We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, loved it!”
Review of Bistro De Schaar

Bistro De Schaar
Ranked #104 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$36
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Cosy restaurant in typical Bruges hous dating from 1614, grilling on open fire in the restaurant, chef owner, in summer beautiful terras near the canal with vew on small harbour, seasonal cooking
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding, loved it!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We eat here on the first night of a three night stay in Bruges(our first visit) and the de schaar was a recommendation from the receptionist at our Hotel the Jan Brito. What a good recommendation, the meal, service and atmosphere was excellent.I had the rib eye steak and my wife had the salmon, we were going to go a second time on our final night but unfortunately this restaurant is closed Wed/Thus. I would recommend checking what night a restaurant is open if you find a nice one as the eating places in Bruges seem to have a revolving weekend when they close during the week to take account of exceptionally busy weekends.

It is located a short walk out of the busy areas, we loved it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rh0rne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    106
    32
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quality Meal”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We realy enjoyed our meal here, it was quiet on Sunday evening. We had Grilled prawns, large and succulent and Lamb equally nice, not huge portions but very tasty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mmuggeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and wonderful food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We arrived at a b&b down the street from this restaurant and our host recommended eating here as we were late and didn't have reservations. How lucky we were. This was a lovely place to eat. Quaint romantic atmosphere. wonderful drinks and the food was fresh and oh so tasty! prices were reasonable too. A great stop, Will visit again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great tasting food”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for dinner, they were just opening. We ordered a king prawn and pasta dish and a rack of lamb and veggies, both we're amazing, would definitely go there again

Helpful?
Thank PVB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgeeraba, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautifully done”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Our group of three had different menu elections and we agreed that each was beautifully cooked and nicely presented.
The meats were tender and I must say that the profiteroles were possibly the best I have ever had. Maybe it was the chocolate?
We decided to try the Chilean Carménère wine and it looked like the best value selection, and it did not disappoint. Full bodied, crimson, and full of fruit.
The chef is passionate about his vocation,and also has a keen interest in photography.

Helpful?
Thank mak_jeng_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro De Schaar also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bistro De Schaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing