We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in the main square”
Review of De Carre

De Carre
Ranked #594 of 718 Restaurants in Bruges
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food in the main square”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We ate here twice during our 4 day visit to Brugge. The food is good quality and good value for money. The 3 course fixed price menu is very good and if you like a very strong irish coffee you will be in heaven! You have very good views f the main square from the tables outsides, which all have heaters for the colder evenings. There are good local choices and the the rabbit was very good and a large portion!! Would go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ASLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    69
    43
    39
    106
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“just for tourists”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A place good for the beatiful view of the square. 'been twice, the day after they didn't remember we had already been customers. Cuisine exactly the same of the restaurants at both sides, only a bit less cheap. Fast service to send you away and getting the table ready for the next customer. At the second visit, it was almost empty, only a few customers just at 9 pm. More people in the others. Told the 'suggestion menu of the day' was finished just to avoid that we could eat a lower cost..... Same dishes were on the standard menu and ready to order!!!! Only at full price. We were eating while the waiters were grouping the table for closure and cleaning... at 9.30 pm!!! At 1015 we couldn't have a coffee because the machine was already turned off and cold... They at least could have asked us before switching off the machine. Really, same dishes are served all over the square and all over Bruges, so I can't recommend this for a particular reason.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Quality food quality location and quality staff”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Spent a weekend in Bruge and we were in this lovely restaurant everyday. As soon as we walked into the square, it caught my eye straight away. The food was lovely, staff were really warm and friendly and location was fabulous. We sat at a table in the window looking out on to the square and everytime we went there over our weekend, the waitor took us to "our table". On our last day the waitor and waitress even asked us when we would be back! Definetly will be going back!

Helpful?
Thank crnisbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
1 review
“The unhappy staff”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

It has a good spot but the staff behaves like they spnt want you there. There is a signed "free wifi zone" on the window when i asjed thd password the waiter went inside to ask then half a hour later i saw him living!!!

Helpful?
Thank Buk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for lunch on a chilly day”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were walking around Bruges looking for a place to eat after taking the canal tour and just walked into this place. It's very clean on the inside and cozy. We had our 2 kids with us and we had quite a nice lunch here. Nothing fancy but quick service and friendly staff. I would definitely go back and eat here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeattleMeimei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Carre also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Carre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing