We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent 'Chipotle' clone”
Review of Donki

Donki
Ranked #41 of 415 Restaurants in Leuven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$9
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast food, Central American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Description: It's freakin' fresh, fast & Mexican! The only and true BURRITOPLACE in Leuven, exclusively using uber FRESH products to make daily the healthiest and tastiest burritos that will ROCK your world! Choose to eat in or out.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent 'Chipotle' clone”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Good burritos, they really follow the Chipotle way of making them. Price per volume these burritos are slightly less favorable than their original counterparts, but still decent food and very tasty.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    52
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“As close to the real thing as we have found in Europe.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This place does good burritos and the are as close to actual Mexican food as I have found in Europe. Make sure to add the guacamole to your burrito, grab a beer, and sit outside in the square. It's a nice, inexpensive way to have a good meal in Leuven.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bfredericksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's just a burrito...but what a burrito”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I've been waiting for some real choices among quality Mexican food to arrive in Leuven for many years. Though I worked at La Cucuracha and have an undying love for that place (and it's owner) this is the best burrito you can get in Leuven. Forgive me, Alejandro. Fresh, delicious and excellent value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank the_nino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best mexican food in belgium”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I am addicted to this place. Donki is exactly the type of thing Leuven needed! The burritos are absolutely enormous, with perfect guacamole, amazing black beans, good salsa... Basically, everything is the way it should be.

This place would be even more perfect if they delivered, but I'm not sure they would be able to handle the vast amount of orders flying in. It's just that good :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjolein S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buizingen, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just What I've Been Missing!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is by far and away the best Mexican style cuisine I have found in Belgium. The offering is limited because this is more "fast food" than formal style dining. However, it's what I would call an American-style burrito bar. The ingredients are fresh, and as another reviewer pointed out, this will be more healthy than a kebab.

This reminds me a LOT of a really great American chain called Qdoba. The burritos really give me a taste of home, and the prices are very reasonable. Little bit less homesick when I have one of these.

I recommend this for anyone who wants a quick but filling bite on the go, or for anyone who wants an inexpensive alternative to some of the more formal cafes in Leuven. It's great stuff!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donki also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Donki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing