We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fairy tale accommodation, full of heart and soul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei
Ranked #3 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We love to travel and explore new city gems like Bruges; however, we always find that staying at a B&B boosts the whole travelling experience, by taking advantage of what no normal hotel could ever provide: the warm feeling of staying at home and the invaluable conversations and insights given by the family who is hosting you in their home. Though we have other quite memorable B&B’s we stayed in, our heart stays with Speelmansrei B&B in Bruges. The whole experience was truly outstanding, they offer high quality services very hard to be exceeded and they put real passion in this warm affair. What is most remarkable is that they all this effortless, like hospitality, daily conversations with strangers and giving travelling advice is their second nature; you won’t feel anything artificial in Kees’s and Kathleen’s behavior; they act like know you forever and embrace your stories and questions, being avid both to help and as well to enrich their knowledge with others tales and passions. This is what they do different, this is what we appreciate most in the local people we always chose to stay with when travelling abroad.
The location of their B&B is very romantically situated near a canal, in a very green area, in a quiet street, steps away from the Grote Markt and all the other attractions. It is easily reachable from the Train Station, you will take about 15 minutes by foot (carrying your luggage). If however you get lost, you will meet the absolute friendliness of the Bruges people: since we probably looked a bit lost, a person riding a bike stopped and asked us where we needed to go, giving us precious directions. From the B&B you won’t need any means of public transportation to explore the beauty all around; it is al within walking distance.
When arriving, we were greeted by Kathleen, who led us to our room – extremely big, perfectly clean, cosy and warm, with a wonderful view over their garden and the canal, with all modern appliances inside. You couldn’t ask for more. The house has also an elevator so you don’t need to carry your luggage on the stairs. The bed is extremely comfortable; we remember sleeping like babies here.
The couple actually owns this gorgeous house and they live here, the floor space is their living room and their kitchen space, and in the morning, at breakfast, you will be able to explore this beautiful area too. You can see good taste, exquisite decorations and qualitative materials everywhere. The place breathes their knowledgeable background, appetite for the best and high quality.
Kathleen was most helpful since she greeted us like we were family, showed us around and spent a fair amount of time explaining what to visit in the city (and what not to) and proving very useful restaurants recommendations. Even if we studied thoroughly before arriving in Bruges about the city’s best, we guided our explorations after Kees and Kathleen’s suggestions, and we couldn’t do better. We went in cozy beer bars with lots of local flavour (even if we also checked more touristy places we also read about) and we had a memorable lunch at a place recommended for eating mussels – just wonderful !
Kees also designed a special walk itinerary for their guests; do not miss that since it will lead you to some more remote and charming places, off the beaten track.
If you like a personal touch to your travelling habits, if you enjoy knowledgeable conversations around the breakfast table (listening to beautiful classical music), well-informed advice, very agreeable hosts (I believe with a life full of travels and stories to tell) you should look no further. Kees’s passion and friendliness and natural easiness are just contagious and unforgettable. Moreover, he speaks absolutely perfect English.
Unmistakably, Bruges was exquisite and charming, but Speelmansrei B&B definitely added to its flavour and defined our three days spend here. The warm personality of the hosts and their house with a very well defined personality will remain a landmark for us and we truly miss how we felt staying in their home. Experience all this for yourself!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eliza_Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei for 4 nights in September. Kees was a fantastic host. Always seemed to be in a great mood and happy to give advice and recommendations for things to see and do. The house and garden in the back are beautiful. The bedroom and bathroom were large, bright and spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was great and Kees offered to make us eggs every morning. The location is perfect. It was a 7 euro taxi ride from the train station. You could also easily take the bus. It was the perfect spot from which to explore the town. Everything was well within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Fantastic BanB in Bruges. Kathleen and Kees are just wonderful hosts and and provide everything you need for a great time in Bruges. Our room was the very best that we had on our latest trip. It was large, light and cheerful overlooking a beautiful pond and patio area. the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom large by European standards. Kees and Kathleen also prepared a very good breakfast. You could not find a better BandB anywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docLongmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have a perfect stay in this B&B in September. It is a private house in the center of Brugge but on a quiet street. The rooms are large, clean, warm and have all necessary equipment. The bed is very comfortable. Breakfast is very good as well. There is a nice pond in the yard with fish and turtle.
It was a good idea for us to use private garage (for additional charge) due to limited parking space in the street.
The owners are very nice couple, ready to help and advise on any matter.
Kees and Kathleen thank you very much!

Room Tip: Definitely recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed in B&B Speelmansrei in September with my girlfriend and we couldn’t have asked for a nicer place to enjoy our stay in Bruges. From the owners Kathleen and Kees’ attention to detail in letting you know details before your arrival and during your visit, to the delicious breakfasts and beautiful and comfy rooms, the B&B was a fantastic and homely place to stay.

It’s located approximately 5 minutes’ walk from the Grote Markt and 15-20 minutes’ walk from the train station, so is perfectly placed for a visit to all the key places to visit in Bruges. The rooms are spacious, the bed comfy and the place is spotlessly clean. The breakfasts are good and plentiful and Kees was always on hand to offer a cooked breakfast should you want it to supplement the breads, pastries, cheeses, hams and fruit on offer. The décor is chic and modern without being gaudy which really does make the place feel homely and comforting. Kees’ canal walk is a must and his enthusiasm for Bruges and what it has to offer is infectious.

The B&B rates highly on TripAdvisor and rightfully so. This is how B&B’s should be and no number of superlatives could ever do it justice. A joyful place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unification1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in August for a celebratory weekend in Bruges and we had a fantastic time. This property is stunning - very contemporary and tastefully decorated - just our style. We had a room overlooking the street which was a quaint and quiet cobbled street. The room was very large and had great amenities - hair dryer, fan, cable tv, wifi etc and a big bathroom. Kees was an excellent host and spent a lot of time giving us some great recommendations. Breakfast was great and plentiful - delicious bread, fruit, yogurts, meats and cheeses and Kees' eggs and bacon was scummy! The location is perfect - very quiet but only a 5 min walk to the main square. It was very well priced. Despite our relatively high expectations, we would have no hesitation in recommending this place and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Although we would have preferred the room overlooking the garden, we had the room overlooking the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayKay_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Excellent reception. Friendly and enthusiastic host. 5 minutes to market place. Clean. Elevator. There is a beautiful patio next to the canal which can be used if the owner, Kees (pronounced Case) has the entry to the main part of the house open. Big, comfortable rooms. I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontanaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
773 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Goede 13 B&B
De Goede 13 B&B
#2 of 232 in Bruges
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
B&B La Maison Bruges
B&B La Maison Bruges
#4 of 232 in Bruges
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#5 of 232 in Bruges
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huis Koning
Huis Koning
#1 of 232 in Bruges
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei

Address: Moerstraat 72, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: £94 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B & B GUESTROOMS - SPEELMANSREIGENERAL INFORMATION In the course of 2005 and 2006 we rebuilt two historical houses in the heart of the ancient center of Bruges.With modern comfort ad a surplus they were transformed into a single residence with B & B guestrooms.( An elevator is available).During the rebuilding we carefully respected the unique character of the houses and the centuries old rafters were integrated with the architectural concept.You will enjoy the new comfortable bathrooms made of natural raw materials, the marble floors, the basalt washing stands.A separate breakfast room is at the guests' disposal. ROOMS:We have two rooms on the first floor with view on a park.They are both provided with shower and/ or bath, a lavatory, a washing stand with two wash-basins, colour-tv,fridge,wifi internet, a safe and spacious double beds of top quality.Also access to the rooms by elevator. BREAKFAST:In the separate breakfast room an extensive breakfast buffet is served. Every day you can get newly baked French rolls, croissants, different kinds of cheese and sliced meats, fruit juice, yoghurt, cereals etc. LANGUAGES We make ourselves hard in Dutch, French, Italian, German, English, Spanish and Danish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing