We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B & B in a convenient position to see Bruge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei
Ranked #4 of 228 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful B & B in a convenient position to see Bruge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

From the minute we arrived until the moment that we left, we felt totally welcome and at home in this beautiful, clean and peaceful B & B. It definitely had the WOW factor as soon as you walked in the door. We had a spacious and very clean room overlooking the garden, canal and park - just lovely. The house is right in the centre of Bruge but totally secluded from the hustle and bustle of the centre just 5 minutes walk away. The owners Kees and Kathleen could not have been more welcoming or helpful with their suggestions of things to do to get the most out of our 2 night stay and the breakfast was so plentiful - we wished we had bigger appetites! We loved their restaurant recommendations and thoroughly enjoyed our bike ride outside the city walls, along the canal, through the countryside to a lovely village for lunch - we would never have found it on our own and we were lucky enough to have the sunshine. Bruge is a beautiful City and I would thoroughly recommend that you stay in this B & B. Thank you Kees and Kathleen - we will definitely recommend you to anyone wanting to stay in Bruge.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the back of the property overlooking the garden, canal and park, a very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris302014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
301
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent two night in Bruges after a 4-night stay in Greenwich, London. Took the Eurostar to Brussels and then a local train to Bruges.

Kees and Kathleen have put together a dream B&B. The backyard area, right on a canal with a park beyond, is beyond beautiful, even in February. The room was huge, and everything in the house was spotless! They both made us feel right at home from the minute we got there to the minute we left.

The breakfast they provided was wonderful...we could not have asked for better food (or more of it!). Bacon and eggs were wonderful, and there was a large selection of breads and pastries, plus cheeses. Fresh OJ and fruit were a nice touch, and they had a wide selection of teas to choose from.

The 125 Euro cost was VERY reasonable, given the quality of...well...everything. They had actually purchased two adjoining homes, and combined them into one, and they even put in an elevator. The spent a lot of time and money creating a location that anybody would love to see.

We arrived on our anniversary, and Kees gave us a great restaurant recommendation, the Flemish Pot.The food there was plentiful and excellent.

Actually, we never had an even average meal during our stay in Bruges. We took Kees' advice and stayed away from the touristy restaurants on the market square; he gave us locations for some very nice restaurants away from the square.

Bruges is a beautiful city, and if we return...we know where we will stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeD0048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Top in all respects: comfortable and well-appointed room, very helpful and welcoming hosts Kees and Kathleen (but in no way intrusive). Excellent breakfast. Well situated. The lift is useful for those who may have mobility problems. Room 2 has the view over the small canal with ducks, and if you're very lucky, the occasional swan. Fully recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very near to the center, this B&B is run by a lovely Dutchman who's been living in Flanders for many years. Kees and Kathleen will do their absolute best to make your stay in Bruggues worth while.
The room we had for 2 nights was clean, comfortable and quiet. Also, very affordable. The breakfast was of high standards. The advice about the city provided by the owners was valueable and helped us get 'off the beaten track'.
I would return to this place for my next visit to Brugues without any doubt.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathieu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We selected this b&b on the strength of previous reviews. We were not disappointed. It would be difficult to add anything extra to the previous glowing praise for Speelmansrei. We were so comfortable in our lovely warm room. The house has an atmosphere of modern sophistication. Kees and Kathleen have thought of everything to make your stay a pleasant one - the corkscrew was much appreciated! Breakfasts are hearty and Kees is the eggmeister! Although we could not book a parking space at the house, it was easy to find a space at Zilverpand (only 5 mins walk) that cost us €26 for 3 nights. The house is situated on a quiet street but only a few minutes walk from the Markt. We would be very happy to recommend this as the perfect place to stay in Bruges.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Comfortable, warm, spacious and stylish. Breakfasts are excellent too - Kees has really got the hang of scrambled eggs! Both hosts could not be more helpful, making this a very pleasant and easy stay. Good value too - we'll definitely stay here again, on our next visit to our favourite European city.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

The small family run guesthouse is an absolute gem.Its only got 2 rooms,and this makes it gorgeously private and quiet.

The location is perfect,walking distance from the Markt and it sits right on the canal-with ducklings and signets!

We could not have been happier with our stay at the Speelmansrei, and would not hesitate to
Recommend its beautiful location,amazing hospitality and fantastic breakfasts.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.6 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei

Property: Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei
Address: Moerstraat 72, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B & B GUESTROOMS - SPEELMANSREIGENERAL INFORMATION In the course of 2005 and 2006 we rebuilt two historical houses in the heart of the ancient center of Bruges.With modern comfort ad a surplus they were transformed into a single residence with B & B guestrooms.( An elevator is available).During the rebuilding we carefully respected the unique character of the houses and the centuries old rafters were integrated with the architectural concept.You will enjoy the new comfortable bathrooms made of natural raw materials, the marble floors, the basalt washing stands.A separate breakfast room is at the guests' disposal. ROOMS:We have two rooms on the first floor with view on a park.They are both provided with shower and/ or bath, a lavatory, a washing stand with two wash-basins, colour-tv,fridge,wifi internet, a safe and spacious double beds of top quality.Also access to the rooms by elevator. BREAKFAST:In the separate breakfast room an extensive breakfast buffet is served. Every day you can get newly baked French rolls, croissants, different kinds of cheese and sliced meats, fruit juice, yoghurt, cereals etc. LANGUAGES We make ourselves hard in Dutch, French, Italian, German, English, Spanish and Danish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing