We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi ever!”

Sakura Sushi & Sashimi
Ranked #27 of 419 Restaurants in Leuven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best sushi ever!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

During a short trip in Belgium, we stoppen in Leuven and went to this restaurant after suggestion of one of our friends who lives there. And we were not disappointed. I am always skeptical when I go to a sushi restaurant that I don't know, because you can always risk

- a horrible meal with awful fish
- an incredibly expensive meal or
- too little food

Well, this place was the opposite. I took a temaki and a sushi-sashimi mix. The fish was OH MY GOODNESS SO FRESH! And so thick! The plate had (only) 26 sushi pieces, which I was afraid would not be enough, but at the end I was really full, and it was not because of the rice! It's been probably the first time that I left some rice in the plate to enjoy all the fish.

I promised myself that I will go again there. Lucky guys from Leuven that can enjoy such a place more frequently!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OminoDiGhisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    84
    22
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best sushi in town”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The sushi is perfect, the rice is well-cooked and the topping is excellent.
The service is friendly and extremely helpful. They value their customers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neldve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I live in Leuven and this is our favorite restaurant. Whenever we have guests we always take them here. I think it is the rice that makes it so good, and the fish always looks fresh

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My favorite sushi place”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I live in Leuven and I love sushi, so I've been looking for good sushi at good prices. There's a lot of good sushi in Leuven, but a lot of them are a bit expensive. Sakura is not cheap, but cheaper than others while the quality, in my opinion, is very good. I like their sushi a lot and I go there maybe once a month for a take out (I prefer to eat it at home). I usually take the Sushi Sashimi 1 person menu. It's only 22,5 euro for 24 or sometimes more pieces of good sushi. You can also call in advance to order your takeout, which is nice if you don't have a lot of time. All in all, a great place to get sushi around Leuven.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Riverdale27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crevoladossola, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

This is my favourite sushi place by far! I've been in Sakura plenty of times and I can say that the food is fresh and, rarely, I've tasted such a good sushi and sashimi. The portions are big, the location in the middle of Munstraat is amazing and the service is great. It's also very cheap. I really suggest this place to everyone!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Serena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura Sushi & Sashimi also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Sakura Sushi & Sashimi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing