We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shasta Annex

Shasta ,Front of Property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shasta ,Front of Property
Annex patio area Annex patio area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Shasta ,Front of Property
Annex patio area
Annex patio area
view of garden
View from Patio
Lounge kitchen dining area
lounge leading to patio
Kitchen
bedroom
Bathroom
Helford River
Red Lion (Local Pub)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mawnan Smith, Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
DianeD49
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a lovely warm welcome to Shasta Annex and to a part of Cornwall that we didn't know, and Kathleen had kindly provided some provisions for us which were much appreciated. The accommodation is very comfortable and well equipped, with a beautiful garden that we were invited to use. The surrounding area is great for walking or for just sitting and watching the sailing boats. A very relaxing break and we would definitely recommend Shasta Annex as a good place to stay!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiRebe...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, stunning apartment, friendly owners, 5* holiday”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Shasta Annex was brilliant. We stayed for a week and it was like a home from home! On arrival, we were greeted by lovely Kathleen who showed us round and had also left us some lovely treats in the flat. The annex was spotless and so homely, each room was so well equipped - in particular the kitchen which was great so we were able to eat in some nights! Mawnan Smith is a lovely village so the annex was close to all local amenities. We couldn't have stayed anywhere better, and the owners were so accommodating and helpful at all times. Such a beautiful place to say. Couldn't recommend more! We'll definitely be back!

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotty072
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very welcoming.”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

So relaxing.-Home from home but much cleaner!! - & with a better garden!
Kathy had thought of everything from the over generous welcome pack to the fluffy towels, books, games and dvd's. Very central for exploring Cornwall's attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
276KarenR
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just returned from a very relaxing week at this lovely annex. You immediately feel at home on arrival and relax as the property was spotlessly clean and was so well equipped. Kathy provided a lovely welcome pack too. Wonderful to enjoy a glass of wine overlooking Kathy and Brian's beautiful garden. You can literally walk from the front door to many coastal footpaths, coves and to the nearby Trebah Gardens - would recommend the cafe there. We also had a fabulous meal at The Cove at nearby Maenporth. Would highly recommend a week at this delightful annex.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maltman
Warrington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulouse”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Would love to give this place a bad revue as Wife's Brother lives in Mawnan Smith, and someone may be there on my recommendation when I wanted to book again. As stated greeted by the friendly host, Kath. Fresh milk, wine, fruit, bread all there , wonderful, and it's the first time in 40 years of marriage Mrs hasn't found something that needed cleaning. The only thing that might of spoiled this break was myself, as my legs were realy buggered and couldn't get out much. As it was though I was so comfortable there I was quite happy to spend my time in the annex and gardens. If you are a couple that want a compact place to stay for a week or two .You couldn't do much better than here.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No tongues in kitchen utensels
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tessa r
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a lovely welcome from Kathy, milk in the fridge,teabags and bowl of fruit waiting for us. There was lots of little extras which made it feel more like home. Lovely clean bedding,fluffy pillows nice white towels. Lovely coastal walks near by. Just wish we had stayed longer. We came away feeling very rested and our batteries recharged. Will certainly be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving!!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissyro...
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely time we had we were made so welcome, the annex is so homely and has everything you could need. Good size for 2 people and very comfortable, our dogs settled in straight away (most unusual).
Walks just a few yards from the house down to the Helford river and beyond . Village shops close by and the all important pub, very friendly good food and very dog friendly.
Good position for going off exploring other parts of Cornwall. Can highly recommend a holiday here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing