again!!

Room Tip: A superior room with a Sea View enabled us to see Dawn Break. Not that we did that too often!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11TERRY70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Takes a lot of beating for a comfortable, restful break.We love the food and
skillful service. this part of Cornwall is good for unchallenging walks. We just hope
that the recent storms have not had too adverse effect on the coastal path.Excellent
beaches nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawnan Smith
3.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,268 reviews
2.2 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
390 reviews
1.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
257 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#7 of 24 in Falmouth
439 reviews
2.1 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawne Hotel

Address: Maenporth Road, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Mawnan Smith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Price Range: £72 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trelawne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelawne, a unique country house hotel, enjoys an unrivaled position with panoramic views of Falmouth Bay over to Rosemullion Headland. The Trelawne offers rooms with fabulous sea views and crisp white linen. Fresh seasonal locally sourced produce is served in our restaurant, which too has fantastic panoramic views. Experience for yourself the peace and tranquility of this unspoilt part of Cornwall, where you can relax, unwind and enjoy the abundance of walks from the hotel and surrounding area. Owned and managed by the Gibbons family for 43 years, we pride ourselves on our friendly service and excellent food. Some of Cornwall's most famous gardens are close by, along with sailing, golf and horse riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Trelawne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelawne Hotel Falmouth
Trelawne Hotel Mawnan Smith, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing