We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth seeking out this typical Belgian Bar”
Review of L'Estaminet

L'Estaminet
Ranked #115 of 710 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$18
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Kitchen open from 12:00 till 23:00
Gloucester
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out this typical Belgian Bar”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This bar is a little way out of the centre near the Astrid Park. It is a typical Belgian bar and on the Saturday night we visited, was very crowded. However, this just added to the lively atmosphere and it was a pleasant change to be in a bar with lots of locals.

In spite of the crowds, the table service was friendly and efficient and we had a very enjoyable evening. Excellent range of beers and the "pub grub" food was fine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank windinmywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    191
    30
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good, very crowded”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

A bit off the beaten track, and a great relief not to find it full of other brits. Very good and lively atmosphere. It was rammed when we got there so we had a couple of beers at the bar before we were seated at an absolutely tiny table. The food is very good and as cheap as chips, the service is friendly and relaxed, but not obsequious, and of course the beer is just fine. I'd have given it 5 stars but for the fact that it was soooo crowded.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G_T_JohnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little gem! ”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Food lovely, and the drinks not over expensive. Lovely atmosphere backing into the park. Can whole Hartley recommend visiting.

Helpful?
Thank Ted F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Best lasagna I've eaten at a restaurant. Prices very good. Drinks tasty and average sized. Stick with house bread. Would. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Local cafe that serves good, inexpensive food”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We arrived in Brugge about 8PM on a Tuesday evening, staying in a rental flat. We were soon to learn that the flat owner had some great suggestions for our stay. She suggested Estaminet for a late snack or light meal.

We arrived about 9PM at the cafe and were greeted with an English menu. My wife had vegetarian spaghetti, which she said was very good. I had a Croque Italian, a toasted sandwich with mozzarella, ham and tomato, served on a base of salad. Delicious.

These were light meals?!? We were quite satisfied. And the tab was just a little over 21€.

The only quibble was that we had to flag a server down to get the bill. However, I think that's a cultural difference that only Americans are sensitive to.

Recommended for good, inexpensive fare.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob94523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Estaminet also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to L'Estaminet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing