We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst suggestion from the chef”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Piccantino

Il Piccantino
Ranked #240 of 410 Restaurants in Leuven
Price range: US$32 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst suggestion from the chef”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have been to Il piccantino before, and the pizza they serve is good. I have decided to go for 'Suggestion from the chef' , which was "Oven backed salmon" and DEEPLY regret this choice.
What I have got was a plate with a tiny piece of salmon on it with vegetables.
It looked like the 'chef' just kept the salmon way too long in the microwave, defrosting it, so it didin't make it to the oven at all. Let alone any salt, herbs or what ever it needs to be seasoned with. The fish was raw on the inside, so I have returned it.
After two minutes, I've got the same plate with the same piece of fish, more cooked (microwave again??) with a tiny raw spot inside this time. I have immediately returned it back.
I am never comming back to this place again, their chef who doesn't respect his customers and himself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    6
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza in a nice atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Il Piccantino a lot. The pizzas were fantastic, the atmosphere very nice and the service superb (and very fast). The olives before pizza were amazing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louvain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best pizza in Leuven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

I love the pizza's of Il Piccantino. Take a look a their wide menu and you'll get already hungry.
You can also choose white pizzas without tomato sauce.
The place is small, so think about reserving your table...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bibulle_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“very good pizza and salads”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Affordable and very friendly pizzeria in the centre. Pizzas are quite ok and the salads are very very good! The italian family who runs the place is very friendly.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pips188669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly little pizza place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Il Piccantino is a great place to sit outside and watch the people stroll by. On the menu: a wide selection of pizzas and salads. Gaetano Migliore and his team offer simple but excellent food. Try one of the 'white'pizzas on the menu: prepared without tomato sauce. This is my favourite spot in Leuven when I fancy good food in a relaxed atmosphere. Yes, it's just a pizzeria, but a damn good one.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pdaenens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Piccantino also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Il Piccantino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing