We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable apartment in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ridderspoor Holiday Flats
Ranked #14 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Bruges
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Comfortable apartment in central location”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I recently stayed in the Knokke apartment with 3 friends and we had an enjoyable stay there. The apartment was comfortable and warm, and was lovely and spacious. The street it is on is a few minutes walk from the main square but is very quiet, you hardly hear any noise from the street. The towels were a bit small, and there was no hand soap in the bathroom so you might want to bring that with you. I thought that the bathroom could do with a deep clean, especially around the shower area and on the shower doors. The hot water in the shower was a bit on and off until we changed the switch in the kitchen from heating to water, after that it was fine. There are a lot of steps up to the top floor which was fine for us, but could be a problem for a person with limited mobility. Overall we had a good stay there and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillicentDDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    24
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights in ground floor apartment. Comfortable enough and had pretty much everything we needed. No kettle although fancy coffee machine may have done job of just boiling water but could not get it to work and no instructions seemed to be available. Not a real problem though as microwave in kitchen.
One thing to mention is stairs to bedroom are steep and this is not stated in description which may cause some people a problem.
Very well placed for walking up to the Burg & Markt squares also convenient for bus to and from t'Zand area and Station. Quite a few places to eat within a few minutes of apartment. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Fabulous apartment which has tastefully retained it many original features. It has all the facilities you require for a short break. It is positioned less than 5 minutes walk from the main square and many Restuarant's and bars. The owner Djamil is so friendly and helpful who cannot do enough to ensure your stay is memorable. I would certainly recommend this accommodation to anybody staying in Bruges

Room Tip: Ground floor as it has an outside patio area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brennieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osnabruck, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The great thing about the Ridderspoor is its location right in the center of Bruges. It is *literally* only a five minute walk from the market square and hence just about as close as you can get.

My wife and I had booked the apartment "Cadzand", which is located on the top floor, via booking.com. Pre-stay contact with the proprietor, Mr. Zenasni, was very pleasant and we were given a lot of advance information and tips. As the Ridderspoor is all about self-catering, we were happy to know beforehand that the apartment would be furnished with all necessary amenities. Be advised that there is no elevator in the house so plan for a longish trek up some relatively narrow stairs if you have one of the top apartments.

The biggest shock came when we opened the door to our apartment and found that it had hardly been cleaned before our stay. Massive stains on some of the blankets, sofa cushions and upholstery in general. Dust - not only in the corners but all around the bed etc. Since we had a vacuum cleaner, the dust was not much of a problem. However, we were grossed out by the rest of the problems so I called the proprietor. To his credit, Mr. Zenasni reacted immediately and sent over some staff who replaced all the dirty linen. He apologized by saying that the regular cleaning lady was on vacation and somebody else (he had rarely worked with) had done the cleaning. Since cleanliness has not been named as one of the issues at the Ridderspoor I tend to give Mr. Z the benefit of the doubt and accept the explanation.

Anyway ... we were happy that we now had a reasonably clean room. Other than that, there's not much to be said against the apartment as such. Mr Zenasni also works as an interior decorator/designer/carpenter/upholsterer and one can admire some of his amazing works in the rooms. In summary, I would call the furnishing/design of the apartment(s) - at least the one we stayed in - inconsistent. On the one hand, you have some beautifully handmade tables and chairs. On the other hand, there's some relatively worn and tatty stuff like an elderly sleeper, some IKEA armchairs (I think they might have been POÄNGs or somesuch), a miniature TV and so on. Coffee machine and water kettle have also seen better days. It is understandable that an apartment which is located directly under the roof may not boast a fully fledged shower stall (for lack of standing space) - but the bathtub/shower hose combination is soooo 1950s ... and quite inconvenient, really.

Summing up and weighing all the pros and cons, I cannot bring myself to overenthuse about the Ridderspoor as some of my fellow reviewers have but I do take into account the possibility that I might just have chosen the wrong apartment or gotten a wrong first impression. To me, it's an okay location but not one I would necessarily choose again (but would not mind doing so if it was particularly convenient or came at a good price).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cosmopolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

A great visit to Brugge again and this time staying in a great location !
You couldn't find a better furnished and convienent set of appartments to cozy up in after several local ales, great food and a good trott around the sights.
I feel sure we'll be back.....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lex198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We have just returned from 3 nights in the 3rd floor apartment. We loved it right from the entrance hall - so elegant, clean and simple, yet cozy and homely. The 3rd floor apartment is just right for a couple and it was a perfect getaway spot. The location is fab, so we could easily nip home to deposit all the chocolate we'd bought in the middle of the day, or just to rest our legs before dinner! And the view is just perfect! We'd definitely recommend a stay here, or also in the B&B a few doors down (also owned by the same couple) which looked very nice indeed. We were sad not to meet Djamil and his wife to thank them in person, but we really had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Lovely apartments very close to the main squares in Brugge old town. The proprietors also run a B&B a few doors down on the same street, which I must say looked like a very nice establishment indeed. There are small supermarkets within a 10 minute walk to stock up on provisions. Nicely appointed, homely self contained accommodation. My only complaints are there is no soap provided in the bathrooms and the check out time is 10am. Apart from those minor issues I highly recommend Ridderspoor.

Room Tip: Both the first floor apartment and the loft apartment were both good, although the loft apartment is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#15 of 97 in Bruges
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bonobo Apart Hotel
Bonobo Apart Hotel
#4 of 97 in Bruges
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#39 of 97 in Bruges
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.6 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#32 of 97 in Bruges
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridderspoor Holiday Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridderspoor Holiday Flats

Property: Ridderspoor Holiday Flats
Address: Riddersstraat 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ridderspoor Holiday Flats 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is divided into four spacious holiday flats (ground floor apartment with 2 bedrooms, 1st and 2nd floor studio/apartments with 1 bedroom each and with comfortable sleeping facilities in the living rooms, spacious loft on the third floor). The interior of this neo-classical mansion from 1856 has been renovated recently and adapted with up to date comforts and conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ridderspoor Holiday Flats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing