We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei
Ranked #4 of 230 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had an amazing time in Bruges and it started with Kees and Kathleen at Speelmansrei. When we left, I felt like we were leaving friends. They were wonderful, genteel hosts and were so helpful with restaurant recommendations, sightseeing, bicycle rentals- they could answer any question we had. In addition, Kees mapped a walk for us that would familiarize us with the area. Since we arrived early on a Saturday, Kees recommended visiting the market- a brilliant idea as it was filled with interesting foods, flowers and animals! The location of the B and B was terrific, just about a 20 minute walk from the train station. It was so close to the Markt and the walk was lovely!! We did it every day, sometimes more than once, so it is a perfect location to get to all the sights. The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious, a terrific way to start the day! Kees made us scrambled eggs and bacon every day!! Our room was beautiful- bright,roomy, and spotless (and we had a canal view from the bathroom). The wi-fi worked perfectly which was crucial for our work. The bathroom was well-appointed with bright lighting and lovely toiletries! We could not have asked for a nicer, friendlier place to stay and I would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
309
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hueneme
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This B&B could not be more perfect! As previous review stated, the home has been completely Renovated in the most tasteful style. A mix of old world charm with modern decor throughout, with thought given to your every need. Your delightful hosts, Kees and Kathleen, are welcoming and attentive. You feel like family each morning with a beautifully presented and superb breakfast. Laid out 'in style', on hand crafted plates. Your hosts make certain you are ready for your day, with help and advice on this most lovely of medieval towns. Brugge has much to offer, and the city center, and other sites are within an easy walk of the B&B.Kees speaks seven languages, which is so helpful for those that do not speak Flemish or Dutch. Your room is spacious and overlooks the beautiful garden with pond. The view from the windows and terrace, includes a lovely park. Your bed, linens and amenities are all outstanding. I would highly reccommend this B&B, and would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: This is a select B&B with only 2 rooms. Both are wonderful, and have similar view of the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stokesby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Before arriving at this beautiful B&B in Bruges, I was a little sceptical that it could really be as good as some of the testimonials indicate. In fact it was so good, its hard to do justice to the warm welcome from Kees and Kathleen to their lovely home, which is situated so conveniently to the centre, in a quiet and secluded street. The attention to detail is noticeable, the breakfasts plentiful and the rooms extremely comfortable. The house has been beautifully and tastefully modernised, and the garden, overlooking the canal, is a delight. Both hosts are friendly and informative about what to do and see in Bruges. We would definately want to stay there if we ever go back to Bruges.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

The B&B is located very near to the core centre of the Brugge old town and every sight is within a walking distance. The b&b itself is clean, spacious and tidy. It has a lift to load the luggage so you won't have to worry carrying heavy luggage up the stairs. Kees is a nice and humorous host and he is willing to share lots of tourist information and dining recommendations to us. I would recommend this little b&b with my friends.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Impeccably presented house by one of the canals in a good location to walk to the sights and museums. Breakfast was good. Kees and Kathleen were very welcoming and offered to give us suggestions on what to do if we wanted. They recommended a lovely place for lunch. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Bruges.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

From the minute we arrived until the moment that we left, we felt totally welcome and at home in this beautiful, clean and peaceful B & B. It definitely had the WOW factor as soon as you walked in the door. We had a spacious and very clean room overlooking the garden, canal and park - just lovely. The house is right in the centre of Bruge but totally secluded from the hustle and bustle of the centre just 5 minutes walk away. The owners Kees and Kathleen could not have been more welcoming or helpful with their suggestions of things to do to get the most out of our 2 night stay and the breakfast was so plentiful - we wished we had bigger appetites! We loved their restaurant recommendations and thoroughly enjoyed our bike ride outside the city walls, along the canal, through the countryside to a lovely village for lunch - we would never have found it on our own and we were lucky enough to have the sunshine. Bruge is a beautiful City and I would thoroughly recommend that you stay in this B & B. Thank you Kees and Kathleen - we will definitely recommend you to anyone wanting to stay in Bruge.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the back of the property overlooking the garden, canal and park, a very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris302014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent two night in Bruges after a 4-night stay in Greenwich, London. Took the Eurostar to Brussels and then a local train to Bruges.

Kees and Kathleen have put together a dream B&B. The backyard area, right on a canal with a park beyond, is beyond beautiful, even in February. The room was huge, and everything in the house was spotless! They both made us feel right at home from the minute we got there to the minute we left.

The breakfast they provided was wonderful...we could not have asked for better food (or more of it!). Bacon and eggs were wonderful, and there was a large selection of breads and pastries, plus cheeses. Fresh OJ and fruit were a nice touch, and they had a wide selection of teas to choose from.

The 125 Euro cost was VERY reasonable, given the quality of...well...everything. They had actually purchased two adjoining homes, and combined them into one, and they even put in an elevator. The spent a lot of time and money creating a location that anybody would love to see.

We arrived on our anniversary, and Kees gave us a great restaurant recommendation, the Flemish Pot.The food there was plentiful and excellent.

Actually, we never had an even average meal during our stay in Bruges. We took Kees' advice and stayed away from the touristy restaurants on the market square; he gave us locations for some very nice restaurants away from the square.

Bruges is a beautiful city, and if we return...we know where we will stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeD0048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.4 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei

Property: Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei
Address: Moerstraat 72, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B & B GUESTROOMS - SPEELMANSREIGENERAL INFORMATION In the course of 2005 and 2006 we rebuilt two historical houses in the heart of the ancient center of Bruges.With modern comfort ad a surplus they were transformed into a single residence with B & B guestrooms.( An elevator is available).During the rebuilding we carefully respected the unique character of the houses and the centuries old rafters were integrated with the architectural concept.You will enjoy the new comfortable bathrooms made of natural raw materials, the marble floors, the basalt washing stands.A separate breakfast room is at the guests' disposal. ROOMS:We have two rooms on the first floor with view on a park.They are both provided with shower and/ or bath, a lavatory, a washing stand with two wash-basins, colour-tv,fridge,wifi internet, a safe and spacious double beds of top quality.Also access to the rooms by elevator. BREAKFAST:In the separate breakfast room an extensive breakfast buffet is served. Every day you can get newly baked French rolls, croissants, different kinds of cheese and sliced meats, fruit juice, yoghurt, cereals etc. LANGUAGES We make ourselves hard in Dutch, French, Italian, German, English, Spanish and Danish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing