We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Begijnhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Begijnhof Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Leuven
Washington State
Level Contributor
198 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a lovely property. It is beautifully maintained and has a bed and breakfast feeling. The staff is extremely helpful. Our stay was only hampered by a guest in the room next to us who was apparently bothered by the whirlpool bath in our room. I am receiving chemotherapy at a nearby hospital and was trying to relax before my early appointment in the morning. The guest banged on our walls every couple of minutes until we shut the water off. When my husband told the manager about our experience, he offered another night stay on a different night and was extremely professional. We would stay again and recommend the Begijnghof Conges to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJWORK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    126
    48
    21
    9
See reviews for
22
84
9
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here for 5 days with my husband, who was on a business trip. Really nice place. Takes 7 min by taxi from the train station, could take a bus for 2 euros from the station as well. Walking distance to the center of the city (10-15 min) One day we even walked from the station to the hotel through the center. It's adjoined to the historic monastery from 15th century, beautiful views. Rooms are smaller than in the US but standard for Europe, beds are very comfortable with duvet covers, in- room Keurig type coffe/ tea maker and fridge. Breakfast is included and served in a beautiful hall with the views of the monastery and the courtyard, very romantic. Plenty of food, all fresh - anything from cold cereal and yogurt to eggs, pastries, great selection of cheeses and bread, teas and coffee ( including espresso drinks and hot chocolate). Staff was really friendly and very helpful with any sightseeing questions, train schedules etc. Free wi-fi, nice onsite bar and restaurant. To keep it real - the bathrooms are a bit weird with the shower door only through half of the bathtub so there was always water on the floor! Other than that - loved this place, would come back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for our wedding night since the party was in the Faculty Club next door and they were really amazing! The staff was really helpful, they bought extra lamp, hair dryer, iron within a few minutes. All the guests that stayed there for our wedding (30 people) were all really happy. The surroundings are really green and nice while still being close to the city (10 minute walk)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed for two nights on a business trip. Have been here before so was only too happy to return. It is a nice and comfortable hotel. It is in the old Begijnhof area and the walk around the hotel is lovely. It is also not too far from the centre and one can walk there easily. The sleep was comfortable - how could it not be as the hotel is in a nice quiet area. High speed WIFI worked well and breakfast had a good choice though more fruit would have been nice. Two issues that mean it doesn't get the five stars. Firstly, the hotel has a no smoking policy which is great (as is common in most European hotels now). I was even asked to sign a no smoking declaration. Not a problem as I don't smoke. However, after being in my room for a while I realised that the previous guest had probably been smoking there. Though the hotel clearly had cleaned the room and changed bedding, etc. the smell was still quite strong. It made the stay less pleasant than it should have been. Secondly, I am not a big fan of air conditioning based heating mechanisms. They just don't work well and are quite noisy especially if one is trying to sleep. It was cold and that again made the stay less pleasant than it should have been. Overall a nice place and would consider it as an option again when back in Leuven.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden. It is quite nice and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_The_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is 'tucked away' off the main road close to the University. However although there were lots of students, there didn't seem to be any of the noisy behaviour you might expect?
The hotel was clean, bright and nicely decorated with quirky wooden sculptures in reception and around the public areas.
My room was clean, well appointed and the bed was the most comfortable I've slept in for a long time.
There was a high-Tec coffee machine, TV and trouser-press too.
The only negative was that the shower head pointed sideways over the bath and occasionally sprayed outside the bath making the toilet and floor wet!!
Staff were very helpful especially when I needed a car at 3am!!
One word of caution, don't fly in to Charlerois airport, it's miles from the City and even further from Leuven. The Brussels North airport is much nearer!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for three nights for a business trip. The hotel is located in the "begijnhof-area", which is a very ancient and silent part of town. Beautiful surroundings, you won't hear a single sound of traffic. The breakfast area and business rooms are beautiful (-ly restored?) old rooms of a former convent. Breakfast is an elaborate affair, a grand and nice buffet.
Rooms are a little bit basic (i was roomed in a newly built extension of the hotel, on the left side of the entrance; try getting a room in a different part of the hotel), but clean. Its location location location for this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The best of this hotel is the unique location: Quietly located in the Leuven city center and next to the unique Beguinage. The Beguinage in Leuven is among the largest and most impressive in the Benelux. A a few minutes longer walk will get you right at the Grand Place.
The hotel itself is of good standard. The staff is friendly and efficient. The rooms are good and clean, the bathroom is standard sized but well equipped. The breakfast is good, internet quick and free. There are plenty of opportunities for conferences, business meetings.
All and all a very good choice to combine high class with a central, but quiet location. For me the best I have been to in Leuven.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leuven hotels
0.6 mi away
Martin's Klooster Hotel
0.6 mi away
pentahotel Leuven
pentahotel Leuven
#2 of 17 in Leuven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Leuven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Leuven Centrum
Novotel Leuven Centrum
#4 of 17 in Leuven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Leuven Centrum
Ibis Leuven Centrum
#6 of 17 in Leuven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Royale
La Royale
#12 of 17 in Leuven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Begijnhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Begijnhof Hotel

Property: Begijnhof Hotel
Address: Groot Begijnhof 15, Leuven 3000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Leuven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Leuven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Begijnhof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finding that unique location is challenging, but in the Begijnhof Hotel you enjoy the best of both worlds. Situated at the edge of the city of Leuven you are in the city centre as easily as in nature. In addition it's nice to know that we are situated in a recognised quiet area in the middle of UNESCO world heritage. Easy to say that the Begijnhof Hotel is all but average. The atmosphere exudes tradition, but with a modern feel. The hotel is very well situated and offers a car park with CCTV, but also a quiet green environment, with a view of the 13th Century Spanish Quarter. Be surprised by the unique location of the Begijnhof Hotel. A 15-minute drive from Brussels Airport and at the edge of the city centre of Leuven, the hotel is situated in the quietest and most picturesque part of town. It is one of the few little known urban quiet areas for a reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Begijnhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing