We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outlived our high expectations”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Trecombe Lakes

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mawnan Smith, Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Preety S
Towcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outlived our high expectations”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My family and I stayed at Trecombe Lakes for 3 nights in mid-April 2014. Our two boys, (8 and 6) were overjoyed at the novelty of the accommodation and with a well equipped adventure playground and lakes with REAL boats on them was just a dream come true. My eldest said "this is going in my top 10 holidays when I tell my kids about it!" That made us chuckle, he hasn't even been on ten holidays yet!
The site felt safe and very exclusive with just 4 pods on site and no real 'neighbours' to worry about. We lucked out with the weather being bright and warm but the pods were well equipped for snuggly evenings too with heating, a hot water bottle and a lovely warm blanket. Although, the boys would have been happy to stay on site all day, the location was a great place to explore the area from, we visited the beach, a seal sanctuary and The Eden Project.
The site was well thought out and located but the pod itself was superbly equipped and exceptionally clean. We made use of the fire pit every evening and loved the ambience it provided. The kids loved being the first pod every evening to get our camp fire going.
All in all this was a positive experience for the whole family. The outdoor lovers, the peace and tranquillity searchers and the 'let the kids run around whilst being safe' believers. A great gem of a place that I almost want to keep to ourselves but know all will love.
Well done to Jason and Selina.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and tranquillity with plenty for kids to do
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichNDeb2...
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Perfect”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I booked this 3 night stay as a 50th Birthday Treat for my Husband, and as we love Camping, i wanted the same feel but up a notch or 2. Trecombe Lakes was perfect, the Pods we very cosy and well equiped, modern,super clean and had everything we needed. The location is far enough out of the way to enjoy peace and quiet but no so far that you have to travel miles to get anywhere. The lakes are pretty with Ducks and Geese milling around and we walked around them several times during our stay. You have everything you need and are left alone, Jason and Selina are warm and friendly and very helpful. Overall a fantastic peaceful few days in a beautiful location,
P.S. The nearest shop fro groceries is a Spar at Constatine around a mile away, no need to travel to Falmouth unless you want to. Look forward to staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pods and no internet!
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
king22kin...
1 review
“It's a pod life for us!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We arrived at Trecombe lakes in the most horrendous storm but our pod was so cosy and warm we knew we were in a special place. The weather improved the next morning and we enjoyed exploring the lakes and land. The pod is so well equipped there was nothing we needed and the children could help themselves to nets and footballs etc in the lodge. We have promised our children we will return in warmer weather. ....this place is magical.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwhitin...
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We booked two nights through laterooms, and were absolutely delighted. We didn't leave the site all weekend. Kids, 6 and 8, had a wonderful time swinging on a tyre, scrambling on a PROPER adventure playground, mooching around the lakes; we lit a fire in the purpose laid out fire pit with the logs provided (cheaply) for the purpose. The pods themselves are BRILLIANT. They really do have the feel of camping, which we love, with the warmth and convenience of a holiday cottage. Really well designed so hob and cooker, fridge, kettle and toaster, shower and toilet are all there without feeling cramped. So many lovely touches...pint of fresh milk in the fridge, despite only a couple of hours notice of our arrival; an indoor games area with genuine thought. Clever design of the adventure playground. Encouragement to really enjoy the outdoors. Spacious layout. We loved it so much the kids have made a model of the area and I've told everyone at work about it. Fantastic place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: No disappointments at all.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsheathe...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“What a wonderful pod and holiday concept.”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

As a grandparent & grandchild unit of 4 (ages 60, 60, 6 & 9) we have been lucky enough to have had several holidays of the "glamping" type but we all have to say that this was simply the best we have enjoyed and our grandson cried as he didn't want to leave. The pod called Starling is, in our opinion, in the best location and we were lucky to be on our own but there is plenty of room for everyone. The pod survived the New Year storms very well and we were snug and warm inside. When I spoke to the delightful owner this morning about minor issues ( such as drying wet clothes and boots) he has plans to fine tune the pods to solve this in the near future so this really is an all year round holiday adventure and accommodation. The beds were very comfortable and the duvets warm and snuggly. There is adequate storage space in the kitchen and I managed to cook meals for 4 quite easily on the cooker. The shower room is a triumph and with the addition of a heated towel rail and moving the mirror near the light will be perfect. We took a collapsible camping table and 2 folding chairs for adults to sit on inside and there was plenty of room for this inside. We had campfires every night and rowed around the lake at every possible moment, looked at the stars and saw satellites ! We had a simply perfect New Year and a great family holiday. Every credit to the owners and we wish them a very Happy New Season.
All year round attractions we visited were the Seal sanctuary at Gweek (book on-line if possible as cheaper) and the Maritime Museum at Falmouth ( can use Tesco day-out vouchers).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive F
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We were looking to book a last minute short break and came across your pods on LateRooms.com. We were instantly intrigued and thought it would be a fun way to spend a few nights away as a family (2 adults + 2 children aged 9 and 15). Well, what a wonderful place you have created. The pods are surprisingly spacious and well equipped. They are cosy and have a certain "cute" factor which our children loved, especially our 9 year old daughter. We had kept the accommodation a surprise for them and they were delighted when we finally arrived (I say finally because we followed the Sat Nat from Falmouth which took us a very long winded and windy route and the post code took us past the actual location!! However, once we followed your written instructions we found the location easily.) The pods are exceptionally clean and well laid out with everything you could need - cooker, fridge, crockery and cutlery including tools for the BBQ, even washing up liquid and tea/coffee/sugar which was very useful. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom spacious with a power shower. There is a communal building housing washing machine and tumble drier plus toys and games for wet days. The grounds are lovely with plenty of space to run around and play and the boat on the lake just added another fun factor along with the tyre swing. The fire pit was an instant hit (logs available but possibly some kindling would be useful) and we managed to toast marshmallows on our first evening while looking up at the stars. We really enjoyed our stay, wished it could have been longer and would love to visit again. We have already recommended it to several friends!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dols31
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A magical experience for young and old..”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I could be blamed for being a little biased as all my childhood holidays were spent camping in Cornwall and Devon.
25 years on and Trecombe Lakes recreated those wonderful childhood memories as soon as we arrived!
Returning to Cornwall much older with my wife and our two young children, a 3yr old and a 14 month old was something we were looking forward to for sometime but to be greeted with such a private, personal place to stay, full of exciting things to explore was quite overwhelming. We arrived with the weather quite grim, heavy rain and strong winds but nothing could dampen our spirits.
The site is beautiful with every little thought given to detail, the pods are amazing, the kids screamed with delight as soon as they set their eyes on them!
Outside its like something from The Shire in Lord Of The Rings. Inside the pods are exceptionally clean with a really cosy but modern feel, plenty of room and very well laid out, everything's been thought of with a fridge, mini oven and hob and a kettle and toaster in a kitchen complete with utensils etc. The shower room is quite big and the shower is lovely, all very clean and well built.

We stayed in the 'Starling' pod which was right next to the lakes and we had the privilege of enjoying a view of the lakes from our bedroom window in the pod.

Day 2 and the weather had turned to bright sunshine,
there's loads of exploring to do around the lakes with surprises around every corner. The playground is superb and even though it's designed for older children my 3 yr old was intent on doing her best in trying it out!
The boat on the lake was full of water due to the heavy rain so unfortunately we couldn't have a go but the lovely owners provide life jackets to use in the communal house along with wood for the fire pits and charcoal and lighter blocks to use on the bbq's as each pod has one. The communal house has lots of helpful information for guests to read on attractions and places to eat, things to see and do, it has a collection of board games, rackets, toys, a tv with a live link to bird boxes on site, a table for colouring in - everything has been thought of, even a highchair which, for our 14 month old, came in very handy to use in our pod.

So much to see and do in Falmouth alone that it filled up our 2 day stay, Pendennis Castle is a must! Raze the roof indoor play centre nearby if it's raining is good too.

Trecombe Lakes is perfect for families and couples all at the same time. We'll definitely be going back again as it's such a special place to be. If you are going I can say you will not be disappointed!

Our first holiday as a family and Trecombe Lakes has totally exceeded our expectations.
Thank you so much for making our stay as magical as it was.
10 out of 10

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
I just wanted to say a HUGE thank you for the amazing comments that you left on trip advisor and late rooms. From a business point of view it is really important to us, especially as it is our first year of trading. From a personal point of view it means even more as Jason and I have put our heart and soul into Trecombe Lakes and have tried to create something really special,somewhere that we would love to go. As a small way of saying "thank you" we would like to offer you 10% off any future bookings, just mention your name and that you left a review (we really hope you do!)Kind regards selina ward
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing