We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Leuven Centrum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Leuven Centrum
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Leuven
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We were impressed with this hotel. Booked in advance, and paid Euro 89 for a family room (one double and two single beds), including breakfast. Room was neat and tidy, and looked very modern. Parking available in the underground car park for Euro 12.50, and an easy walk into the town centre or the station. Hotel is opposite the Stella Artois brewery, so a bit of constant noise, but not too excessive. Hot and cold buffet breakfast was good. This is a good location if travelling, as we were, to Calais from elsewhere in Europe. The hotel restaurant was far too expensive and appeared to have a limited choice, but there are plenty of restaurants in the town. One word of warning, Leuven appears to be a 'party' town, and although we didn't experience it, the town centre has the potential of becoming quite lively after sunset!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TicehurstDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieVanRiet, Manager at Novotel Leuven Centrum, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the (name hotel). It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Sophie Van Riet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    314
    112
    15
    15
See reviews for
116
163
35
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, Essex
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding.
We stayed in a family room for 3 people (3 adults) and the room was a ok size. Very clean and nicely furnished.
The staff were very friendly, even helpful at retrieving a suitcase left in a taxi at 2am!!
Cooked breakfast a bit pants, but the bread, cheese and pastries on offer were lovely.
Good location, next to the Stella factory and 5-10 minutes walk into the station. 10-15 minutes walk to the centre.
There was some building nosi on Sunday morning whilst we were having breakfast, annoying but I guess it has to be done sometime.
Will def stay here again whilst in Leuven :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zimbobimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed here during Rock Werchter 2011 and enjoyed it. Breakfast till 11 o'clock and checkout at 12. Nicely located for the busses to the festival site and the city centre of Leuven.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritatjemkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Travelled here with a group for a long weekend, having stayed at the hotel many times before. We weren't warned on booking, or on check-in, that building works would be going on for all of the Friday and Saturday we stayed there. One member of the group has a heart condition which meant he needed to spend some time in the afternoon resting. He was unable to do this due to the excessive noise caused by room fittings being ripped out from the rooms above and below where we were allocated. Staff have generally been pro-active and helpful in the past, but I feel on this occasion we were let down due to the lack of fore-warning, lack of the offer to re-locate us, promise that the building works would be stopping at a certain time when they didn't, and the fact that we still paid full price for a service and comfort level that fell well below expectations. On the plus side, when the renovations are completed this will be a very comfortable and (assuming the prices remain similar) reasonable value for money hotel, but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone in the coming few months until they finish their renovation works.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieVanRiet, Manager at Novotel Leuven Centrum, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Novotel Leuven.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. As you mentionned in your review, we are doing renovations in the rooms, I am very sorry for any inconvenience this might have caused to you. I was very surprised that at the time you didn't got an offer to be re-located, please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.. As you said, the rooms will be fully renovated at the end of the renovations, wich will be at the end of August.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that we will be able to welcome you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

10 min of centre of town
5 min of train station
Clean room
Nice people

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexPavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Thought the hotel was very nice. Rooms very modern and clean, lobby very well presented. Decent location stone throw away from Stella brewery and train station and 15min walk to the centre of Leuven. Only thing that let the hotel down (and for this reason I will never stay here again) was their insistance to take a €150 deposit, but then rather than deducting this from the balance when checking out, taking a completely new payment. I queried this at the time and was told it wouldn't be a problem, however the €150 was blocked from my account for days following me checking out and it took numerous calls and discussions with the hotel before this was eventually unblocked. An absolute farce. Having stayed in many hotels in many countries I have never come across such a ridiculus system. Not worth the hassle.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingeleintje, General Manager at Novotel Leuven Centrum, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Dear Sir,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your feedback, thanks to your information, we are able to improve our service.
Unfortunately, we have to ask each guest for a guarantee for any expenses.
Nevertheless, you are wright, this money shouldn't stay blocked after you leave the hotel. Therefor this guarantee is always cancelled the day of check out. Apparently, this didn't happen for your reservation, for which we apologise, something must have gone wrong.
However, we are happy that this matter is solved now and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

The breakfast was OK (+)
To connect to internet each case user name an password must be given (-)
The invoice given is not readable after scanning (-)
I need do give minimum of 200 characters review, (-) Why??

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leuven hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Leuven
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Leuven
pentahotel Leuven
#2 of 17 in Leuven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Martin's Klooster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Leuven Centrum
Ibis Leuven Centrum
#6 of 17 in Leuven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leuven
1.2 mi away
Begijnhof Hotel
Begijnhof Hotel
#8 of 17 in Leuven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Leuven Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Leuven Centrum

Property: Novotel Leuven Centrum
Address: Vuurkruisenlaan 4, Leuven 3000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Leuven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Leuven
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leuven
#4 Business Hotel in Leuven
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leuven
#4 Family Hotel in Leuven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Leuven Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern and trendy hotel is the perfect base from which to discover the historical centre of Leuven and the surrounding area.From this convenient location you can easily visit many old treasures, such as the famous 15th century Town Hall, built in a Gothic architectural style. Take advantage of the main train station and the highway in the vicinity to explore the wide and green surroundings of this art city. Back in the hotel, you can work up a sweat in the fitness room and afterwards enjoy a drink in our bar or have something to eat in our Foodsquare restaurant. The bustling nightlife is just a stone’s throw from the hotel , but if you prefer to relax, you can indulge in a relaxing steam bath or you can retreat in your spacious, comfortable and stylishly decorated ‘Next’ room. All the ‘Next’ rooms, according to the new novotel concept, are non smoking and are provided with free WIFI and coffee and tea facilities. Up to 2 children (15 years and under) stay free when sharing with parents.The Novotel Leuven is also the ideal place for your business trips. It is close to major road networks and the train station, and has six meeting rooms accommodating 200 people for seminars or conferences . A stay in the historic and lively city of Leuven is always a pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Leuven Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Leuven Centrum Hotel Leuven
Leuven Novotel
Accor Leuven Centrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing